We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Large room, comfortable double bed & single bed, unbelievably fantastic view of golf course, mountains, lake from west window facing golf course, very clean, hot water, nice bar/breakfast room, elegant dining room, very good menu & food,excellent service, Murphy's Stout & many,many others on tap. Internet access limited to main hotel itself, none in room. Asked about laundry service locally (Killarney) when checking out (they do have sendout service but we were too late for that) No launderettes in town. The manager was extremely helpful about this. Nice starting point for visit to Dingle Peninsula or Ring of Kerry

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the team members.

It is a pity you did not have time for us to organise your laundry, it is a same day service but we would need to have it in the morning and it would be returned by evening. I hope you enjoyed the Murphys Stout and the trips around the ring of Kerry and to Dingle.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in the holiday bungalows.
They are equipped with everything you could want and were spotlessly clean when we arrived.
Heating is great and the hot water is on a timer which we couldn't figure out how to adjust but morning showers were fine.
The locality and scenery and proximity to the Gap of Dunloe and Killarney is great too.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to see that you went to the Gap of Dunloe and other scenic spots, it really is a lovely area.
I was however disappointed to note that you had difficulty with the timer for the water, if you had let us know we could have gladly assisted you it adjusting the times to suit your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went here with the kids for a midweek break.The room was basic enough,but it was clean and it did have a fabulous view of the lake and mountains.The hotel has a nice leisure centre which the kids loved.The food in the hotel was good,we had both breakfast and dinner in the hotel.The dining room has stunning views of the lake and mountains.The kids club was great.The hotel has a nice relaxed feel to it,which is great when you have young children!Overall,the hotel was good value and we really enjoyed the break.Hope to return at some stage in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very fortunate to have such fantastic views of the lakes, mountains and National Park. I am also glad to see that the kids got to use pool and to avail of the children programmes and activities.
More special offers can be found on our website or on our Facebook page. Hope to meet you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

we really enjoy staying here in the bungalows at castleross .we havd been going here for a
number of years .while the houses are now a bit dated they are always very clean and there is never a problem getting clean towels or bed linen if required just ask ! staff are very nice and helpful and the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Bernie,
I am glad to here you enjoyed your stay again with us and I will pass on your kind words to the team. Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I have been availing of the Seniors 3 or4 night package for several years and thoroughly enjoying our twice yearly visits to the Castlerosse. Last weekend we had a new experience. We took two golf lodges for 3 nights to celebrate a family birthday. Our party comprised 5 adults, including the 2seniors, and 3 children from 10 - 15. We ate the birthday dinner in the hotel on the Saturday but otherwise catered for ourselves.
This experience was just as good though very different from our previous visits.
I had thought that wi fi -available only in hotel lounge and bar- might be a problem but all voted our holiday even better for being almost technology free.
We had no difficulty in cooking all we needed in the well stocked kitchen and we had a wealth of crockery and cutlery.
All but Gran and Granpa enjoyed long walks in the beautiful national park surrounding the hotel and the appearance of several red deer- 3 stags and 9 or 10 does- on the golf course just outside the window on our final morning put the icing on a superb cake.
The hotel was full,of younger children for whom there was a full hallowe'en programme so mums and dads could relax over dinner while their little ones were entertained safely.
We would recommend the Castlerosse to groups of any age group. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or lodge with a view of the magnificent lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Jean,
What a fantastic review. It is great to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time. Its good to note that the younger ones too advantage of the "Castlerangers" Children's Club and walks in the National Park. It is a great time of year to see the deer up so close too!!
Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just returned from another very pleasant stay in the woodland cottages @ castlerosse hotel. Accommodation in these cottages is a bit dated but extremely clean, comfortable and great value for money. Our 3 year old prefers to come here rather than fly to Portugal! Fabulous, safe and leafy bicycle route into Killarney. Leisure facilities are great and the kids LOVE the swimming pool because it has a proper shallow end and baby pool. So in conclusion, happy kids = happy mum and dad so we'll definitely be back! Thank you for your high standard of customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EaMann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted to see that you and your kids loved your stay. It is great to see that you got full use and advantage of the facilities, and the kids love the pool. I agree the new walking and cycle path to Killarney is fantastic and so safe. Looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

hotel was really good - spa facilities excellent. room was clean, warm and quite spacious. long walk to rooms but helped to work of the buffet breakfast which was excellent - would have liked o see a more varied selection of fruit. staff very friendly and helpful, even when I asked for a fan for the room they said they didn't have any but would search for one. 1/2 hour later I duly had fan. views are spectacular. would certainly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Yvonne,
I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind words to the team. We will also look into our breakfast offerings. Hope you see you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
13.7 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
50 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,369 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £89 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing