We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love this hotel,this stay was our second and even better than the first!the staff honestly cannot do enough for you which was very much appreciated as both myself and my fiancé work in hotels.my fiancé proposed to me on our second day and the staff did everything they could to help him plan it.we ate in the restaurant one of the nights and I can honestly say it was the best three course meal we have eaten to date,absolutely delicious and the staff were very professional.breakfast was also delicious both mornings.its impossible to fault this hotel,can't wait to return next year!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank brandy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Muckross Park Hotel on honeymoon, and cannot say enough about it. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was pure luxury. Very comfortable bed, TV in bedroom, another TV in sitting room area, huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath & separate shower & toilet cubicles, bath robes, slippers, complimentary bottles of water, chocolates on our pillows each evening! Decor was lovely, room was spotless, other than for the fact that some dirt came out of the spouts in the jacuzzi bath when turned on at first. Staff throughout the hotel from reception, restaurant, bar, maintenance & cleaning staff were all very welcoming & chatty, and could not do enough for us. Molly Darcy's bar has a lovely country feel to it, with enjoyable evening entertainment. Special mention must be given to the chicken wings which were yummy!! The hotel is in the middle of the Killarney National Park, with pedestrian entrances right across the road. Views in the park are outstanding. The spa itself is not the best I have ever been to (I can't quite put my finger on it, but it lacks a cosiness and comforting feel I have experienced in others). Having said that, the treatments we received (Cloisters Special - full body exfoliation, full body massage & facial) were exquisite and the best I have ever experienced, and superb value for money. I would go back for more treatments alone!! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBSAW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My sister and I booked the Muckross Park Hotel via Expedia a month and a half before our Saturday and Sunday night stay. We arrived at around 6 PM on Saturday evening and were told that they had overbooked the hotel that night. We (and one other party) were forced to stay somewhere else. They did check around and booked us into another hotel in Killarney, but it was definitely a downgrade. We were very frustrated and upset, and it basically ruined our first night in Killarney. Fortunately, they were able to get us in on Sunday night, and they gave us a free room upgrade. They tried to make us feel better (and we did), but the Saturday night experience outweighed the Sunday night upgrades.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Past Guest,


We sincerely apologise for having to book you out for 1 night. We do our utmost to avoid such situations. By way of apology, I understand that you were upgraded to the Presidential Suite on the 2nd night with complimentary dinner for two. I apologise again for the inconvenience & upset caused.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel before for a wedding so it was a quick visit. When we came across a special offer for 2 nights accommodation we couldn't resist.

The staff are extremely helpful & welcoming.

The room was large & spacious & I loved the decor in the room. The bed was big & very comfy. Bathroom consisted of seperate bath & shower.
Was lovely idea leaving chocs & wine & water in the room for our arrival.

Breakfast was yummy, lots of choices for hot & cold foods, service was 2nd to none.

We dined in Molly Darcy's bar on both nights, service was fast & food was delicious with generous portions. Loved the setting & the Irish music that was played.

The spa is amazing! It's like a different world & I highly recommend it. The pool & steam room etc are free to use when you are a guest in the hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay, it was so relaxing.

We will definetly return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My finance and I have just returned from the most spectacular trip anyone could ever have asked for. My partner booked the Muckross Park Hotel and Spa as a surprise. What a surprise it was…On arrival at the hotel the grounds and views are fantastic, but it’s the moment that you walk into the entrance that you realise what’s in store. The hotel is absolutely immaculate, the spa beautiful but what makes this hotel so wonderful is the attention to detail of the superb staff.

My finance proposed to me during our trip. All of the hotel staff knew, and had clearly been briefed. They could not of done more for us during our stay. He proposed at Torc Waterfall (a five minute drive away). The hotel staff drove us down to the spot and had organised a champagne picnic. It was magical.

From the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff – from the gardeners, to reception, to spa, to restaurant staff were all outstanding.

The rooms were lovely with lots of added extras like chocolates, wine, robes and slippers. The breakfast was delicious with your very own pastry and jam selection. The main restaurant food was out of this world. Absolutely delicious! After four courses though, we were quite full, we still managed a macaroon! The pub at the back was a brilliant added feature for a chilled out place to eat and have a few drinks. It has a real traditional Irish feel. I'm a spa lover. I've been to quite a few spas now and the spa at this hotel was amazing. I had a massage and body scrub treatment during my stay. It was lovely! I felt so relaxed and revived after it.

We will definitely be revisiting on anniversaries and are even considering the hotel as an option for a wedding venue!! I couldn’t of chosen a better venue for such a special memory.

Thank you to all at Muckross Park for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently spent two days at Muckross Park Hotel in Killarney, and it was a top quality experience. The people provided us with a warm welcome and gracious service. The facility, including the spa, is of high quality. Excellent food for dinner and breakfast. A very special place!

Room Tip: We had a very comfortable room at a good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyandDon046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice welcome with the tea and scones. Nice room except for the old telly. Nice big comfy bed. Nice restaurant with good food and not too expensive. Super breakfast but make sure the porridge is hot. The spa is extra special, the treatments and the masseurs just brilliant. Thanks Grace. In fact all the staff were just great, helpful and friendly. Even the weather was good with the crisp air and the amazing autumnal colours in the national park.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £138 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing