We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing for a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing for a 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Book a room for a one night stay this weekend, it was a Sunday night, arrived and was pleased with room and had a nice afternoon in the cloisters Spa. Tried to book dinner then to be told the restaurant was closed! Said we would have a drink then to soak up the atmosphere of the hotel but the lounge and snug were both closed also! Had to leave the hotel in the rain and we went to Molly Darcy's, adjacent to the hotel, for a drink and food. This was fine for a traditional pub in Killarney but was not a five star experience. Should be said that the food was nice and reasonable also. In the morning went to go for a swim before breakfast, only to be told the pool/spa was closed! (Open at 10am). When checking out, highlighted this with the reception, who was very nice and insisted we speak to a manager, unfortunately the manager gave the impression that he had no interest in what we had to say. we were basically told, "you should have been told about reduced hours of facilities when booking but you weren't, so". I felt he really didn't care. This is not a reflection on other staff who were very helpful and polite. No problem if we were told that the hotel was on shut down but we were not and we were expecting a much better experience. Two words to sum up 'very disappointing'. Five star standard? Sorry to say - not even close.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I do apologise that you were not informed that the restaurant was closed on the night you were staying. The restaurant is open 5 nights per week in the quieter season & 7 nights per week from 21st April. I assure you I have addressed this matter with my reservations team.

Cloisters Spa operates from 10am-6pm in winter and until 8pm in the busier season. I regret that you were not made aware of the opening hours.

I have spoken to the Duty Manager you dealt with and he sincerely regrets if it came across that he was not taking your complaint seriously.

I assure you we will endeavour to communicate our opening times better going forward.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    227
    129
    48
    23
See reviews for
237
860
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful weekend in Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Spa. All of the staff we met were lovely from Ted who brought up our bags to the room to Chris who sent us off yesterday. We used the spa facilities every day and it was a real treat! Food in the pub next door was great too. I would definitely highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

if your looking for the full 5 star treatment, then this is the place to go. we were here for a weekend and I could not fault the place for anything.
the staff were absolutely amazing. food was excellent. atmosphere great.

Room Tip: go for the Junior heritage Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed only for one night and had a breakfast there. We were very very tired when we checked in and had a great night rest - the bed was very comfortable. The decoration was nice and the shower was great.
The room was very clean and had airconditioning.
Great location - there is a fabulous Killarney park entrance just across the road and the old Abbey just 5 mins walk from the hotel.
Fiendly staff - helped a lot with info on local attractions.
Beautiful Spa,very stylish.
Only one drawback - cold buffet that we had for breakfast could have been better for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alfamarija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in February. We had booked a self catering apartment since we wanted to have a separate bedroom and living room since we were travelling with our son. The apartment was nice and spacious. The only negative thing about the apartment was that there was no internet available.
We didn't have breakfast included in our rate but we ate breakfast in the restaurant both mornings and it was absolutely delicious. The value was great as well since both the buffet and anything ordered from the breakfast menu was included in the price. The staff was also amazing in the restaurant, especially Maeve and Trish.
The spa is beautiful and relaxing and the spa treatment that I had booked was superb!

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff is very good and helpful and they go above and beyond to make sure that you are enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AveLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel many times and we are always verr well looked after.We love its close proximity to the park .We just park up for the weekend and walk in the amazingly beautiful Muckross Park .
The Hotel has changed hands recently and they have made some very suttle changes that have made a great difference to the atmosphear in the hotel.The Yew Tree restaurant is just outstanding in the quality and standards of the food and service.BUT the gem of the hotel has to be the most relaxing and beautiful spa we have ever had the pleasure of spending time in.The outdoor Canadian hot tub is great.
10 out of 10 to all the staff

Room Tip: My top tip is if you have not stayed here before do so as soon as you can.You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed in Muckross Park Hotel for 2 nights in early December 2013, was so disappointed. The hotel seemed very run down and the rooms very outdated and ordinary. We asked to switch rooms but the room we moved to wasn't much different to the first. What was most frustrating was to be told two contradicting tales as to why the bar in the hotel by reception was not open for a drink. Treated like idiots, one reception staff told us that the bar was closed for renovations while the other told us that there was a private function. So we travel from galway, pay that rate for a room for two nights and then are told that Molly darcys is the only bar open. We go to this bar and there are two Christmas parties on when we were told there would be none on this week. Don't get me wrong, we love a good night out and are no prudes but there was no way muckross provided the getaway it promised. The bar staff were very good however but the general experience was sub standard. Spa without doubt is absolutely stunning. We will not be going back. Sort it out guys and don't treat your customers like idiots.
Over priced and overhyped. Much better places in Killarney.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing