We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a quiet setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a quiet setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Although this hotel is five minutes from downtown, it is quiet, convenient, and to date, the nicest hotel I have stayed in in Ireland. Service was exemplary, food in the hotel as well as in the adjoining pub were excellent. The rooms were very Victorian or Georgian in decor and was the only place I stayed that gave me a sense of authenticity about the area. Excellent stay for couples.
Note: probably too far to walk to town, but horse drawn taxi's are available as well as normal ones.

Room Tip: Any room works. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    227
    129
    48
    23
See reviews for
237
860
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had our wedding reception at Muckross Park Hotel on 10th August and couldn't have wished for a better experience. The setting and tremendous attitude of the staff really did help make it the best day of our lives.

We booked the venue, having visited it and a dozen others in Kerry from London, nearly two years ago. There are some great packages you can choose but nothing is set in stone and you can pick and choose the best parts of each to tailor your day. The hotel were great at keeping in touch and responding to our requests and questions, with nothing seeming like too much trouble to arrange.

As the date approached we were invited for a fantastic afternoon tasting the menu which included plenty of wine! We also received increased contact from our coordinator Sean about how the day could look in terms of details. The venue was very accommodating with the timings of our band and entertainment and had no problem at all in us finishing in the early hours and switching our residents' bar to the beautiful Molly D'Arcy's pub downstairs.

On the morning of the big day, Sean met myself and the best man in the Abbey Suite which was already set up and lent a hand in personalising the room with our various bits and bobs. His experience and expert opinion on what worked well where was very much appreciated by a very nervous me.

The rest of the day went beautifully, in particular the meal with our guests saying how much they enjoyed the food and general experience. The serving staff put on a great 5 star show with a catering manager giving the nod to bring out the food and clear the tables as a team. In addition to this, all the staff were in great spirits during the event frequently asking if we were having a good day and if there was anything they could do for us. Also and what I didn't know until the following day was that my bride, on the two occasions she found herself by the bar, wasn't allowed to pay for a drink with the bar staff saying to her not to worry about it - tremendous hospitality.

I really can't recommend the hotel highly enough to anyone considering holding their wedding there. There are so many other things I could include in this review like the complimentary use of the beautiful spa for all guests; our free anniversary stay next year; the beautiful honeymoon suite stocked with wine and chocolates; the local journalist who turned up to snap us for the paper; I could go on. Mostly I felt like we weren't just customers for the weekend but rather that the staff were genuinely warm and friendly and concerned with us having the best day of our lives - it really was and I can only extend a heartfelt thanks to Sean and the team for helping making it so.

Room Tip: We asked for Molly D'Arcys (the fantastic pub attached to the hotel) as our residents bar in whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked the spa for myself and my mum, on their offer of full exfoliation, full massage, express facial and afternoon tea - all for 119 euro. The Cloisters Spa is beautiful and from the pools to steam room and outdoor tub it was lovely. Mary, my therapist was great and gave the best massage I've ever had. I simply could not fault this spa even if I tried. To top off the day we had afternoon tea in the bar/lounge and sat there for over an hour in the most beautiful setting in front of the fire. From the outside you would not think that this was really a 5 star hotel but it is one of the best i've been to in Kerry. My family are from Killarney and I know most of the hotels and restaurants in and around the town and I would have no problem in recommending this one.

Room Tip: If going to the spa, check out the offers, they're well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is just gorgeous. We've stayed there before (Oct 2012) and loved it. This time we were there for 3 nights and it was even better than last year. The rooms are stunning, breakfast is fab. Everything you could want is available. We ate in the restaurant one night - wow!!! Mike and his team do a great job, and James is so helpful and welcoming.
We loved Molly Darcy's and the fish and chips there is lovely!
Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We attended a friend's wedding on 10th of August and booked in for 2 nights.
Where do I begin?
From the minute we arrived to the minute we checked out we were made to feel special and nothing was too much trouble. The champagne reception, meal and supper were EXCELLENT, the serving staff being very attentive. The attitude and friendliness of everyone (regardless of their position) that we encountered during our stay was brilliant. Our room was amazing and spotlessly clean. Both mornings breakfast offered us a huge variety of choices, and even though arriving a touch late the morning after the wedding, we weren't made to feel at all rushed. Unfortunately we ran out of time and didn't get to use the spa (maybe next time!)
This hotel certainly deserves it's 5 stars! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great food--the only hotel in Ireland on our trip that had air-conditioned guest rooms and wash cloths! The towels and bathrobes were wonderful and the room was very well-appointed. We were there with a group of singers from the US--it was our favorite hotel in Ireland!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing