We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress Free Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I stayed in the Eviston for Easter Weekend with my partner and we had a wonderful time. We received a wonderful warm welcome on arrival and were given a lovely room with jacuzzi bath. The entertainment in the Dannymann Pub was fantastic . We had bar food on two nights and dined in the restaurant on the last night - delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinsoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

This hotel is fairly basic but it is situated right in the centre of Killarney town, (don't expect a view of the beautiful countryside) so it is great for all the hens and stags (bachelor and bachelorette parties for all you Americans) and groups of people in Killarney for the night life, as alot of the hotels are out towards the Muckross area and would be a taxi fare or a long walk from the nightclubs and bars. Killarney is a lovely town and there is always a buzz about the place. I didn't like the fact that the is no choice of breakfast, it's a full fry up or nothing, which is not practical for a vegatarian and it costs 10 Euros if it's not included in your room price. But yeah, everything else was OK. We asked for and got a free upgrade as there is an older and newer part in the hotel where the rooms are fresher.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cknyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

A group of us stayed here for a weekend away. We travelled from Cork in 2 cars, and arrived at the hotel thinking we could park up, unload our luggage and check-in.WRONG!
The foreign girl at the desk said we had to pay up front (even though they had taken 4 different credit card numbers over the phone when we booked) check-in, then go and park the cars.
All eight of us did this which seemed to take an age, then we go back to the cars and drive around the block to try and find the car park - which is well hidden down a very narrow alley way which is conjested with rubbish skips. When we arwe eventually let in after waiting for the barrier to be opened - we find that it was full!
After great difficulty in turning the cars around we then had to pay for parking in the public car park.
We had asked for rooms together, but this was not to be, we were spread over different floors.
The rooms were ok, with the expection of one which looked out onto a concrete wall! And one had a huge stain on the carpet whick didnt look very good.
After all the stress of actually getting in and soughted we head to the bar for a drink. The barmen were extremley nice and freindly, but there was a foreign manager (in a Irish family run hotel?) who was very rude and pushy. The way he spoke to the staff would be unexecptable in most places, and when we said to the irish barman about it he told us it was better to say nothing otherwise he would lose his job.
Breakfast in the mornings was a disrace! the food is only warm the tea awful and the whole of the breakfast room looked unhygeinic.
When we checked out we wern't even asked if we enjoyed our stay - which we didnt and will NEVER be back.
We would urge anyone booking here to find alternative accommodation.
We will be reporting this hotel and its manager to board failtre.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margomagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I was extremly dissappointed with this hotel.Staff especially reception and bar/restaurant staff were unhelpfull and at times very rude.The bar manager Rodger was so rude and arrogant,he has a major chip on his shoulder.Trying to get a drink was near impossible.The rooms were nice and the location is good. The food in the restaurant was terrible,my friend said the breakfast was ok.I would never stay here again and would say to any groups wanting to stay here stay well clear of it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaJen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The service in the hotel was probably the worst I've ever experienced in any hotel. One of the manager's I think his name was Roger took the leading role as Basal Faulty. The problem with the staff seemed to be universal throughout the hotel. From the reception to the bar/restaurant, to the porter at the door. The staff seemed very unhappy and stressed. I stayed with a large group of 20 people, we felt like we were an inconvience to the staff and felt very unwelcome. We had a meal booked for everyone on the saturday night, we all got served our meal at different times, some were finished when others had not even given their order. The manager was serving as bar man and he repeatly told us he was too busy to serve us, so we had our meal as quick as possible and left. Most people thought the food to be very poor. When we arrived back at the hotel, we were shouted at by the porter, he was very aggressive, I was very shocked that this type of behaviour is allowed. I visit Killarney at least twice a year, I have stayed in most hotels and I must say I have never in my life experienced any thing like this. If it was my hotel I would be extreamly embarassed to be represented by this team. I would never stay in this hotel again......

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iqonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed two nights. It was a good experience. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The Internet connection worked well. We did not eat breakfast here. We visited the hotel pub which had traditional Irish music. The hotel had a modest exercise room. Room was clean. Relatively quiet hotel. Poor view (faced concrete wall).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter6504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while sightseeing in the area. Everything about this hotel was perfect - great location, friendly and helpful staff, free wireless internet in the room (that actually worked), delicious full irish breakfast and a very spacious room. My only comment - if you have a car, there is a very small alley that you must navigate it through to get to the hotel parking lot. We didn't attempt it and instead opted for public parking nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#25 of 38 in Killarney
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run Eviston House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi & free overnight parking. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is right in the heart of the action. All of Killarneys shops, pubs, restaurants and attractions are literally on your doorstep. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The “World Famous” Danny Mann Pub is located on site. Choose from a large selection of Draught, Wines and Premium Spirits. The freshest local ingredients are presented on our menu’s daily. Top it all off with live Irish Music every night. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing