We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eviston House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“fab place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a 6 night stay. Warm welcome by all staff. Good size bar down stairs serving food if you wish (did not try). Live music every night of our stay, quite varied in artists. Food in hotel restaurant very good. Evening meals hot and tasty. Breakfast a very good choice of cereal, fruit, toast and a buffet style hot breakfast, plenty for all. We were fortunate to be put in the suite which not only came with a spotlessly clean bathroom, a single and a double bed but also a kitchen, leather settee, chair, flat screen t.v. and lots and lots of space. Every thing was spotless. We did look at friends rooms and these were also spotlessly clean and roomy. The hotel is situated in the town centre and within easy walking distance for everything. Would recommend to all ages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    212
    133
    50
    39
See reviews for
98
263
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Went here on Friday 20th June for a few drinks in the bar and the live music that was playing was very good. The bar was extremely busy but staff were very accommodating. Con served us and he made us feel very welcome to Killarney. We will be back again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona,usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We sent two nights at the BW Eviston House Hotel. The central location was perfect.....short walk to/from the train station and close to everything. The staff was accommodating and helpful, the rooms were clean and large and the Danny Mann pub was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in June. Not much to complain about, but nothing to sing about either. The hotel is perfectly acceptable, reasonably priced, good location, good rooms. If you don't mind the tour bus crowd, it's fine. But there it is - big tour bus crowd. The Danny Mann pub is downstairs. It has pretty good music and decent enough food, but we've had better in Ireland. Parking at the hotel is difficult. You must either have a vey small car or are really good at maneuvering. We opted to park in the municipal lot around the corner. Much easier to park, free between 6 pm and 8:30 am, and only 1 euro per hour I think. If that's all you need, then this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Music stops at 11. If you want quiet, ask for a higher floor in the back away from the pub. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whrestlersmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

4 star No!!!! more like 3 star. Bedrooms very small, dark and small opening windows so hot. Food served as coach tour was poor. We heard one lady saying a similar thing in Reception, the staff were very accommodating and offered another room, comment from the manager was 'she should open a window' he obviously didn't realise we were sitting close by. This is one to miss!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NevShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear NevShaw,

We are a 3 star hotel and therfore do not have airconditioning. However we do provide fans on request to our Guests during the beautiful warm and sunny weather expereienced lately. I'm surprised about your comments about the coach tour food as we have many long standing clients who are very satisfied with what we offer.We would appreciate your contacting us as to the particular group so we can investigate further. As regards the room sizes, all our rooms either meet or exceed the standards set down by our tourist authority. As you mentioned if someone wishes to change rooms we are happy to do so when available. Thank you for your comments and they will be discussed with our team. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Went for a drink here yesterday with the girlies , great time with Irish traditional music and like to thank the bar man Kyle for his kind hospitality and updated us on the knowledge of Killarney and things to do and see , we will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505lisaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 505,
Thank you for your kind comments. Kyle will be delighted that he was able to make your visit with us even more enjoyable
Best regards Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating to our needs. The bar staff Con specifically is very friendly with a great sense of humor and gave us some great tips on places to see, short cuts to get there to help us plan our day. We would definitely return to Eviston. They make the best Irish Lamb stew you will have! Great location, close to all shopping and so many choices of restaurants of all kinds.

Room Tip: No pool. Rooms in the back can be loud in the late night as there is an alley that folks pass throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear JD706

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Con will be delighted that he contributed to your experience as will Conor our head chef for your love of the Irish Stew!
Thanks and regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run, ensuring guests a genuine Irish welcome. Situated in the town centre, yet minutes from the National Park. Choose from excellent value standard rooms to new superior rooms with broadband and contemporary decor. For an extra special stay why not try one of our luxurious deluxe rooms with whirlpool bath and king size bed. Enjoy excellent cuisine and the best of lively traditional Irish music in our "Danny Mann" pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing