We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Nearby Hotels
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
321
246
87
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
246
87
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf lodgesthe cottageskids clubnational parkself cateringbasketball courtswimming poolleisure centrehired bikeshotel facilitiesview from the dining roomfamily holidaylake and mountainskillarney townfamily roomwasher dryerbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed three nights with our family of 2 children and 2 adults. We requested a room with a view of the lakes, but were told at check in that there were no family rooms with lake views. However our room was quiet clean and comfortable,albeit a long walk from reception. Our room was on the ground floor and parking is not a problem. We had dinner and breakfasts in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were lovely. View from the restaurant was beautiful. Staff at desk were very helpful - especially organising laundry service for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate with our location in Killarney and am delighted you enjoyed our lake views from the restaurant, however my apologies that our family rooms do not have Lake views. We do hope you will visit us again in the Castlerosse and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

second year staying at Castleross Hotel. Would return again and again. Food excellent. Not a bad word to say.

Room Tip: Lowest floor gives the best views over golf course to lake and mountains. very quiet
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanClane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your lovely review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again this year, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Spent the weekend in this hotel with my husband and daughter. We really enjoyed it, the staff are lovely,the food is really nice and the bar had a man singing on Saturday night and he was very good. It seems to attract an older age group, it was busy which was nice as there was a buzz around the place. Would really recommend this hotel, the location is ideal, near Killarney, near lovely walks and no noise from the corridor at night. The view from our bedroom was fab. The only thing that could be improved on is the rooms, they're really clean and freshly painted but maybe are a little dated? The reception area is really nice. Overall the hotel is very well maintained, we didn't use the leisure center so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Killarney again soon.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel was very nice. Lots of parking, good size rooms, quitet. Nicely decorated rooms with everything you need. The only down fall is if your room is at the far end - there is quite a walk to get to it. Some require climbing stairs. If you are unable to climb or walk long distances ask for a room closer to the lobby.

The bar is lovely and and the dinning room provides a stunning view of the golf course, lake and mountains. In the morning you could see the deer walking on the golf course. The food was very good.

Everyone was very nice and helpful and the wake up calls were spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - I did not specify and was given a room with a view of the parking lot and my travel mate got the shed. While others on our tour got lakes and mountains and greens.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monetsgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed in the cottages last weekend from Thursday to Sunday as we were attending a wedding in Dunloe Castle. The cottages are dated but they are fantastic otherwise. We brought our 4 kids down on the Saturday and we comfortably stayed in the 2 bed cottage. The main living area is very big so if it rains there is a great space to occupy the children. The beds are very comfortable, bedrooms good size and the cottages are very well equiped.The TV could be modernised but not a complaint.
They are nice and close to the hotel so makes it easy to get to the pool. The pool was ideal for our children ranging in ages from 2 to 9 and we always felt safe and at ease with them. We didn't do much in the hotel but it seemed to be bright and welcoming.
We did have some small issues but I don't think they would be common to other stays. They charge €6 per day for electricity and we couldn't recall being told this at the initial booking so it came as a little surprise. Someone visiting the house used our phone and as you know hotels know how to charge for this but when we asked the receptionist dealing with our bill she refused to give the number that was dialed so we are still in the dark as to who used the phone. Lastly there was a large group staying in the cottages from the wedding and we were told that there would be no rush on the Sunday if the cottages weren't booked but no one had told the staff on duty who tried to rush us all out at 11-30am. It didn't spoil the great time we had in Killarney but it took a little off our overall opinion of the complex.

We would consider booking again but would make sure we know what we have to pay and what is included in the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat2001ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Castlerosse Woodland Cottages, we aim to ensure the Hotel and self catering accommodation is kept to a high and comfortable standard to ensure all guests have a memorable holiday. I was however sorry to hear the cleaning staff had not been informed of your late check out the usual time for check out in the cottages is 10am, also I would like to apologise to you for not having been informed of the €6 electricity charge which is in all our self catering accommodation. I have made the Manager aware of all the comments you have made. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Castlerosse again soon.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews