We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
windsor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had a re-union dinner at this hotel in July and was a 5 course priced at 331.50. However it was an underwhelming experience. Beef Strogonoff was not as advertised, but a an insipid yellow sauce on a bed of rice and tasteless meat. French onion soup was a watery concoction, and the desserts did not redeem the poor meal. Would not recommend this dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
I was sorry to read your comments re the reunion dinner you attended here. I have raised all comments you made with senior management.
I apologise on behalf of the hotel that you were not satisfied with your meal as we endeavour to make everything as comfortable and enjoyable as possible for guests while maintaining a high standard and giving good value for money.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    225
    77
    35
    27
See reviews for
302
168
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In short this is a hotel that is absolutely perfect for families. The pool is clean and large. The restaurant served good food in the evening and for breakfast. The bar is lovely and family friendly. The hotel rents bikes and is beside the National Park. Their is a golf course at the hotel and the rooms were clean and quiet. We will be back. I am slightly surprised that the hotel is 3 star as it cannot be far away from 4. My only small question would be why the organised kids club in the evening was for 5yrs old + as my 3 year old was very keen to join in the fun, all the other hotels we have stayed in catered for children that were 'toilet trained'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
It was with great pleasure that I read your comments, and was delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and took advantage of the facilities on offer to guests.
It is the hotel policy that all children attending the Castle Rangers must be 5 years and upwards.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Castlerosse in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had the most enjoyable couple of days at the Castlerosse Hotel. Location is just breath-taking! Our family room was big and comfortable. We ate in the bar and sampled the early bird menu which was very reasonable, food was delicious. Staff were very friendly. This was a very child friendly hotel. They have a kids club which ran a full days schedule. Fab leisure centre and swimming pool. Breakfast was excellent, the breakfast room/restaurant has stunning views. We stayed on a Monday night and there was live entertainment in the bar. They served free squash (cordial) for the kids. There is a walking/cycling path that runs from the hotel through to Killarney town - a very easy cycle and a very pleasant walk. I would definitely recommend Castlerosse Hotel if you are planning a trip to Killarney.. we certainly hope to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room - breath taking scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments and see how much both you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

great break, have stayed here many times and love the place. restaruant is great, leisure centre is so relaxing, the walks and fresh air really do you the world of good. Bar is good but the entertainment, i.e. 3 female ballad singers & 2 other seperate male singers, is ok - when you dont have to listen to it. Alll the staff are very good - its the same staff for the past number of years so thats a good sign too. All in all I dont have anything negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gucciplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
I was delighted to see you enjoyed your return stay here with us. We are very fortunate that our staff return year after year and glad you found them to be so helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week's holidays staying in a golf lodge. Amazing! Definately one of the most relaxing holidays to date. The lodges are only a few years old, clean, well stocked and have a nice balcony and patio with comfortable picnic furniture.

The swimming pool was used everyday (would have been in twice a day if the weather was bad!) and was clean and staffed by friendly people. There are trails right from the grounds that take you to town passing the best playground I've seen. Kids loved it!

Their faveorite part of the hotel was kids camp. They went 5 of the 7 nights we stayed and would have gone the other 2 if we'd been back in time.

It is 2 km out of the town centre but I saw this as a bonus. We walked into town in the evening then took a taxi back after dinner (without children as they were at camp!)

Would highly recommend this hotel for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrigoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes. I was delighted to see that both you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Golf Lodges. I am glad that your children enjoyed the Castle Rangers Kids Camp.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Castlerosse again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santpoort
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent 3 nights in a Lakeview Golf Lodge The only thing missing is wifi in the lodges, you have to go to one of the public lounges in the nearby hotel to use wifi. We greatly missed this modern day technology and this was the only accommodation we had in Ireland without.

The Golf Lodges are lovely. We think the bit extra for a lake view is worth it as you look out over the golf course, with the lake and the mountains in the distance. Our lodge was clean, well furnished, linens in good condition and good quality. The only thing we needed in the well stocked kitchen was a roll of papertowel and tin foil. Salt & Pepper supplied. Our lodge had 2 large bedrooms and 3 bathrooms (1 tub, 2 shower stalls). As we had one complete day of endless rain the fireplace made the room cheery, we could play cards with a (rainy) view, and used the washer/dryer to do laundry.

It is a perfect base for driving the Ring of Kerry or visiting the Dingle Peninsula. There is also a lot to do in the area and a walking trail into town. There are 2 supermarkets (Aldi and Super Valu) within a 10 minute drive.

The only staff we encountered were at Reception and they must have been very busy during our stay, or perhaps too long behind the counter, not unfriendly, simply indifferent.

If you can live without wifi, we highly recommend these beautiful golf cottages.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes.
I have passed along all comments you have raised with management. I was glad to see you enjoyed your time here in our Self Catering Golf Lodges and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently booked into the Castlerosse Hotel for 5 nights b & b plus dinner on each night for four of us - two adults and two children - having got a very good deal when I telephoned the hotel. On arrival, we were allocated our room which although big, had only a very small window with a bush outside. Having being told we would have a view of the golf course, this was very disappointing. We went back to Reception to complain but were told there were no other family rooms available. However, they told us that one of their self-catering properties was free if we wished to move there. We decided this was the best course of action after viewing the lovely two bedroomed house with a large sitting room and kitchen and two bathrooms. This turned out to be an excellent idea given the extremely hot weather we had for the five days - we would have suffocated in a hotel room. We still went over to the hotel for our breakfast and dinner each day. The food was beautiful and very well presented. The staff in the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all, we certainly would return to the Castlerosse Resort again. Well done and a big thank you for the excellent service and your understanding and efficiency in dealing with our complaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse.
Apologies that your room did not have a lake view as requested but I am delighted that you and your family liked the Lodges you were offered in its place.
I was glad to see you enjoyed the evening meals in the restaurant provided as part of your package.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#25 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing