We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the hotel on Patrick's weekend. The friendliness of the staff at the hotel, vitality suite and the restaurant was exceptional. The food and in particular the Breakfast was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel. Julieanne

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    223
    127
    48
    23
See reviews for
231
847
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for mini break & can only describe it as fabulous. From the greeting in reception, to the rooms & vitality suite everything was top notch. The staff are by far the friendliest I have come across for a while, always greeted with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast the following morning was extensive from the buffet to the fresh from kitchen. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had our wedding in Muckross Park on the 8th March 2014. We would like to thank everyone at the hotel who made our day so fantastic. All grades of staff were unbelievably helpful throughout the weekend and are a credit to this hotel. They really do make this hotel a truly enjoyable place to visit. We would especially like to thank Decal for co-ordinating the day, he was excellent at all times and was in full control throughout the day. No matter what request we gave him his reply was simply ‘consider it done’. Aside from his event co-ordinating prowess Declan was very personal with our family and guests and made everyone feel at home.

From the first day we visited we immediately fell in love with the new Abbey Suite and the adjacent medieval atrium where we held our reception drinks. These rooms really are beautiful and provide a unique alternative to the typical event/conference rooms provided by many hotels. The wedding food on the day was delicious and was complemented by many of our guests (be sure to ask for the wild-berry ice cream for your dessert option). Many of our guests also had the opportunity to visit the Spa and were very impressed. Overall we really enjoyed weekend and would recommend this hotel highly to others looking to book their wedding.

Thanks you Muckross Park for everything!
Brian and Sarah

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor_Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Book a room for a one night stay this weekend, it was a Sunday night, arrived and was pleased with room and had a nice afternoon in the cloisters Spa. Tried to book dinner then to be told the restaurant was closed! Said we would have a drink then to soak up the atmosphere of the hotel but the lounge and snug were both closed also! Had to leave the hotel in the rain and we went to Molly Darcy's, adjacent to the hotel, for a drink and food. This was fine for a traditional pub in Killarney but was not a five star experience. Should be said that the food was nice and reasonable also. In the morning went to go for a swim before breakfast, only to be told the pool/spa was closed! (Open at 10am). When checking out, highlighted this with the reception, who was very nice and insisted we speak to a manager, unfortunately the manager gave the impression that he had no interest in what we had to say. we were basically told, "you should have been told about reduced hours of facilities when booking but you weren't, so". I felt he really didn't care. This is not a reflection on other staff who were very helpful and polite. No problem if we were told that the hotel was on shut down but we were not and we were expecting a much better experience. Two words to sum up 'very disappointing'. Five star standard? Sorry to say - not even close.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I do apologise that you were not informed that the restaurant was closed on the night you were staying. The restaurant is open 5 nights per week in the quieter season & 7 nights per week from 21st April. I assure you I have addressed this matter with my reservations team.

Cloisters Spa operates from 10am-6pm in winter and until 8pm in the busier season. I regret that you were not made aware of the opening hours.

I have spoken to the Duty Manager you dealt with and he sincerely regrets if it came across that he was not taking your complaint seriously.

I assure you we will endeavour to communicate our opening times better going forward.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful weekend in Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Spa. All of the staff we met were lovely from Ted who brought up our bags to the room to Chris who sent us off yesterday. We used the spa facilities every day and it was a real treat! Food in the pub next door was great too. I would definitely highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

if your looking for the full 5 star treatment, then this is the place to go. we were here for a weekend and I could not fault the place for anything.
the staff were absolutely amazing. food was excellent. atmosphere great.

Room Tip: go for the Junior heritage Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed only for one night and had a breakfast there. We were very very tired when we checked in and had a great night rest - the bed was very comfortable. The decoration was nice and the shower was great.
The room was very clean and had airconditioning.
Great location - there is a fabulous Killarney park entrance just across the road and the old Abbey just 5 mins walk from the hotel.
Fiendly staff - helped a lot with info on local attractions.
Beautiful Spa,very stylish.
Only one drawback - cold buffet that we had for breakfast could have been better for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alfamarija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing