We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Definition of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Definition of Class”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I write this review while walking out the Cloisters Spa's doors. So, you can be sure that the experience is fresh in my mind. I couldn't wait to share this extraordinary find; it is that good. The Cloisters Spa is the definition of class. The staff go about their work with the greatest of expertise, tact and cordiality. Only whispers could be heard from them at all times. Sabrina, a 9 year veteran to massage work, is a credit to the Spa and her profession. Decor and interior design are exquisitely classical and regal. The range of facilities and treatments seem endless. I experienced calm when walking through the doors and complete refreshment upon walking out.

Room Tip: Again, Sabrina at the Cloisters Spa is highly recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snkean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    227
    129
    48
    23
See reviews for
237
860
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel gets better and better. My husband and I have a special love for this hotel and it is our favourite hotel. Arrived for a 2 night stay and were upgraded upon arrival to my favourite suite.
Menu in Molly Darcy was changed, since our last stay and I didn't think it was possible to improve perfection, but Muckross did just that. Caroline at reception was exceptional.
Cannot wait to go back again soon. Keep up the amazing work

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Corky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a good place to be - wonderful service at the hotel. The hotel staff are very welcoming and the room was amazing. We ate at their pub and had one of the nicest waiters of the entire trip. Check out the small, cozy bar in the back of the first floor with the fireplace. We had the entire bar to ourselves one night even.
The spa is a must do if you can, we had a couples massage and relaxed in the pool area. If I had one place to revisit in Ireland this would be the place I'd go back to.
The waterfall which is right down the road and the gardens across the road really add to the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyntema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we had a fantastic stay in Killarney but were a little disappointed with our accommodation. As we paid 5 star prices we felt this hotel did not offer this experience. Admittedly I prefer more contemporary than old world but dirty curtains around a four post bed and rips in bed covers and a dirty fridge to name a few as well mosaics falling off in the in the steam room (which actually ripped my shorts) their seemed to be many of these little let downs. The staff were wonderful I must say but I guess they need to upgrade their rooms or downgrade their status. People should be aware it's about a 10 minute drive to Killarney and its not actually in the national park although just across the busy road,but I don't think it offers any fabulous views. Breakfast was very good and again great staff. Dinner was a bit fussy but that's what they offer and I knew that going. All in all I don't think it's a great place to go with kids-their is no play room (I was not told otherwise but just noting it) - but again I don't think it's a market they are looking

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infinity1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munford, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Muckross Park Hotel was our second stop on our honeymoon trip. We stayed here three nights. The hotel itself was very nice and clean with plenty of amenities. The location was good for us, being close to the park and lots of outdoor attractions, although some might prefer something closer to Killarney town. There seemed to be a stuck up attitude from the hotel's reception and restaurant staff, but everyone else (porters, housekeeping, spa staff) were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh, and the menu choices were very good. Rooms were very clean and well stocked. Wifi was not working for most of our stay, and cellular reception was spotty at best. While this was mainly just an inconvenience for us, it could be a major problem for some people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waylon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in 4 places in Ireland and this one tops the charts. Teddy was super nice he took our bags up for us and was a joy to talk to he made us laugh alot. This place was just Beautiful in the best location ever. You just pull out to the right and that starts your Ring of Kerry drive which was the absolute Highlight of the entire trip. We also walked across the road to the park and enjoyed everything there, the muckross house, lakes, waterfall, forest, etc... Went to Molly Darcys Pub located in the Hotel and it was great. Ate there both nights and on Tuesday night they had singers and dancers, food was excellent and some locals hang out there and they were super nice to talk to. Breakfast was also very good. Room was super nice, not a good view but i didnt care about that not in the room long enough to be looking out the window. Very very nice place 5 star rating for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Despite the rainy weather that prevented us from doing so many of the activities around Killarney, we were instead able to take full advantage of the excellent hotel facilities. From afternoon tea to a relaxing few hours in the Spa, we really spoiled ourselves. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. All hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and made our stay that bit more special. We will definitely return and highly recommend! Paul & Karen

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_laz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,994 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing