We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cobh, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our second stay in Casstlerosse. Family weekend away. Best location for cycling trips, family orientated hotel, nice swimming pool and play ground. Fabulous views over the golf course, delicious food, rooms spacious and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff, you couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kate,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am glad we ticked all the boxes for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse for your 3rd family visit in the future!

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Myself, my 87 year old disabled father and my sister stayed for 10 days in one of the attached lodges which also gave access to all the hotel facilities. The hotel is lovely in beautifull surroundings with many safe and easy walks even when pushing a wheelchair, pleasant walks to Killarney just under 2 km. Food and evening entertainment in the hotel remarkable. The view from the restaurant and the separate Mulligan's bar would be hard to better anywhere in the world, overlooking the beautiful lakes of Killarney and the mountain range the Macgillycuddy Reeks.(boasting the highest mountain in Ireland. all staff extremely helpful and friendly and Killarney town very friendly and helpful for disabled people. A truly wonderful holiday and a heat wave to add to the wonders.

Room Tip: did not avail of the spa this time but have in the past and would have picked excellent. Also we sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valjoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valijoy,
Thank you for a wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy so much of the surroundings. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the team here, it is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse in the future and hope you will bring the weather again too!

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here in June. Although the hotel is a bit old and tired looking, our room was still spacious and clean. We had a marvelous view from our window overlooking the golf course and the mountains in the distance. The location of the hotel is great, as there is a walkway into town and plenty of nearby walking trails. The close location to town makes it quite convenient to walking and not having to drive the car. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the walking trails that run through the hotel property. Although we did not have time, thre were also bicycles for rent at the hotel. KKillarney is an easy town to navigate, and there are lots of activities nearby. Lovely stay in this hotel in this wonderful town. One of our favorite places on our Ireland trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Gabby,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you stayed with us on you trip to Ireland and got to enjoy the wonderful views and setting.

We would love to welcome you back to the Castlerosse on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my third time staying at the Castlerosse with family. We stayed on a self catering basis in a Golf lodge for a week long at the end of June. The house was clean and the beds are comftorable, but at night was a bit noisy as we have noisy neighbours, but other than that the houses are connected causing a little bit of noise it was fine. We had no hot water for showers on the first two days, but once we called reception they were very helpful and sent someone over to fix the problem. The setting of the hotel is wonderful. It's in an amazing location. It's about a 15 minute walk to Killarney town along a safe path through the national park. They're are a few paths leading through the national park starting directly on the hotel grounds. The golf course is stunning and has amazing views. The hotel offers WiFi in the lobby and public areas, but it is very slow and doesn't work sometimes, but you can use their computer for E1 for 10 minutes.This year we decided not to eat at the hotel restaurant as it's quite dear, but ate at the bar a couple of nights which was lovely. There is so much to do in Killarney and the Castlerosse is a great base for a great holiday. There are so many sightseeing tours from the ring of kerry, muckross house to torc waterfall. The reception are very helpful in organising tours and recommending restaurants etc. in town. We hired bikes which you can keep overnight and drop back in the morning for a great price. As an experienced rider I also went trekking through the national park on horseback with a guide, which is lovely & they bring along beginners too. Must say 'Four Star Pizza' in town is an amazing fast food restaurant when your hungry on a day out in Killarney and want something cheap, but filling and delicious. The kids club wasn't open when we were there, but it was fine because there is lots for kids to do from the swimming pool, basketball courts to the playground. The Killarney outlet is a great place for bargains and tesco and Aldi are only up the road from it. On our last night at the Castlerosse, we had a bit of a problem...our rood started leaking. We called reception and they sent someone over to take a look. Apparently it can happen when too much water gets on the floor of the upstairs bathroom and seaps down or something? it wasn't really a problem though as it stopped after a half an hour. So all in all we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Daisy,
It was great to have you back to us again and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are currently having issues regarding our WiFi, it is frustrating as we actually only made in accessible and free to all areas of the hotel in March! It is fantastic you enjoyed Muckross and Torc, with the amazing weather we are having it really is picturesque!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Our extended family stayed in 4 of the woodland cottages for a long weekend. The location is brilliant, you can cycle directly from the hotel into the national park. No need to go on road at all. The town playground, which is very good, is a 2km walk along a path separated from the road by trees. We brought our bikes & spent plenty of time cycling through the park. Some of our party hired bikes from the hotel. They really could do with giving all bikes a service. We had flat tyres, chains falling off, crooked saddles. Nothing very serious but when you're trying to move a large group this kind of thing really causes delays.
The hotel provided tennis rackets for use on their court for 10euro deposit which was good. Pool also was great for the kids.
We ate dinner in the bar on 2 evenings. It was fine, selection not great.
The houses were well equipped, with towels & linen provided. They could do with a little TLC but were clean & very spacious. Considering the price they could could afford to update (curtains falling, furniture bit shabby).
Because of the location & facilities I would really recommend it for families. Of the 20 of us who stayed everyone really enjoyed the stay & all plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Molcoll,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us on trip advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the beauty of the National Park. I will follow up on the bike problems with the company who supply them to us as they are a local bike shop in town and a fully fitting is normal provided prior to rental.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again.

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are looking for a rundown nursing home attached to a golf course, then this is the place for you.
Reception greeting was ordinary at best, rooms felt more like we were visiting an old relative in a nursing home than a hotel!! Breakfast was possibly the worst & unfriendliness breakfast we have ever experienced, so much that the second day we gave up the free breakfast & headed out.
The pool didn't even open until 8am. The hotel tends to cater to the needs of large groups/bus loads of tourists who obviously are used to this style of accommodation. Definitely not for us!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoots140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Scoots,
We are a Resort hotel that are competitively priced and market towards Family, Leisure & Golden Breaks. We offer a range of activities for all ages on site and with a wonderful location it proves to be an ideal base while staying in Killarney. I am glad you enjoyed your experience in Ashford Castle and the falconry.

Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
431 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel two nights on our tour of Ireland. I thought the hotel seemed rather old and possibly in need of some renovation. Our room was on a detour off a seemingly never-ending hall. As it turned out, one of our suitcases got sent to the wrong room, and the hotel employee I got to retrieve it seemed awfully put-upon and grouchy. We had a dinner and a couple of breakfasts at Castlerosse Hotel, which has a 9-hole golf course on the property, and the view out the dining room windows is pretty wonderful. The food was decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBowe, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Psychprofessor,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. My apologies in the “mix up” with receiving you luggage from your group. We are delighted that you enjoyed the view. It is a pity you did not have time to relax and enjoy a few holes of golf!

Kind Regards,
Mark Bowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing