We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay once again”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from once again a very relaxing stay with my wife and fourteen year son at the Castlerosse, we spent 3 nights on a B&B & Dinner apckage which was excellent value. Room was with the lake view which provided us with a lovely view each morning. The staff in this hotel are so friendly and nothing is too much to ask for. On the food all three of us are now on diets as the selection for both breakfast and dinner was excellent leaving no room for lunch. The only small problem which seems to happen in most hotels is that the room was set up for 2 and not 3 so we had to ask for extra towels, cup saucer and tea/coffee not a problem but a way round this would be better communication between reservations and house keeping, once we asked they were immediately delivered. Once again congratulations we hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view - they are located the furtherest from reeption but worth the walk for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. I apologise that you had to request extra items for your room. I have passed along all comments your raised above. We look forward welcoming you all back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    237
    81
    35
    27
See reviews for
322
177
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is very well-appointed and is a great stay, with the only exception being a lack of air-conditioning in the rooms. It is all one level, so be prepared to walk great distances to your room if you're staying at one of the far ends. The hotel restaurant is beautiful, with great views and a sophisticated menu. The bar is very reasonably priced, prompting most of us to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment rather than venturing into town. There was live music at the bar and it was, as usual for pubs in Ireland, an appropriate volume level where people could still have civilized conversations while enjoying the music.

The rooms are very nice, with very comfortable beds and large bathrooms with attractive tilework, fixtures, and lighting. My only complaint is the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, which meant leaving the window open and allowing the bugs in.

Room Tip: Get a room which is somewhat closer to the reception area. It is not terribly fun to go staggering b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPNev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation and liked our lakeside location.
I have passed along all comments raised by you in your review to management.
I apologise that you found the lack of air conditioning in the rooms to be a problem for you as we endeavor to make everything as comfortable and enjoyable as possible for guests while maintaining a high standard and giving good value for money.
Should you be visiting Killarney again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Castlerosse Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Deciding a last minute break on a sunday morning to head off and found this hotel on line so phoned up and booked without any problems, absolutely loved this hotel , the swimming pool and sauna nd jaquzzi is fabulous...... staff are very friendly and helpful.... our room was lovely and very comfortable...... location is excellent with beautiful surroundings and a lovely decking area outside the bar xxxx would recommend this hotel to any couple or family looking to relax

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNIFER997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse. I was delighted to read all comments made. I was glad to see you took advantage of the many facilities on offer for guests use. Should you be visiting Killarney again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you both back to the Castlerosse.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Castlerosse Hotel is a comfortable, modern hotel and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our room was clean, cosy and had plenty of space. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available. The bathroom was also quite spacious, with a bath and a good shower.

Breakfast was buffet style and you could help yourself to a range of hot and cold items. It was really delicious! We also ate in the bar a few times and found the food there to be very tasty too. Plus, it always arrived very quickly!

One of the best things about this hotel is the views that it has over the lake and mountains surrounding Killarney. It's in a really gorgeous setting. There are also many walking/cycling trails that start at the hotel and go on for kilometres through the national park into Killarney town (2km away) and beyond into the countryside. These trails were perfect for going running in the mornings!

My one main criticism of the hotel would be the fact that while WiFi is available in the public spaces, there is no WiFi in the bedrooms, and it got a little annoying having to bring my laptop out to the lobby to check my emails.

Also, when we arrived to check in at 1pm, the receptionist was a little abrupt in telling us that check in would not be available until 2pm. I thought she could have been a little more pleasant about it or perhaps have offered to take our bags or suggested food in the bar or something while we waited.

Overall though, we really had a fantastic time at the Castlerosse and would definitely stay here again. The staff, and the manager in particular, were really very friendly in general and we had a lovely peaceful stay in a beautiful setting!

Room Tip: Rooms 201 to 220 are on the corridor opposite the reception if you don't want to walk far or neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
I was delighted to see you enjoyed your holiday here with us. We are very fortunate with our lakeside location and was glad to see you took advantage of the many walkways and paths within the National Park. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in a very comfortable lakeview room with good sized bathroom. Breakfast each morning in the dining room with such beautiful views was a pleasure with plenty to chose from. We had dinner on one evening which we enjoyed though was surprised that there was only a set 4 course menu offered - wouldn't normally chose to have four courses but would have been good to have been offered to chose off another menu. The staff in the dining room were very courteous though a bit slow in bringing tea/coffee at breakfast and at dinner - had to go and ask a waiter to bring these each time we were there. Same in the bar we wanted a snack at lunch time but left after around 15 min waiting to be served, certainly would need more than 2 waiters. None of this though would put us off returning as it didn't spoil our short stay at the Castlerosse in such a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Lake/mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse hotel. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. I apologize you were not offered our A la Carte menu when dining in the restaurant as we do provide this menu to all guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the Castlerosse hotel at the end of July for three nights. Our party consisted of a combination of three families with children of all ages, and of course Granny and Grandad. We all really enjoyed the break. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, helpful, welcoming and efficient. We ate all our meals in the lovely restaurant where we could enjoy the view! At night we went to the bar which had live music each night, and the Castle Rangers entertained the children. Although the hotel was fully booked at the time the leisure facilities and pool never seemed to be over crowded. We loved the golf and the walks around the grounds. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments was was glad that you and your extended family enjoyed your stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Thank you Castlerosse for a wonderful.family break away. This hotel has SO much to offer so dont be put off by negative reviews. Perfect location...great kids club great food. Tried to prolong our stay here but hotel was totally booked out. See you next yr Killarney...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAZAWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!

Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 38 in Killarney
395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
2.7 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing