We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week in cottages - v. good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for a week in the woodland cottages in sept and had a great time. The cottages are very well stocked, very clean and the furniture while a little creaky was more than adequate. Bathrooms were fine, view was excellent. My only gripe would be it would have been nice to have a parking space reserved for the house as the night before leaving there was a wedding on and we couldn't get parked close for packing the car. Other nights had been no trouble parking Also on the nights of weddings the music could be heard in the cottages (we were in number 3) although it wasn't so loud that it stopped us sleeping but might be an issue for a light sleeper. Swimming facilities were great although I think they should advertise that you need a swim hat on their website rather than surprise you when you get there for an extra 2 euro per hat. Golf course had great views and green fees were very reasonable 10 euro for 9 holes.

The bar had a great view and food (burger, toasted sandwiches, chicken goujons) were all nice and reasonably priced however we felt the set menu in the restaurant was overpriced compared to quality. The food was nice but not worth the 32 euro each also we tried to order a bottle of wine when we ordered our food only to be told to ask the wine waiter. Despite asking for the wine waiter when our starter arrived (we were told there was only one for the whole restaurant) he didnt arrive until we were on our second course which is definitely unacceptable for service. However we were travelling with a 4month old baby and were given a great table with plenty of room for the buggy so it was just unfortunate they were understaffed.

Staff were friendly and there are numerous lovely walks available although it is a bit of a trek into Killarney town itself but the facilities at the hotel are excellent so would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes I was delighted you enjoyed your stay here and was happy to see that you would return once again.
I apologise that you had to wait so long for your wine order to be taken I wish to assure you that this is not standard procedure at the hotel and I have passed along all comments regarding your dining experience to the restaurant manager.
I was glad you found both the golf and the bar good value for money during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

The view from our room was of the 9th green(short chip shot away) with the Lakes of Killarney in the background. Great facility with very good service. We were able to park close to our room, making the movement of luggage easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Larry,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments of the Castlerosse Hotel it is much appreciated. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your holiday here with us and liked our beautiful lakeside location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in the holiday apartments, although yes there is an amazing view from the hotel, the holiday apartments are dated. We did it receive clean towels, servic to the apartments, nor did we have constant hot water, with the shower running cold not once but twice despite being told about the "booster" switch which you must turn on! The furniture is old and unsteady and the tv needs to be updated to modern age, if only to put on a DVD for our child before a sleep. It is too far from Killarney town to walk comfortably, again being reassured that it only takes 25 minutes to walk ( more like if you ran)! The only positive is that it overlooks an amazing view & the wooded walks/ cycles which we used are lovely. We love Killarney but would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amr1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I was sorry to read your comments I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay here with us as we strive to ensure each guest has a positive and memorable holiday at the Castlerosse. We have work constantly to upgrade and keep the Castlerosse Hotel and its Holiday Homes to a high standard.
The walk way which takes you directly from the hotel to Killarney town is a 2km walk we would normally say this would take the average person approximately between 20 to 25 minutes.
We do provide DVD players on request from the main reception desk should guests require one.
I was glad that you enjoyed our lakeside location and I do hope that your stay here did not hinder your visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Have stayed here 3 times on coach trip and love the hotel. Beautiful setting and comfortable rooms. The food is very good though I would have liked a dish of vegetables to myself - the portions were rather small for 2 people. Excellent breakfast. I don't always bother with the entertainment but always make sure I'm there for the O'Donaghue Sisters. There are 2 walks into Killarney - one across the meadows and one along a new pathway opened last year.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake view. If mobility is a problem, ask for one near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments, I was glad to see that you enjoyed your 3rd visit to the Castlerosse. I am delighted you enjoyed The O Donoghue Sisters they are very popular amongst our guests and always ensure a great nights entertainment!
I do hope to see you on yet another return visit to the Castlerosse in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My 3rd visit to the Castlerosse. It is a hotel I have always liked and would certainly recommend.
I reviewed it in October 2007 and was interested to see whether this time round any of the "niggles" I referred to on that occasion had been put right. Well, the main one certainly had: the main courses at dinner were now accompanied by a dish of vegetables that was not the same every day (unlike 2007). Yes, the ubiquitous mashed potatoes were still there every time, but the other veg did vary---including some very welcome roast potatoes when there were roast meats.
A bit more quantity would have been welcome (a pretty small dish of veg for two of us), but overall the dinners were excellent, with lots of choices of each course. Breakfast was a hot buffet which was fine except for the rubbery mushrooms (how about some real breakfast mushrooms instead?).
Unfortunately, the hotel still operates an advance booking system for evening meal sittings, no doubt due to the limits imposed by the size of the restaurant. This caused us a few problems in that we were rarely able to eat as early as we would have liked, and on one occasion had to wait until nearly 8.30pm which we felt was far too late.
We booked a room with a lake view, which I feel is worth the extra few euros per night. I cannot really understand those reviewers who have commented that these rooms are too much of a trek from the reception and restaurant. The distance involved is trivial, except for people with mobility problems.
Mulligan's bar was a pleasant place for a pint of fairly reasonably-priced Guinness in the evening, and even better during the day when there was that marvellous view over the lake to enjoy. We only sampled the in-house entertainment once, and immediately wished we hadn't! In fairness, we may have been unlucky: on previous visits I have enjoyed some of the musical acts, in particular the O'Donoghue sisters who unfortunately were not playing during our week.
Overall, another highly enjoyable stay in this most beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Pre-book a lake view room---it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paullally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel I was glad to see that you had returned to stay with us yet again. Regarding your dining experience I have passed along all the comments that you have raised to senior management for review.
I apologise that you did not get to dine as early as you would have liked in the restaurant on one of the evenings of your stay as it is a very busy time of year for us here, without the advance booking for dining times it would be impossible for us to accommodate everybody’s individual needs.
I was delighted you enjoyed your drinks while overlooking the magnificent Lower Lake from Mulligan’s Bar we do try to vary the entertainment each night and The O Donoghue Sisters still play here frequently I am sorry that you missed them during your stay.
I do hope to see you return to the Castlerosse in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel was a great value, especially for its stunning grounds and location, and it's proximity to the Ring of Kerry. In fact, it's on the Ring of Kerry, right near the Killarney National Forest, Ross Castle, and Muckross House (some nice stops when visiting the ring). The rooms could use an update, but were not dirty or disheveled. The view from our room was unbelievable, overlooking the hotel's golf course and the national park. The Irish Breakfast was also very good. There was also a nice looking pool and fitness area, though we didn't have time to use them as we spent most of our time in this area on the ring. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course. The view of the course, and the national park behind it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramonaruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes.
I was delighted to see that you and your party enjoyed your stay here with us and took advantage of all both Killarney and Kerry in general have to offer.
Should you be back visiting Ireland again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Castle Rosse Hotel review
Fossa Kilarney.
Firstly the setting and views are terrific,and it si located a few kms outside killarney centre
We stayed at the end of August for a few nights as a family of two adults and two children .

We stayed in the woodland colleges before so they met our expectations there had been some new finishes installed since we were last year which were welcome, and a new vacuum cleaner .

The cottage are comfortable and warm and we had a restful few days there.

We also partook of food at the hotel having a number of breakfasts and bar food the food was above average for a three star and the staff were very accommodating and helpful from the dining room to the bar to the leisure centre to the reception.

We used the leisure centre a number of times and enjoyed our time there.

There is also a children's playground, a tennis court and basketball area within the grounds and we enjoyed using these during our stay.
There is a very pleasant walk from the grounds of the hotel to the centre of Killarney about 3 km
.
During our stay there was a convention of vintage motorcyclists.
They were friendly and nice people however the motorcycle noise did intrude a little bit in the early mornings and the place was very busy with their convention but nonetheless it didn't detract significantly from our stay.
No internet coverage in the cottages-- maybe not a bad thing to get away from email:) - but some wifi coverage at the hotel

energy use on a fixed charge


If the CastleRosse Hotel continues to offer good value and service ,we will return there again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandclann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to the Castlerosse Holiday Homes. I was glad to see that you took advantage of some of the many facilities on offer to guests during your stay and found the food and service to be above expectation.
At present the Wi-Fi is only available in the hotel lobby, bar and restaurant.
We do hope to see both you and your family return to the Castlerosse in the near future David.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
783 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Address: Lower Lake, Killarney V93 VN5P, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £104 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing