We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for golfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good hotel for golfers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just returned from spending 3 nights in Killarney at the Eviston House Hotel.
The hotel is right in the centre of Killarney so walking to the restaurants, cafes and bars is very easy.
The hotel is very much 3 star so do not expect luxury. However, the bedrooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds are comfortable too and I enjoyed 3 good night's sleep.
Follow the advice of previous reviews and ask for a room on the third floor at the back of the hotel unless, of course, you enjoy the sound of revellers returning at all hours of the morning!
Breakfast was quite a busy affair as there were coach loads of tourists staying at the hotel all of whom queued to make toast at the one toaster! Cooked breakfast is served in warming trays which also attracted a long queue. Get up early to avoid the rush...
Staff at reception and the bar/pub on the ground floor were very friendly despite the constant barrage of guests.
A comfortable no frills hotel that does the job for 9 golfers looking for a good time in the centre of Killarney.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd) at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shapcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eviston, Front Office Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Sir.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us. We do hope that you all enjoyed the fine weather and golf during your trip to Killarney.
We are aware that at times when the restaurant is extremely busy and especially if everyone comes to the restaurant within a short space of time that there can be a big demand for the toaster, however we have recently received quotes for a second machine to alievate this.

Thank you for your comments regarding our reception and bar staff. We do aim to provide service to the highest of standards and it is really appreciated when this is noticed.

I would like to thank you once again for writing this review and we do hope that you will return with your golfing group again to The Best Western Eviston House Hotel.

Kind regards
Celia O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    215
    138
    52
    40
See reviews for
104
269
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is well suited for anyone looking for a clean, safe, friendly place to stay and at a fair price. The staff are respectful, friendly and prepared to help you with whatever needs you have. Not only will I plan on staying at this hotel in the future but I will be recommending it to family and friends.

Don Cayer

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koko1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eviston, Front Office Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mr. Cayer.

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Kind Regards
Celia O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and enjoyed several pints and a meal at the on site pub. The room were clean and fairly spacious. Noise from the hall and adjacent rooms can be a distraction at times. Parking can be a problem, we didnot use the hotel's car park, but the public lot next to the visitors center. By the way the staff at the center is wonderful, extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlisaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eviston, Front Office Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at The Best Western Eviston House Hotel. Your kind comments regarding our staff are greatly appreciated.
It is unfortunate that you experienced noise at times in the hallways and the room adjacent to yours.
We do hope that you will decide to return to Killarney again and enjoy once again our popular Danny Mann bar.

Kind Regards
Celia O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from a 4 day trip to this hotel and find some of the criticisms on this site very hard to believe credible.We have travelled the world so have some experience.Rooms were excellent clean and well maintained,breakfast buffet faultless,staff very helpful.All in all have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel to anyone. B.Makepeace

Room Tip: Third floor appears best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eviston, Front Office Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mr. Makepeace.

I would like to thank you for writing such a lovely review.
It was great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your 4 day stay with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

Kind Regards
Celia O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Situated in the centre of the old town area of Killarney this is a charming hotel with a family- owned feel to it. Friendly staff. Half the fun is getting to the Reception desk. If you drive a car wider than a VW Golf the entry passageway to the car park could prove a challenge. The maze from the car park through various areas of the hotel's entertainment and bar areas is intriguing. Room was acceptably large, bed comfortable and shower hot. A delight was to discover the bath/shower taps were simple and easy to use - not the Mensa test that many hotels seem to dlight in confronting you with.

Wifi is free but limited connection in room and only fully functional in hotel foyer. Hotel has great traditional Irish pub bars and older style dining room. Stuffed deer on second floor stairway landing was interesting.

Being an older style hotel guests could be heard walking/talking down corridor but been in many more modern hotels with worst problems in this respect.

Step outside hotel to enjoy one of most traditional Irish towns with a huge selection of pubs, restaurants and stores surrounding the hotel.

Tourist attractions such as St Mary's Cathedral in walking distance.

Perhaps best suited to older couples or groups rather than young families or young couples.

A charmer of a hotel and you'd travel far to find a more satisfying traditional and welcoming establishment. Made visit to Killarney even more delightful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I spent a week at the hotel, which is in a convenient location for shopping and eating, and taking tour buses. Two lovely locally owned cafe/coffee shops across street, and it is close to the TI, post office and bank. The hotel staff were wonderful and the place was clean. It is one of the only places I'll be staying on my 90-day stay in Ireland that actually had a TUB! Yeah! The bed was okay. The biggest drawback to me about the hotel is that it has "thin" walls between the rooms and the hallway. What I mean is that I could clearly hear any conversation going on in one room next to me and the hallway conversations. I did have a third-floor room and an off-street room so I didn't have any street noise, and I did have a window that overlooked the mountains, which is a nice plus.

The hotel has tour groups coming through and if you're on a tour it is very good because the pub and a restaurant are located in the hotel -- no going outside in the rain, or stumbling about when you've had too many pints!

It was nice listening to the music in the pub because, for the most part, people were considerate and actually listened to the music. The pub has two sides -- one for music and one for TV and talking. That was a plus. However, if it's locals you want to meet, there weren't many. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't help you there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night of a bank holiday weekend. The town was very busy with a big crowd in for a car rally. While parking is available, note that there are only 16 spaces for 180 guests. However, a public park is available behind the hotel, and as it was a Sunday when we left, there was no charge. We got upgraded to a better room, so no complaints there. The hotel is clean, as was the room. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, and the room was a good size, with a jacuzzi bath. Only this was the water was not hot enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't have any problem with noise from the niteclub downstairs, but then again, we were in a room far away from it. Wifi was not available in the room, but wired access was, and it was fast. Overall, I would have no problem recommending this hotel to you.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, then look for a room at the back of the hotel, on at least the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#24 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run. Eviston House offers free WiFi, free overnight on-site parking subject to demand and offsite parking from 5:30 pm to 8:30 am, nightly Irish music in the Danny Mann Pub. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is just 5 minutes’ walk away from Killarney National Park. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. St. Mary’s Cathedral can be reached in just 5 minutes on foot. Ross Castle and Killarney Golf Club are a 5-minute drive, and Kerry Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing