We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend family trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in one of the golf lodges and it was absolutely fabulous. The views are stunning and the lodge was really spacious , very clean and great value. The kids loved it as they had so much space and lots of games of hide and seek. I would highly recommend the Castlerosse resort and can't wait to return as a weekend just wasn't long enough.Facilities and staff excellent-10/10.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moreilly5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your break in our golf lodges we strive to provide a high level of service to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay with us as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is situated right beside the lake giving you great views of the mountains surrounding them. Very much a family hotel with plenty of kids activities and friendly staff. The hotel is a short drive from the town and right beside the killarney golf course. Well wortha visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse. I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Killarney and the Castlerosse. We do enjoy our lakeside location very much! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again soon.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for two nights in the hotel and four nights in the golf lodge.

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff. The hotel room was clean, but a bit small for two adults and two children, but we survived. The beds were comfortable.

The Golf Lodge is spotless and very well equipped. There are two en-suite bedrooms upstairs which are both very big, and downstairs there is a wet room a combined dining room and sitting room with a kitchen off it. There is a balcony in one of the bedrooms and a patio area off the sitting room.

The pool area is clean and well maintained. There is a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a gym. There is a small and very shallow kiddies pool.

There is a kids club during school holidays which is very good. There is a kids tea in the restaurant which is extra. The kids club has day and evening activities.

The hotel is just outside Killarney and there is a golf course on site, not being a golfer I can't help in that regard.

My one gripe is having to pay extra for electricity, a phenomenon that seems to only exist in some Irish self catering properties, it is €6 per day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithdarcy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the hotel.
I was delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay here with us at the Castlerosse the management and staff of the hotel endeavor to make each guests stay as relaxing and welcoming as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Killarney and the Castlerosse again next year.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great location. There were 19 of us. Plenty to do. Great accommodations,plenty to do. There was entertainment every night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review of the Castlerosse. We are delighted you enjoyed our entertainment & onsite activities and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ennis
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Marvelous hotel in a fabulous setting and very reasonable rates. An ideal base for touring. I have taken time out in Killarney each year and always stay at the Castlerosse. Great scenary, good food lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ennisbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind responce. Ibwas delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Castlerosse and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed in the hotel sat & sun oct bank hol weekend had a fab time very child friendly it was very busy even had a wedding on staff were friendly and helpfull at all times we stayed on bed and breakfast rate which was very reasonable and the food was very nice .loads of parking and a lovely view of the lakes.The bedroom was a good way from reception but you can park at side of hotel where there is a side door you can use makes the journey to your car a lot shorter,The had music in the bar both nights great for anyone that didn"t want to venture into town the also have free wifi in lobby/bar area"s .Great stay at this hotel and i would recommend it i will def book again .

Room Tip: If you can book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterfanWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the hotel good value for money! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again next year.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in a beautiful golf lodge for 2 nights. We ate in the resteraunt and had breakfast both mornings. The facilities are supurb and the staff very experienced. This is our 5th year at least staying at the Castle Ross. The hotel is family friendly and very safe. They have their own modern kids park and easy access to beautiful walks. You could stay and never leave the hotel grounds as the facilities are second to none.

Room Tip: With over 20 holiday homes on site and 12 Golf lodges. Why even book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review of the Castlerosse & our self catering cottages / Lodges. We are delighted you have returned again this year and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#29 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing