We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I can sincerely recommend the Castlerosse for a fun packed family holiday. We love the walks in the national park and the golf and the kids love the pool and the entertainment provided by the kids club. The lodges a perfect and very spacious for the family.. food is good and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We'll be back for a short break in the summer.

Willem M

Room Tip: would recommend a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and our lakeside location in the National Park. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back during in the summer.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just back from a week end conference in Killarnery stayed at Castlerosse Hotel. The room was booked as a double instead of a twin rooom however the receptionist changed the room without any hassle. Rooms clean and warm, bath water piping hot. Buffet breakfast which was hot but the best bit was the evening meal which was priced at 32 euros for five courses, it was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed you time here with us so much, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

When we arrived at the hotel to check in i had my 3 year old daughter in my arms. The hotel manager came over to her and asked her if she liked balloons ! She was delighted and that set the scene for the rest of the stay. My kids loved the hotel the kids club was great. The staff were great and always did everything they could to make you welcome. Infact we enjoyed our stay so much we booked a lodge for a week in the summer and we cant wait!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your lovely review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to read how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Castlerosse. We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the summer!
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Castlerosse Hotel during the Irish Open, last year and I must admit my expectations were exceeded. Especially by the extremely diligent and well mannered Bar Staff. Our servers Kieran and James, were very helpful not only in serving us but also giving us a vast array of information on activities to do in the surrounding hinterland. I will most definitely return if the Irish Open is held in Killarney again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be so helpful, we do hope the Irish Open will return to Killarney again in the near future. We look forward to your return visit!
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Only home 2 days and kids are wanting to know when are we returning again !!
Staff were most helpful, kids club great, golf course great (so my husband and son reported back...) Beautiful views and walks. Compliments to the chefs, our meals were wonderful!!
Looking forward to our return again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. We are delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable stay here with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a family package, which to be honest was great value. The room itself was quite basic and could do with some updating and a good deep clean. There were old blankets on the beds, which I found surprising, as I thought blankets had long been replaced by duvets! The dinner, which was included in the package was very good. However, this now brings me on to the service, which I can only say was atrocious. On the second evening I asked for an ice bucket as the white wine I had ordered the previous evening had been warm and I didn't want to repeat this. The waiter proceeded to get into a full blown argument that the wine was cold enough! When I mentioned this to the Restaurant Manager the following morning it was just brushed off. Overall the staff were very impolite and unhelpful. there were a couple of exceptions but I strongly feel they could all do with some customer relations and service training.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iccna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,
It is with regret that I read your review and your dissatisfaction with your stay in the hotel. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel with regards your requests for an ice bucket this should have been supplied to you on request and management have spoken with the waiter on duty on the night in question. I am sorry to hear you found the level of customer service in other departments of the hotel below standard and have made the Manager aware of this. I do hope this did not upset your holiday in Killarney.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel at first appears very old fashioned,with basic rooms and bathroom.The staff were lovely and the food was good.The children had a great time at the kids club which was very well run and filled with lots to do.We will definitely return to the Castlerosse.

Room Tip: Ask to over look the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to read how much your kids enjoyed our Castle Rangers Kids Club and activities. We look forward to your return visit to Killarney and the Castlerosse.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#25 of 38 in Killarney
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Address: Lower Lake, Killarney V93 VN5P, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £101 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing