We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I have been availing of the Seniors 3 or4 night package for several years and thoroughly enjoying our twice yearly visits to the Castlerosse. Last weekend we had a new experience. We took two golf lodges for 3 nights to celebrate a family birthday. Our party comprised 5 adults, including the 2seniors, and 3 children from 10 - 15. We ate the birthday dinner in the hotel on the Saturday but otherwise catered for ourselves.
This experience was just as good though very different from our previous visits.
I had thought that wi fi -available only in hotel lounge and bar- might be a problem but all voted our holiday even better for being almost technology free.
We had no difficulty in cooking all we needed in the well stocked kitchen and we had a wealth of crockery and cutlery.
All but Gran and Granpa enjoyed long walks in the beautiful national park surrounding the hotel and the appearance of several red deer- 3 stags and 9 or 10 does- on the golf course just outside the window on our final morning put the icing on a superb cake.
The hotel was full,of younger children for whom there was a full hallowe'en programme so mums and dads could relax over dinner while their little ones were entertained safely.
We would recommend the Castlerosse to groups of any age group. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or lodge with a view of the magnificent lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Jean,
What a fantastic review. It is great to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time. Its good to note that the younger ones too advantage of the "Castlerangers" Children's Club and walks in the National Park. It is a great time of year to see the deer up so close too!!
Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just returned from another very pleasant stay in the woodland cottages @ castlerosse hotel. Accommodation in these cottages is a bit dated but extremely clean, comfortable and great value for money. Our 3 year old prefers to come here rather than fly to Portugal! Fabulous, safe and leafy bicycle route into Killarney. Leisure facilities are great and the kids LOVE the swimming pool because it has a proper shallow end and baby pool. So in conclusion, happy kids = happy mum and dad so we'll definitely be back! Thank you for your high standard of customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EaMann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted to see that you and your kids loved your stay. It is great to see that you got full use and advantage of the facilities, and the kids love the pool. I agree the new walking and cycle path to Killarney is fantastic and so safe. Looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

hotel was really good - spa facilities excellent. room was clean, warm and quite spacious. long walk to rooms but helped to work of the buffet breakfast which was excellent - would have liked o see a more varied selection of fruit. staff very friendly and helpful, even when I asked for a fan for the room they said they didn't have any but would search for one. 1/2 hour later I duly had fan. views are spectacular. would certainly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Yvonne,
I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind words to the team. We will also look into our breakfast offerings. Hope you see you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We had our daughters christening here and were extremely well looked after. We were delayed but they did not rush us 1 bit, food was excellent and service excellent. It is very child friendly and the staff were excellent with the children. Special mention to mark who runs a great show.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank cpmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments I was gland to see that you and your party enjoyed your daughters christening day and found the food and service to be to standard. I will pass along your kind comments to Mark and other staff members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, nice spa facilities and good food. Helpful staff. Only negative is the long rambling walk to the rooms which are a little small. Nevertheless the room had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesW5719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Owner at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Jules,


Thank you for writing your comments of the Castlerosse Hotel I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and took advantage of the leisure facilities open to all guests of the hotel and holiday homes. Regarding the walk to some of the hotel rooms as we are lucky enough to be located within the Killarney National Park restrictions were in place as to the type and style of the building hence the long corridors.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again soon.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Castlerosse is a fine hotel but to call it a 'resort/holiday home' seems to be a misnomer. It is a large hotel with individual cabins/cottages, however, it feels like a dated hotel that happens to have a golf course, a small pool and sauna and jacuzzi, a bar and a restaurant. The walls are quite thin (as were most of the hotels we stayed in Ireland), the overall appearance dated and in need of updating if it is to be considered a 'resort', however, the rooms were comfortable and adequate, the location convenient to many tourist sites in Killarney (by car), the gas station, and the town of Killarney (walkable in about 20 minutes along an unlit wooded path). Parking is free if you have a car.

We had a pleasant stay here, however, we were struck by the age of the guests. We were expecting more young families and couples. I think a bridge tournament was being held the time of our stay, but the average age of almost all of the people we saw in the lobby, pub, restaurant and hallways seemed to be around 70 years old.

The front desk clerks - particularly Joanna - were extremely helpful, efficient, and friendly. Truly they made our stay very pleasant and memorable. The bartenders and waiters in the pub were also excellent and the food and drink were reasonably priced. The breakfast was sufficient and the buffets were well stocked. We booked one tour through the front desk - it may have been less expensive to have done so on our own, but a shuttle bus came to get us the morning of our tour.

The pool/locker room was very much like a public swim area in the US. Not luxurious, not paricularly clean, and smelling quite strongly of chlorine. The jets in the jacuzzi didn't seem to all be working, and the shower stall drains were filled with hair and soap. The young man at the desk was quite friendly and helpful.

If traveling back to Killarney, I would most likely choose a different hotel for my stay. However, Castelrosse provided all of the basic amenities that a hotel should offer along with very nice service. But if one is expecting a 'resort' type of atmosphere, I would not book here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl4evah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Ireland.
On reading your comments regarding "expecting more young families and couples" it is currently school term here in Ireland so family breaks have now ended, during the summer months and all other school breaks we run many activities including our Castle Rangers kids camp which runs daily and includes many different activities for the children to allow the adults enjoy their break!
I was glad to see you took advantage of our leisure club and got to relax in our 20m swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi we also have a gym on site for our guests to use at leisure. We have actually just begun to redecorate the changing rooms and I do apologise for the drainage problems which occurred during your stay and we will ensure to have this matter solved.
I will ensure to pass on your lovely comments to Joanna and all the other members of the team.

Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, the staff was very nice and friendly. The room was nice with a beautiful view of the lake and mountain. The hotel's restaurant had good food and views, used hotel's voucher so it was a good deal. Easy to get to the national park and ring of kerry.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamelam515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Pamela,

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I was glad to see you enjoyed our location and lake and mountain views.
The hotel vouchers which offer reduced rates in our restaurant have been a great successes I was delighted to see you found the food in the hotel to be to your liking.
I look forward to coming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
13.7 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
44 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
582 reviews
17.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 39 in Killarney
421 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 39 in Killarney
2,256 reviews
16.5 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £93 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing