We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter at the Castlerosse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Easter at the Castlerosse”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are just back from a two night break in the Castlerosse hotel. It was our second visit to the hotel with two children aged 7 & 9. This is one of the best family hotels we have stayed in in Ireland. The staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Nothing is a problem. Even though the hotel was crazy busy there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Our triple room was more than spacious for us & very comfortable. The facilities in the hotel are exceptional. They have everything from a golf club, to tennis courts, to a playground, swimming pool, gym ... The list goes on & on. The breakfast selection is very good & very fresh. We had dinner in the bar on our first night & the food was great. We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night & the food was super. Our kids went to the kids club the castle rangers on both days we were there. The girls running the club were brilliant, their attitudes & the way they dealt with all the children was admirable. We've been to bigger & "better" hotels & have not had the same experience that we have each time we visit here. Could not recommend the place enough for families.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the reception & had a high pointed ceiling so felt very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Amtrev,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted tyo read that you enjoyed your weekend and that your girls had an action packed time with the "Castle Rangers", I will most certainly pass on your kind words to the team. It is good to see you took advantage all all the facilities and got out to enjoy the weather, being so close to the National Park is an extra bonus!

Hope to welecome you back to the Castlerosse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    229
    78
    35
    27
See reviews for
307
172
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have just come back from my lovely stay at Castlerosse hotel, Killarney Co. Kerry. I was the chosen winner of a Facebook competition for a two night weekend away with my husband. We were greeted with a wine reception at arrival in our clean and spacious Lakeview room. The hotel was located in a beautiful location with stunning views and scenery all over. Staff were courteous, friendly and down to earth and always willing to help. The hotel itself was gorgeous and top quality and the food was fabulous. If anyone was looking to holiday local, I would highly recommend the hotel and the location. It was a fantastic weekend break and we will definitely in the near future be planning another get away to Castlerosse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Paula,

Once again congratulations on winning our Facebook competition of a 2 Night Break, we had such a great response and will do another competition in the near future.
I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your weekend away. It is good to see that you enjoyed the wine on arrival - just a litle touch to help you unwind!
I will pass on your kind words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Castklerosse in the near furture.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel with over 40 family members for a week-long vacation. We spent one night in a hotel room on site & the remainder of the week we stayed in a golf lodge condo style room. I have 3 children & coming from the States we are used to large beds, large rooms, etc. I was unsure what to expect in Ireland. Well, if that is a concern to you, don't worry! The lodges are fantastic & roomy!! Our lodge was 2 floors, had a complete full kitchen and a small washer/dryer unit. ( It took us a while to figure out how to use it, but eventually we managed! )
The grounds are gorgeous! We saw red deer by the dozens. We walked all around the property and enjoyed their playground, their walking trails and even picked raspberries from the bushes along the golf course. The kids were in HEAVEN!!! We felt safe. Very safe. The hotel staff was more than gracious to us after a long overnight flight from the States. The restaurant on site has great soups and light fare & a cozy bar with live entertainment.
We walked into town & also walked to a beautiful public playground with the children half way to town on the walking path from the hotel. It was about a 30 minute walk into town, so we took cabs mostly. The cabs were avail any time we wanted them & the hotel staff would call them for us. It is about $20US into town, so budget that into your stay if you aren't getting a car. $20 back too... we prob spent $60-80 a day on cabs b/c some days we went into town 2x. Other days we walked to town & walked back to save a little money.
Lots to see and do around the hotel. Big breakfast set up each morning. Never a dull moment, esp for the kids! They loved it!
Great restaurants within a short distance, a movie theater, bars, shops, etc. We also day tripped to the Gap of Dunloe from our hotel & the Torc Waterfall as well as the Dingle Peninsula. All amazing trips & worth going to. Castlerosse was CENTRAL! Lots of rooms and options for group travel, if you go with a large group. Don't hesitate!! GO!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorifromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Lori,

What a fantastic review. It is great to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time and packled so much in. It seems to me that you left us well relaxed and refreshed!

The area here is very safe with wonderful walks around the grounds and in the National Park, it is a great time of year to see the deer up so close too.

I am delighted to read that you went picking raspberries and blackberries, they must have been devine! I am also glad to see that the kids got to use pool and to avail of the children programmes and playground.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind words to the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Emerald Isle and the Castlerosse on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We recently booked and stayed in two lake view lodges to celebrate a family birthday. The location is perfect, minutes from Killarney and all it has to offer. The lodges themselves are great and had all we required. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Oran30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Oran30,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time and that the birthday celebrations went well. Killarney town centre being only 2km away it is easily accessible by car or foot, I also hope that the weather held off for your stay so that you took advantage of the National Park being right on our doorstep!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I attended a wedding reception in the hotel. Nice location, efficient and quick check in. Room had a lake view and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast dining area is pleasant with a view of lake with cooked to order options. Great option for this price bracket of hotel.

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the Wedding. I agree with you the view is stunning, especially from our Grosvenor Restaurant.

i hope to welcome you back to the Castlerosse on your next visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ringgold PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Large room, comfortable double bed & single bed, unbelievably fantastic view of golf course, mountains, lake from west window facing golf course, very clean, hot water, nice bar/breakfast room, elegant dining room, very good menu & food,excellent service, Murphy's Stout & many,many others on tap. Internet access limited to main hotel itself, none in room. Asked about laundry service locally (Killarney) when checking out (they do have sendout service but we were too late for that) No launderettes in town. The manager was extremely helpful about this. Nice starting point for visit to Dingle Peninsula or Ring of Kerry

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the team members.

It is a pity you did not have time for us to organise your laundry, it is a same day service but we would need to have it in the morning and it would be returned by evening. I hope you enjoyed the Murphys Stout and the trips around the ring of Kerry and to Dingle.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in the holiday bungalows.
They are equipped with everything you could want and were spotlessly clean when we arrived.
Heating is great and the hot water is on a timer which we couldn't figure out how to adjust but morning showers were fine.
The locality and scenery and proximity to the Gap of Dunloe and Killarney is great too.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to see that you went to the Gap of Dunloe and other scenic spots, it really is a lovely area.
I was however disappointed to note that you had difficulty with the timer for the water, if you had let us know we could have gladly assisted you it adjusting the times to suit your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
700 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing