We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing mid-week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed 2 nights B&B in the room 137. Very clean and comfortable. Very quiet hotel as it was during the week, not over crowded. Staff very helpful and willing to make sure you enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, the yew tree restaurant and the Monk's Lounge were close, a bit disapointing as I love fine dinners. So I had to go to the Molly's pub. The food there was beautiful, but still pub food. The spa is wonderful and the staff extremely efficient. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will go again as soon as an opportunity will rise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Domino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, right in Killarney National Park and by the gates of the Muckross estate.

On arrival we were welcomed by an extremely helpful and cheerful receptionist and concierge, complimentary hot towels, mince pies and mulled wine. The reception area and lounge are decorated beautifully but unfortunately the room did not live up to the same standard.

The room was small with a very dated bathroom suite. We stayed for two nights and on 3-4 occasions the shower was cold, even when put to the very hottest setting. The bath did not drain the water quick enough and so a pool was created under your feet as you showered. It was also disappointing to find that the information book provided was not up to date and scribbled on. For example, the names of restaurants have clearly changed since the books were first printed which was a little confusing.

Also, we stayed in room 101. This room is situated right next to the entrance of the venue where Christmas parties are held. It was unfortunate that we were woken at 3:00am-4:30am due to excessive noise and shouting right outside of our door as the guests were retiring to their rooms after the party. It didn't seem as if staff were making a big enough effort to move them on. I would suggest that other guests should be given rooms much further away from the venue and party goers should be offered the rooms next to the venue. This should not have been a problem as we booked well in advance of our stay.

With this said, I cannot say enough about the helpfulness and friendliness of staff. House keeping and restaurant staff included. They really were willing to make sure that you had the best possible stay.

We had dinner in the Yew Tree restaurant which was lovely and our waiter was fantastic. Breakfast was good, however I would have expected to have the full Irish served to you as it is a 5* hotel and didn't seem right to have to queue for it.

Overall we were very happy with out stay but the hotel is old and needs to be updated to live up to its 5* rating. Definitely 5* staff and service but unfortunately 3* rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor and up would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laragh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I would just like to thank the management and team for a great night in a fab hotel. The decor, the room, the service, the food and the lovely Christmas athmosphere made our night here really special. It was a real treat to stay here and I would highly recommend it. Special thank you to Ted for the tea and helping me with my bags to my car. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

For the last 20 yrs a group of friends head out for our annual Xmas get together. Sometimes we revisit old venues or seek out new venues.This year was to be a new venue & choose the Muckross Park Hotel.
When arranging the night out I approached the hotels reception & explained what I required.I got a excellent response, asked to sit down, offered a cup of coffee while they arranged for somebody to discuss it with me.That somebody turned out to be Andreas in whom i had previous dealings with in another hotel that we had visited in the past.
Andreas went to great efforts in planning the night such as options as to where were to dine,where we were to have our mulled wine reception,our wine options, & where we could retire to after our dinner.
As with past dealings Andreas arranged for me to call for wine tasting for the dinner & displays a great knowledge of wines.He always comes up with interesting suggestions & this time was no different.
The night itself turned out to be a great success.The mulled wine reception was set up as arranged which everybody enjoyed.At the last minute our numbers grew by one extra. A quiet whisper into Andreas ear,problem sorted.
The dining area was lovely Xmas crackers & all. The service & meal could only be described superb. Before the meal started the waiter described the four wines selected to the group which was a lovely touch & surprised us with a extra course during the meal. Presentation of the various courses was 1st class all being returned as empty plates.
There was only one small negative in that the piano in the dining room remained silent as i had been told that they would have it up & running on the night.
My thanks to the staff that I had the pleasure in dealing with At the Muckross park hotel for a brilliant night enjoyed by all with a special thank you to Andreas for the attention & detail he went to in making the night such a success.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JimBobJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights midweek. We found the hotel itself exceptional and the staff were superb. We took full use of the spa and enjoyed its facilities greatly. Our meal in the hotel restaurant was easily one of the nicest meals we have ever had, the fillet of beef was outstanding. We will without doubt be back again. An amazing few days in an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My girlfiend and I stayed at this hotel for our joint birthday celebrations. We had high expectations from the great reviews, price paid and photos. We were certainly not disapointed. On arrival we were greated with herbal tea and homemade biscuits, a fire and warm welcome overall. We had our room upgraded as we were staying more than three nights and one was available. The staff could not have been more helpful and were there for our every need. We were shown to our room by a lovely woman and our luggage was brought up to the room also. The room was very clean, spacious and looked really special.(With a box of chocolates and bottle of wine). The free Spa was superb. It has everything you'd want including an outside hot tub. Treatments can be booked in one of the many stunning rooms. After traveling 5 hours from Belfast we fealt really relaxed and well rested. We were lucky in we caught the Winter open evening of the spa and were treated to free food and drinks in the Spa. We had a lovely breakfast which was great too. The staff at Breakfast couldn't have done any more for us also. Highly recommended and we will be back. Killarney is also a beautiful place. The only dissapointment was that it cost €10 into the town and back again of an evening but the hotel itself has all the comodities you'd need. And the national park is on the door step. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Booking on their own website gains free spa access. Staying for three nights or more gets you a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. The staff were exceptionally friendly without being annoying. The room was beautiful.

The spa was very nice and relaxing. Decent size and nice to have the relaxation rooms so well laid out.

It was nice for once to go to a five star hotel and not feel it mattered that we weren't snobs and super rich.. we were this treated respectfully and kindly. The breakfast was very nice and same treatment from the breakfast staff.

Only negative was that the gym room needs work. The machines T.V's didn't work and the clock doesn't work. Minor issues to be honest. The gym was still clean, and well stocked with a variety of machines.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment on this.

Will gladly recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Bring your own MP3 Player for the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £136 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing