We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Nearby Hotels
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$232
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$234
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
US$273
US$242
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
314
244
86
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
244
86
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf lodgesthe cottageskids clubnational parkself cateringbasketball courtswimming poolleisure centrehired bikeshotel facilitiesview from the dining roomfamily holidaylake and mountainskillarney townfamily roomwasher dryerbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After looking at so many good reviews I was really looking forward to our stay at this wonderful!! Hotel. We very so disappointed with the room we received, it was on the ground floor dark and dreary just a double so made it smaller looking only view was of the wall of the swimming pool. I asked for an upgrade but was told there was no other rooms available. This room was very basic did not have a simple thing as an Iron I asked at reception during a quiet time and told I would get one no such luck. To make matters worse as we were on the ground floor near reception meant we got little or no sleep as Children were running up and down the hall all hours . People were returning to their rooms also, so noisy and doors banging into the early hours. So if its a rest your looking for get a room as far away from reception as you can. If I hadn't paid months before I would have left without a doubt. and stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: stay far away from rooms near reception the noise is terrible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilygCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
I have forwarded all comments raised by you with senior management. I was sorry we were unable to change your room during the time of your stay but as the hotel was fully booked at this time we were unable to upgrade you to a Lakeview room as you requested. I am sorry you did not receive the iron when you requested it as this should have been provided immediately, I wish to assure you this is not standard procedure in the hotel. I do hope this did not upset your stay in Killarney.

Kind Regards

Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from once again a very relaxing stay with my wife and fourteen year son at the Castlerosse, we spent 3 nights on a B&B & Dinner apckage which was excellent value. Room was with the lake view which provided us with a lovely view each morning. The staff in this hotel are so friendly and nothing is too much to ask for. On the food all three of us are now on diets as the selection for both breakfast and dinner was excellent leaving no room for lunch. The only small problem which seems to happen in most hotels is that the room was set up for 2 and not 3 so we had to ask for extra towels, cup saucer and tea/coffee not a problem but a way round this would be better communication between reservations and house keeping, once we asked they were immediately delivered. Once again congratulations we hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view - they are located the furtherest from reeption but worth the walk for the view and generaly quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. I apologise that you had to request extra items for your room. I have passed along all comments your raised above. We look forward welcoming you all back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is very well-appointed and is a great stay, with the only exception being a lack of air-conditioning in the rooms. It is all one level, so be prepared to walk great distances to your room if you're staying at one of the far ends. The hotel restaurant is beautiful, with great views and a sophisticated menu. The bar is very reasonably priced, prompting most of us to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment rather than venturing into town. There was live music at the bar and it was, as usual for pubs in Ireland, an appropriate volume level where people could still have civilized conversations while enjoying the music.

The rooms are very nice, with very comfortable beds and large bathrooms with attractive tilework, fixtures, and lighting. My only complaint is the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, which meant leaving the window open and allowing the bugs in.

Room Tip: Get a room which is somewhat closer to the reception area. It is not terribly fun to go staggering back to the room at night when it is seemingly miles away. If they have any rooms with A/C it would be a must in the summertime.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPNev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation and liked our lakeside location.
I have passed along all comments raised by you in your review to management.
I apologise that you found the lack of air conditioning in the rooms to be a problem for you as we endeavor to make everything as comfortable and enjoyable as possible for guests while maintaining a high standard and giving good value for money.
Should you be visiting Killarney again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Castlerosse Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Deciding a last minute break on a sunday morning to head off and found this hotel on line so phoned up and booked without any problems, absolutely loved this hotel , the swimming pool and sauna nd jaquzzi is fabulous...... staff are very friendly and helpful.... our room was lovely and very comfortable...... location is excellent with beautiful surroundings and a lovely decking area outside the bar xxxx would recommend this hotel to any couple or family looking to relax

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNIFER997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse. I was delighted to read all comments made. I was glad to see you took advantage of the many facilities on offer for guests use. Should you be visiting Killarney again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you both back to the Castlerosse.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Castlerosse Hotel is a comfortable, modern hotel and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our room was clean, cosy and had plenty of space. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available. The bathroom was also quite spacious, with a bath and a good shower.

Breakfast was buffet style and you could help yourself to a range of hot and cold items. It was really delicious! We also ate in the bar a few times and found the food there to be very tasty too. Plus, it always arrived very quickly!

One of the best things about this hotel is the views that it has over the lake and mountains surrounding Killarney. It's in a really gorgeous setting. There are also many walking/cycling trails that start at the hotel and go on for kilometres through the national park into Killarney town (2km away) and beyond into the countryside. These trails were perfect for going running in the mornings!

My one main criticism of the hotel would be the fact that while WiFi is available in the public spaces, there is no WiFi in the bedrooms, and it got a little annoying having to bring my laptop out to the lobby to check my emails.

Also, when we arrived to check in at 1pm, the receptionist was a little abrupt in telling us that check in would not be available until 2pm. I thought she could have been a little more pleasant about it or perhaps have offered to take our bags or suggested food in the bar or something while we waited.

Overall though, we really had a fantastic time at the Castlerosse and would definitely stay here again. The staff, and the manager in particular, were really very friendly in general and we had a lovely peaceful stay in a beautiful setting!

Room Tip: Rooms 201 to 220 are on the corridor opposite the reception if you don't want to walk far or negotiate steps to get to your room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
I was delighted to see you enjoyed your holiday here with us. We are very fortunate with our lakeside location and was glad to see you took advantage of the many walkways and paths within the National Park. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews