We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Returning to a Gem!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just booked a another return visit to this wonderful hotel, and the whole family is delighted and excited!!! I have been staying at this hotel for aprox the last ten years both with my my Mam and Dad and with my own family and I can't believe I hadn't reviewed it for trip advisor .

The Hotel is quite large and has super self catering cottages and lodges on the beautiful grounds, all are spotlessly clean and well maintained.The kids club is super and my two daugthers aged 10 and 8 loved going every night which gave my Husband and myself time to enjoy the lesuire centre and the Restaruant not to mention the bar which in my opinion has the most spectacular view of the Lakes!!!!

There was entertainment everynight in the bar which was above par and even the kids were welcomed and encouraged to join in the sing song or dancing. The bar is quite large but has a comfortable homely elements, it can get quite crowded if there is a fuction on but soon calms down once the fuction has started.

The golf course is fantastic (According to my Hubby) and is challenging enough for the seasoned golfer with the most amazing views you can hire golf clubs and other nessesities if you need to travel light.

There is a playground available for the smaller children and wonderful walks along the Lakes and the Park that would suit all energies and ages. We spent many an afternoon strolling into town through the park which is acessable throught the grounds of the Hotel, it took about ten minutes and one special moment for us all last year was while taking our daily walk a large herd of Deer came running by us through the trees and disappered just as quick!! Totally amazing!!!

We stayed in the Woodland Cottages last year but we have stayed in the Hotel and the Golf Lodges too, over the years and we have never been disappointed in any of our stays as the staff couldn't be more helpful and accomidating when we needed anything extra and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. I'm pleased to say that many of the staff haven't changed over the years, 9A mark of a good hotel in my opinion) which added personality to the whole stay, and made us feel quite at home.


I could go on forever about this Gem in Killareny! I know it will play host to our family holidays in the years to come and we, as I've said can't wait to get there again in the coming weeks for a chilled out relaxing family break!!!! Put the pints on Frank!!!

Room Tip: The Self catering Cottages and Lodges are perfect for familes, they have everything you may need and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppie-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel and are delighted to see you will be returning again this year. We endeavor to make each guests stay with us as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel soon!

Kind Regards,
Brid o Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    234
    78
    35
    27
See reviews for
313
175
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Enjoyed 3 nights stay at castle rosse cottages. Everything about the stay was perfect although the hotel its self was closed the leisure centre was opened. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The house was very spacious and clean perfect for what we needed 2 adults and4kids (aged 17 11 7 and 1) it's a very central location great for walks in the national park. So much to do close by.... We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel, I am glad to see you enjoyed our lakeside location and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Brid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I did not make a selection on service as we had a self service golf lodge, which was perfect for the family and our dog. The gym and pool was a great attraction for the children and a lovely wind down after the long walks around the Killarney national park. A fantastic break for all involved and really good value in February.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your lovely review of the castlerosse we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in one of the golf lodges and it was absolutely fabulous. The views are stunning and the lodge was really spacious , very clean and great value. The kids loved it as they had so much space and lots of games of hide and seek. I would highly recommend the Castlerosse resort and can't wait to return as a weekend just wasn't long enough.Facilities and staff excellent-10/10.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moreilly5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your break in our golf lodges we strive to provide a high level of service to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay with us as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is situated right beside the lake giving you great views of the mountains surrounding them. Very much a family hotel with plenty of kids activities and friendly staff. The hotel is a short drive from the town and right beside the killarney golf course. Well wortha visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse. I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Killarney and the Castlerosse. We do enjoy our lakeside location very much! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again soon.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for two nights in the hotel and four nights in the golf lodge.

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff. The hotel room was clean, but a bit small for two adults and two children, but we survived. The beds were comfortable.

The Golf Lodge is spotless and very well equipped. There are two en-suite bedrooms upstairs which are both very big, and downstairs there is a wet room a combined dining room and sitting room with a kitchen off it. There is a balcony in one of the bedrooms and a patio area off the sitting room.

The pool area is clean and well maintained. There is a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a gym. There is a small and very shallow kiddies pool.

There is a kids club during school holidays which is very good. There is a kids tea in the restaurant which is extra. The kids club has day and evening activities.

The hotel is just outside Killarney and there is a golf course on site, not being a golfer I can't help in that regard.

My one gripe is having to pay extra for electricity, a phenomenon that seems to only exist in some Irish self catering properties, it is €6 per day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithdarcy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the hotel.
I was delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay here with us at the Castlerosse the management and staff of the hotel endeavor to make each guests stay as relaxing and welcoming as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Killarney and the Castlerosse again next year.
Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great location. There were 19 of us. Plenty to do. Great accommodations,plenty to do. There was entertainment every night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review of the Castlerosse. We are delighted you enjoyed our entertainment & onsite activities and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,254 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing