We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Muckross Park for a wedding.

The venue was set in an amazing part of Kilarney with a great national park right next door. Lovely scenery.

The hotel also had its own bar/pub attached which served decent food and to a decent quality.

Breakfast was brilliant a great selection and also feshly made items from the kitchen also.

A must try is their homemade cookies, given out on arrival! YUM!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Past Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you had such a lovely stay with us for the wedding.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your check-in experience of home-made cookies, summer punch as well as the warm towels infused with lemongrass, our signature scent.
It is great to read that you enjoyed Molly Darcys, as well as our extensive breakfast options.
Set in the heart of The National Park, we are ideally located for exploring the world famous splendour of Killarney.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

We originally stayed here in November and had a fantastic experience. Could not fault the Hotel or staff. Unfortunately 9 months later the experience was not the same.
Room was not as big or as comfortable as the previous stay. The main difference this time round was the breakfast.
In November last year we could order breakfast from the waiter/waitress where it was cooked to order. No complaints then, but this time round it was a buffet breakfast. I thought this was a huge step backwards for the hotel. I have seen better buffet breakfasts in 3 star hotels. We would have not mind at all, had the food been fresher. However on the first and second mornings the food looked as if it had been lying there hours. We couldn't eat it. We just had the toast and pastries. Toast was cold. We just didn't bother heading down on the third morning and actually went out and paid for it in the town. I think the hotel really needs to look at the standards of providing a buffet breakfast to customers paying 5 star prices. To correct this all they have to do is have the chef/chefs cook smaller amounts more frequent, rather than at 6am and leaving it out for hours. We were not the only ones complaining, others were too. I did say this to the waiter but he said this was how they served breakfast. The pancakes were delicious, mainly because they were made to order. I don't care if a hotel is fully booked for partially booked with customers, standards should never drop to the level the Muckross did.
The staff can not be faulted, very friendly, charming and helpful. Food just lets it down BIG TIME.
Last moan, hotel room on first visit had a plasma tv, second visit room had an old style tv. Again very bad for a 5 star hotel. Sorry but I think we will try another hotel next time visiting beautiful Killarney.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelucky15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Past Guest

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
Regarding breakfast, the hotel offers both a Buffet & Full A La Carte Breakfast Menu.
Guests can avail of either option.
Indeed the pancakes you had are one of the items on the A La Carte menu, along with omelettes, eggs Benedict and fish of the day to name but a few.
Because we are a popular choice for golf groups & walking groups who are in a hurry to get out in the morning, we provide a hot buffet for their convenience. However if a guest has time for a leisurely breakfast, we recommend they order something from our A La Carte breakfast menu.

Our breakfast buffet contains over 60 items including homemade yogurts, a large selection of fresh fruit, smoothies, juices, meats & cheeses, a large selection of cereals & muesli’s. Indeed we have actually added many more extra items to the buffet since your November stay.

The hotel was completely refurbished in 2007, and the original building dates back to 1795.
All of our rooms are furnished to a very high standard.

I am glad to read you found the staff friendly & helpful.

Kind regards

Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

From dinner the first night, to walks in the park, to the wonderful connection the concierge gave us to a driver who could take us on the tours of Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, as well as a ride to Ballybunion for a round of golf, we enjoyed every minute in this beautiful hotel. Service, hospitality, and GREAT breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radiowave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Past Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
I am delighted you had such a lovely stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I was at a wedding recently at this hotel and loved it. We were staying in one of their apartments. It was clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. The beds were huge and really comfy. We were given a 2 bedroom apartment for just 2 people so we had loads of space! It was also given to us at a very good price. The food at the wedding was excellent. From the starter to the dessert, it was perfect. The breakfast was also great. It had everything you wanted in a buffet but you could also order from a menu. Every table also got a tray of scones, croissants,etc All the staff at Muckross Park Hotel were very friendly and helpful. I didn't go to the spa but heard it was lovely. I would definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorri84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Past Guest

Thank you for your review.
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in our Self Catering Apartments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Not a 5 Star!!! 3.5 at best!!! anyone thinking it is a 5 star hasn't stayed at many hotels. Gimmicky would be a compliment. The food was average to good. The staff were all great. Pub was a plus and seemed to be a big hit with local day traffic on the weekend. Overall experience was huge let down and highly disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel nor would I ever go back. There are much better places to stay. Sorry...just being honest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceanview21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Past Guest,

I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You commented that the staff were all great and the food was average to good, therefore we cannot ascertain what part of your stay you were dissatisfied with. However, we are very interested to know, so if you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to speak with you.

I hope you won’t mind us taking exception to your gimmicky comment, which we certainly do not take as a compliment. This hotel has a very long history as the oldest hotel in Kerry, opening in 1795 as part of the Muckross Estate in Killarney National Park. Since then, famous Irish people such as Daniel O’Connell, George Bernard Shaw & Michael Collins have stayed in this hotel. Muckross Park Hotel is an important part of the history in Killarney National park. The hotel style although modern, is in keeping with its Victorian period. Our Spa “Cloisters” is based on the Cloisters of Muckross Abbey located across the road from the hotel and our Molly Darcy’s Pub maintains the essence of a good Irish Pub.


If you would like to speak to me to give me further feedback on your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Geraldine O’Neill

Guest Relations Manager

goneill@muckrosspark.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel was reasonably nice, comfortable, but it shouldn't have 5 stars, or even 4 by many standards. I've stayed in many 5 star hotels in Ireland in the last few years, and this doesn't even come close. I appeared to have the typical experience, nothing really went 'wrong', but here's why (objectively) this isn't a 5 star hotel:

- We were not shown to our room, despite it being at the back of the hotel.
- There was no minibar in the room (there was a fridge but it was empty).
- No turndown service.
- We were charged for fruit in the room that wasn't in the room the second day.
- Room service breakfast menu not replaced the second day.
- Room in general disrepair, paint chipped and faulty wardrobe door (leaving an annoying light on).
- LOUD night club on the thursday night, audible from our room with the windows closed.
- wifi in the hotel is very heavily filtered, normal websites are filtered. Very annoying.
- Mistake on bill on checkout, nearly got charged an extra 80 euro for dinner.

This place has seen better days, I think. It may have boasted 5 stars at one point, but Bertie's name on the door should have given us the hint that it promised more than it could deliver.

One exception is the staff - the reception staff and wait staff do seem to be doing the best they can - our waiter for dinner on the thursday night (who was also at breakfast on friday) was particularly good.

However, I think our stay would have been an awful lot more enjoyable if we didn't feel like we were getting swindled. We value our time off and time away and are happy to pay for the best. However, this isn't the best, and it shouldn't claim to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrowadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear past guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I apologise that you were not shown to room – our Guest Relations Dept. endeavour to walk all guests to rooms.

In our Guest Directory and also in the Mini-Bar we advise guests that Mini-Bars are stocked on request and can be done at anytime.

I would like to clarify that we do not have a night club in the hotel. On Thursday nights we have traditional Irish Music in our Molly Darcy’s pub, but that this finishes at 11.30pm.

Regarding the wi-fi, unfortunately due to some guests downloading very high volumes of data, this was preventing other guests from being able to access wi-fi, therefore we had to put some restrictions, so that all guests could access wi-fi.

We regret that you feel swindled – Muckross Park hotel offers the best value 5* hotel rates in Kerry and includes complimentary spa access, complimentary bicycles & complimentary daily guided walks in the National Park for all our guests.

Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I wish we couLd have stayed longer. This hotel is worth the 5 stars. Loved the breakfast (great variety with cooked options from kitchen included) staff and room. Just down the road is muckross house and gardens and torc waterfall. Pub next door is great for dinner

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Past Guest

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful visit. Our enviable location in the heart of the National Park certainly makes exploring the magic of Muckross and Torc Waterfall very easy.

Set in the heart of Killarney's National Park, The Muckross Park Hotel is a great location for guests wanting to explore its beauty. We provide complimentary bikes for our guests, as well as a complimentary guided walk each morning. Given the beautiful weather recently I am delighted that you got a chance to explore this gem on our door-step.

Molly Darcys Irish Bar and Restaurant prides itself in serving the best of local produce, and the Irish Nights every Tuesday and Thursday are great fun. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed Mollys.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our wide and varied breakfast menu and G.B. Shaws Fine Dining Restaurant, under Head Chef Mike Hayes, was recently awarded an AA Rosette award of Excellence for Food And Service.



I look forward to welcoming you back to Muckross Park in the future
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,393 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,362 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £142 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing