We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stayed here for one night here and we were very disappointed with the level of service in this hotel. The lady at the reception desk was very friendly when checking in but it went downhill from here. The girl working in the bar was unfriendly and actually quite ignorant. Because of her attitude we decided to eat in the restaurant upstairs instead of the bar where we had planned on eating. Unfortunately, the two waiters in the restaurant were not much better. Before we even sat at our table we knew it was going to be a bad experience. They had no basic manners like welcoming you or even saying good evening. There was nobody else in the restaurant at this stage but yet they seemed put out that we were looking for a table. When we were eventually shown to our table the waiter left 4 menus sitting on the corner of the table and walked away. No such thing as handing each person a menu. It was a set menu for €33 and when we enquired if there was an al la carte, the waiter then proceeded to tell us that we could order al la carte from it. But yet we had to ask him what the breakdown in price was. Surely he should have mentioned this from the outset. When the soup arrived to the table it was barely luke warm so my husband sent it back. However, both of us had the pork for main course and it was excellent, very tender and hot. Another very annoying thing was the wine list. We ordered a bottle of Marques de Riscal for €24 which we thought was good value. However, when the wine arrived we realised that it was not Marques de Riscal at all. It was a wine called Riscal SL which is not in the same league as Marques de Riscal. When we mentioned this to the waiter he said that they use to do Marques de Riscal last year but they have not yet changed their menu. Again this should have been mentioned to us when we ordered it. Breakfast was fine. But why oh why do they have to pile the full Irish breakfast onto what is basically a side plate!!!!!! My sausages were under the bacon on my plate. Surely the hotel can use the dinner plates for breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was nice but just looked like a dogs dinner the way it was served. Having said all that the views did somewhat make up for this.

This hotel has a lot going for it with its stunning views. Unfortunately its staff are letting it down big down. What is extremely disappointing to see is that other reviewers have commented on the very poor level of service in the restaurant and bar and yet it is still the same. My husband summed it up perfectly when he said there would be people dying to have a job there in the current climate that would be more than happy to offer a friendly welcome and good service to guests. If the hotel can sort this they will be guaranteed return custom. Unfortunately for us, it is the service that will put us off returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hollie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Dear Hollie2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here at the Castlerosse. I regret that you found our staff unhelpful in the Bar and Restaurant we do however provide both a dinner menu and full A La Carte Menu in our Restaurant with a complete price listing and am sorry you were not given this option on request.

I hope that your stay here did not upset your trip to Killarney, I apologise on behalf of the general manger, and can assure you I have brought his attention to your review,

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just returned from our third stay at the Castleross Hotel. We were on a golden oldies 4 night break, which we organised ourselves. The hotel is located approx 2 km from Killarney on the N72 to Killorglin and adjoins the Killarney Golf & Fishing Club where the 2010 Irish Open was recently held.
The hotel has its own 9 hole golf course and is in a wonderful elevated position overlooking the lakes of Killarney and the mountains. We had a good size bedroom with a double and a singe bed (very comfertable) overlooking the golf course and the lakes. The bathroom was also a good size and there was plenty of shelf space for toiletres etc.
The dining room is at first floor level and enjoys wonderful views over the golf course lakes and mountains. Breakfasts and the 4 course dinners were excellent and the dinner menu changes every evening which is great as many hotels don't do this any more. The choice of food was good with something to suit everybody and was well cooked. A bar food menu is available throughout the day. Free wirless Wifi is available in the bar. We did not use the leisure cenrte which is located at lower ground floor level.
There are 39 attractive self catering two bedroom chalets and golf lodges adjacent to the hotel and there are good walks in the hotel grounds.
The staff are friendly and very efficient and the manager Mr Bowe runs a tight ship and is very much a hands on manager. The golden oldies sessions which the hotel runs in April/May and Sept/ Oct are very poupular and it is advisable to book a table for dinner if you like to eat early as the dining room fills early. The hotel puts on events such as beauty demonstration, flower arranging music in the evenings and a free bus tour to the Gap of Dunloe and Muckross House/Killarney National Park.
The hotel gets a lot of repeat business from golden oldies, golfers and families in the self catering cottages. I am at a loss to understand why the hotel is only ranked 32 out of 40 hotels in Killanrey on Trip Advisor, I think that it is probably that the last review of this hotel date back to 2006/2007. We will certainly be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David'snews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear David's News,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a relaxing time.

We have been organising Golden Breaks in the Spring and Autumn for 15 years now and they are more popular than ever, with a huge amount of repeat business as you have noticed!

We look forward to seeing you in the Castlerosse again next year,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed last week on a 3 day midweek break at this Hotel and all I can say it that they have the product 100% right. We stayed in the main hotel which has excellent views of the lower lake and is surrounded by a lovely little 9 hole golf course. The food for Breakfast was excellent however if you want to avoid the rush I recommend you get up early. For dinner we were treated to a 5 course meal included in or package where the portions were spot on not too much and not too little just right. As for the staff nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear AmericanPaddy,

Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much,

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Castlerosse Hotel again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

we booked this hotel at the last moment, it was the location that sold it for me, the hotel is ok .nothing out of the ordinary every thing was clean and food was just fine ,there was something missing , the wow factor, the pool was very cold maybe the lake would be warmer to swim in, got it cheap, but if i paid big money for it i would not be happy .went to get a treatment in the spa and was told you had to book in advance as there was no one on duty and only comes in if need.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear CathIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Castlerosse.
I regret that you found the swimming pool cold, we maintain the pool at the recommended temperatures and find that guests, I apologise that you were inconvenienced by not being able to get a walk-in appointment at the treatment rooms, it is hotel policy that advance booking is required.

We value all comments received by our guests, and all are considered by management,

We would love to see you in the Castlerosse again soon,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Killarney is my favourite town to visit and this year we headed down to watch the Irish Open. We went without booking and realised that the Castlerosse Hotel was right beside where the Irish Open was being held. We enquired about room availability and luckily they were not quite booked out and the room rate was fantastic so we stayed.

The staff were so friendly and courteous and the Manager was an absolute gentleman and made you feel like you were old friends. The rooms were perfect, no complaints there, and 'Mulligans Bar' downstairs had huge windows giving you the most wonderful view of the lake and mountains. There was also a terrace outside where you could sit and sip a glass of wine or sink a pint of guinness in total peace.

There is a swimming pool and it looked like you could rent out small chalets which are perfect if you have children. The place is so big that they could run around in total safety yet not disturb the adults - the place is perfect for all age groups.

The town of Killarney is 2.5km away, and you can either get a taxi which comes in around five minutes and costs very little, or you can walk through the parklands and will be in the town centre in 20 mins or so.

Next time I'm down in the south west of our beautiful little land, there's no question of where I intend to stay - first class!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taratrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Dear Tara,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much with us here in the hotel and at the Irish Open and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona hickey
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is a very family friendly location. It seems to really cater for families with kids - which is a good thing!

My only complaint was that the service at the bar was very slow and that we had a long walk from our bedroom to the reception / bar area.

The room was clean, well maintained and the breakfast was fine. We ate from the "pub grub" menu and I have to say my steak was delicious!

The views from the breakfast room and bar are stunning.

You can't go wrong with staying here but be warned there are a lot of kids running about and it may not be the ideal, quiet location for a romantic get-away. We did stay here though in the middle of the school holidays.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Janedub,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Castlerosse, during the summer and school breaks we are very busy with families as you noticed! Outside of school holidays, it is generally quieter and perhaps more relaxing, we feel that the children add a great holiday atmosphere to the hotel during the school holidays.
I apologise for the slow service you found in the bar, the reason for this is that all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order which makes it somewhat slower.
With regards the distance from your rooms to reception area, when the hotel was extended we could not raise it any higher (as we would obstruct the views of those around us) so to continue lengthways was our only option!
Once again, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you here again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Just back from a week in the Castlerosse Hotel and Golf Resort. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The value for money belies the top quality accommodation, location, dining and service. The general atmosphere is relaxed, efficient and attentive. The view from the hotel is breathtaking, and with leisure centre, spa, golf and playground there is something for adults and children alike.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Denwar,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us in the Castlerosse, we are very privileged to be located in this stunning part of Killarney, and strive to provide a high level of service to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay with us as possible,

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to stay with us again very soon,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey,
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
582 reviews
13.7 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
47 reviews
17.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
511 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
17.4 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £93 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing