We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting, within walking distance of Killarney town centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dubin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great setting, within walking distance of Killarney town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have just spent a long weekend in the Castleross Hotel. We had a room with a lake view, which was very comfortable, and extremely clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast which was varied and all the food was freshly cooked - we also had lunch in the bar which was also very tasty.

We were able to walk into Killarney town centre over the weekend, through the national park, in the streaming sunshine which was such a pleasure - takes no longer than 20/25 minutes so very suitable for all ages and people with buggies or young children.

We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and the cottages would be very suitable for our friends with young families as there is something for everyone, a golf course on site, swimming pool and leisure centre and children's playround and tennis court.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyDublin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in the Castlerosse Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you bacj again soon.

Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We are just back from a weekend at the Castlerosse. We stayed in one of the woodland cottages with our two toddlers. We found the cottages to be spacious and clean and perfect for our needs......the furnishings and decor may not be the most modern but I have stayed in more modern places with far less comfort. The kitchen was very well equipped and the bedrooms and sitting rooms spacious. The bathrooms were spacious with power showers.
The only gripe I have is that the night time bar menu was very limited.... We could have eaten in the restaurant but we had the kids with us on both occasions and weren't sure how long they would sit for before getting bored.

All in all a very enjoyable stay..... The leisure centre and playground were just the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonerirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking to time to write your kind review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much with us. We endeavor to make each guests stay with us as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and are sorry you did not find the bar menu met your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel again.
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

I've known the Castlerosse for years, visited as a guest but never stayed.

This is very much a family hotel, i.e. plenty of kids around and expect people practicing the recorder just when you want to get your kids off to sleep.

We stayed in the golf lodges which are spacious, a little dated in the decoration. The TV's are old but operational. Cleanliness was an issue, my kids were pulling old sweet packets from behind their headboards. Likewise we found items that had been left by previous residents.

There was tea and coffee left as a welcome but no condiments etc, all of the white goods were very basic but operational.

When we arrived the house had obviously not been occupied for a long time, as a result it was freezing and really took a couple of days to get the place nice and warm.

The biggest let down for me was that we were not advised that certain facilities at the hotel were not available. The leisure club (pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and basic gym) were closed each afternoon. There was no bar, restaurant or other hotel facilities.

That really annoyed me as you are a good 1.5m outside of Killarney town centre with no facilities within reasonable walking distance if we had know when we booked we would have gone elsewhere.

So in summary, the general feel is that the place is shabby and a bit run down. Cleanliness standards are poor and for the money wasn't great. Park Place Apartments again next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMajestyk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
DearGuest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here at the Castlerosse. I regret that you found the Golf Lodges were not up to standard.
The Leisure Club does close during the the winter from 2-4pm each day.
I hope that your stay here did not upset your trip to Killarney, I apologise on behalf of the general manger, and can assure you I have brought his attention to your review,

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here over Christmas when the hotel was closed for the winter, so am not sure how the other reviewers stayed in the hotel at that time. The location is great, just on the edge of Killarney on the Fossa road. We stayed in the single storey woodland cottages , which I can honestly say were dirty and slightly grubby , and in serious need of a clean & upgrade. The houses have storage heating which took 24 hours to get up to a comfortable temperature & needed a degree to operate. There were a number of loud parties on in neighbouring houses which spilled outside onto the grass.

The leisure centre was open & the kids loved the pool; but again no other part of the hotel was open - however we knew this is advance so not sure how the other reviewers got access
. Would only stay here for location in Killarney but were too expensive for what they are. If outdoors based & just sleeping there they are fine I suppose; but not somewhere to be sitting round trying to relax for a week. Overall the woodland cottages are outdated & need of a serious clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WicklowRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you found the cottages below standard. Your dissatisfaction with the self catering cottages has been passed on to the general manager. I do hope this did not upset your holiday in Killarney.
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We heading down to Kerry just before Christmas to enjoy Kilarney and the Christmas fest.
The hotel was excellent, great food, lots to do, and the kids even had a great time in the kids club.
We skipped the golf due to the cold cold weather.
All was just right and a great start to the holidays.
Thank you to all the staff, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larryr1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive response to the Castlerosse Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Castlerosse.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse soon,

Kind Regards,

Brid O Sullivan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyhe, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We had had a very pleasant stay (our honeymoon!), enjoyed the golfcourses in the surroundings (Mahonys Point, Killeen, Dooks) and in the evenings splendid dinners and afterwards a Guinness sundowner in the pub. Absolutely marvellous. The location situated next to the National Park is ideal for walking and cycling. The hotel personnel was very helpful at all times.
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Ubena,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, I am deligted that you and your new spouse enjoyed your honeymoon to Killarney and surrounding areas!

We would love to see you back in the hotel again on your next visit to Ireland,

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We recently returned from a 4 night stay in one of these cottages.
They were lovely and spacious, clean and had everything that you would need.
Kids enjoyed the use of the pool and the playground. Our older daughter also enjoyed the magic show.
I had a facial which I was very disappointed with. Prob the worst I have ever had. The beautician was very nice but talked non stop. Any other facial I have had has been peaceful and relaxing. I got some cream on my face, a few pats on side of my face and head and then before I knew it my hour was up and I was paying a hefty price.
We will definitely return to the self catering but I will avoid the beauty salon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB19670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear DB19670,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much and I apologise for your dissatisfaction with the spa treatment you received. Rest assured we will discuss with the beautician your comments.

We look forward to seeing you and your family back in the Castlerosse in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Brid o Sullivan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#29 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing