We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifty shades of green”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fifty shades of green”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 night at the end of a long business trip and enjoyed my time here. Rooms a little old but clean and quite. Right in the centre of town with many eating places close by. Entertainment downstairs every night very good and very Irish. The staff were excellent, and my gratitude to them for sending on a small item of value that was left in my room.
Will stay here again if I am in town.

Room Tip: Visit the bar for a drink and a song.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear IanWhalen,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and we are delighted that you found our staff excellant,, our rooms clean and quiet and our location central. We hope your trip was successful and look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Patrick
P.S. We are upgrading our rooms and public areas this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    224
    153
    57
    43
See reviews for
117
284
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I would agree with the previous reviewers opinion that the hotel is quite outdated and could do with modernization.
Good Points:
Excellent Location
Well Priced
Good Bar
Decent Size and quality of rooms.
Bad Points:
Layout - the hotel is a maze of corridors, up steps, down steps through doors.
The Heat - very humid and uncomfortable at all time of the day or night.
Parking - only 10 spaces for the entire hotel (some of which were used by staff members). We had no parking the first night.
The View from our room, right next to an extractor fan.
Breakfast - average quality

Finally, at check in we were told breakfast was served from 8am to 10.30. Which was fine on the Sunday morning, however when we arrived to the restaurant on Monday at 10.05 we were told that breakfast was 8am to 10am on weekdays - very frustrating.

I would be reluctant to stay here again.

Room Tip: Possibly a room on the street side?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear n0k,
Thank you for your review and for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you found us to have an excellant location, good pub, well priced and reasonable quality and sizeable rooms. As regards the negative points we have had an unusually humid autumn and regret you found your room to hot. We do supply fans on request. We agree that there is a bit of travelling to our furthest rooms.This can't be helped but we do have a porter to assist with luggage. Finally, our parking lot can take 18 cars and we do not permit staff to park there at night. There is also a public parking lot just over 50 metres from the hotel with free overnight parking. Thanks again for your candid review and we hope to see you back again to see the improvements we are doing this winter. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. Location was excellent. Very short walk to everything. However, the room was dated and there was no A/C. Since the night was warm, we had the window open and the street noise after midnight was a bit loud - talking and singing of people leaving the bars. Breakfast was just so-so. There is a bar downstairs with live music, but it was mostly an older crowd. All in all, an "okay" place to stay but I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKate789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear travelerKate789,
Thank you for your review and staying at our hotel.We are delighted that you found our location excellant but disappointed that your overall stay was only ok. We appreciate your comments and thankfully we have had a good year which will enable us to do substantial improvements this winter.As regards the age profile in the bar it is quite mixed with anyone from young couples to familys and grandparents. Hopefully, we may see you back sometime again. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have really rated this hotel as very good based in the main on the location and also the bar both of which were excellent. The room itself was quite dated but comfortable enough and it must have taken us literally 5 minutes to get to the room walking down endless corridors! I think really its quite expensive for the quality of the room but I guess its the location you are paying for. Didn't eat in the hotel or bar so can't comment but looked to be nice from what I saw.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear LondonFifi04
Thank you for your review and for staying at our hotel. We are delighted you found the location excellant, enjoyed the bar and found our rooms comfortable. We are planning a major redecoration of our rooms and corridors this winter so thanks again for your comments. Hopefully next time you can enjoy our food too! Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very happy with our visit here. Better than a normal 3 star. Right in centre of town. Good breakfast. Good value. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Clean bar toilets. Excellent, I mean EXCELLENT traditional musicians in the bar each night. Smoking room available for my elderly Dad. The only thing we didnt think was great was the early bird menu in the bar. It seemed to be a special menu (not discounted main menu) and the meal wasnt very hot. Would definitely visit again though and plan to do so in the winter with another couple.

Room Tip: Our room 228 was airy and quiet. My Dad felt his room 216 was a bit too hot even with windows open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel room is typical of other hotels in the region. Small room but clean. Breakfast buffet in the morning provides typical Irish fare. Pub downstairs provides live music in the evenings and a fun atmosphere. Easy walking distance from shops, restaurants, pubs, tour pick-up sites, and late night clubs.

Room Tip: Bring your own wash cloths if you typically use them. This hotel, as like most in Ireland, do not pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2n8ture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Good solid hotel in a fantastic location. Right in the heart of Killarney. Plenty of Pubs and shops within walking distance.
We had a deluxe room with plenty of space for 3 adults. Room was clean and an excellent value.
The pub downstairs has good food and a great atmosphere. Breakfast is typical Irish fare. Very good.
Free parking behind the hotel if you happen to be driving. I would definitely recommend this hotel and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run. Eviston House offers free WiFi, free overnight on-site parking subject to demand and offsite parking from 5:30 pm to 8:30 am, nightly Irish music in the Danny Mann Pub. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is just 5 minutes’ walk away from Killarney National Park. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. St. Mary’s Cathedral can be reached in just 5 minutes on foot. Ross Castle and Killarney Golf Club are a 5-minute drive, and Kerry Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing