We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

we were checked in by a very helpful staff member named James he went beyond the call of duty in making our stay a special experience. The spa and pool visit were fabulous great escape from reality. Had afternoon tea when we arrived which was loads for 2 people and really tasty. That night we opted for the early dining menu which was great value now the food what can I say about the food I can't praise it enough it was stunning the best duck dish I have ever had with the little touches (homemade sweets and breads etc) just added to a foodie's dream. Breakfast was also delicious. Overall we didn't want to leave it was heaven . 5★ to staff /food/spa/pool loved it

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    224
    127
    49
    23
See reviews for
233
849
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Price for a room is reasonable, and includes the most amazing breakfast! Local cheeses, fresh fruits, plentiful coffee (piping hot!), eggs, bacon, smoked salmon, prosciutto, gluten-free scones/toast/cereals, and much, MUCH more! Staff very friendly (Maeve is great!) and this is simply a great start to the day!

However, outside of the dining room, service was hit or miss.

* My room was right above the dining room, and on the street-side as well, so very noisy (the Molly Darcy pub, about 25 meters away from my window, closed at 3:00a.m. several nights). Thin walls within hotel, too, so even speaking voices in the next rooms could be heard at all hours.
* The room is VERY small for a deluxe -- the closet door where the drawers for your clothing are stops when it hits the nightstand (but you can't move the nightstand because the bed is there). So, the drawers wouldn't open more than 4 inches. You could put your clothes in the desk, though, since you can't really sit there anyway due to the fridge under the desk. Where do you hang your clothes? Well, in the closet if you don't need to use the built-in ironing board, but if you plan to iron, then your hanging clothes must be removed to drop down the ironing board or trouser press.
* Got my requested daily newspaper on days 1, 5, and 6 (out of 7 nights there).
* Got the hotel services guide the third day, so I could finally find out about room service to TV channels, laundry, restaurant hours, spa services, and other essentials.
* Some days the room was cleaned completely, other days dirty glasses left behind, hotel water bottles not refilled, etc.

Room Tip: Get the top floor if possible. The side on the road overlooks the park, which is certainly pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. From reading your review it appears you were allocated one of our standard single rooms, of which we only have 3 of
these rooms in the hotel. I apologise if this is not what was reserved by you. I would be more than willing to discuss this further with you.

The hotel also offers 30 superior rooms & 8 suites, so we have a range of accommodation options to suit guest needs.

I apologise that you were disturbed by noise during your stay and regarding the issues in your room, which I will be taking up with my Accommodation Manager. We pride ourselves in having very high accommodation standards and we take issues such as this very seriously.

I am glad to read you enjoyed our breakfast buffet & the friendliness of the staff during your stay. If you would like to contact me in relation to your stay, I would be happy to speak with you.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Email: sodriscoll@muckrosspark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killaloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for one night and that was enough. Five star?! Not in my opinion! The positives are the staff who were wonderfully friendly, extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Also, the proximity to Muckross Park, House and Gardens is wonderful - right across the road and an incredible amenity. The hotel itself just screams big, fake castle. This begins in the car park where you are greeted by the tacky castellated facade. The lobby is ok, if a little gaudy, with the entrance to the spa at the end looming like the gates of heaven! The decor is dated and appears to be trying to mimic that of the old Muckross House but just doesn't quite get there. The room was average. Again, the decor very dated, carpets were old and not at all luxurious. Our bed had medieval style drapes above the headboard held back with big gold ornate painted plaster/plastic tie backs, it was just tacky to be honest. The drapes were covered in dust when we moved them so hadn't been cleaned in a while. The bed was comfortable but average. The spa was nice but again, gaudy and tacky and there was an extra charge for using the thermal suite (which included among other facilities, a less than hot steam room). The bar in the hotel was closed but the pub adjoining was open so we went there for lunch. Food was terrible and way overpriced. Service was excellent and again, friendly. It is obviously designed for the unsuspecting tourist and is overkill on the fake, "olde world" styling. Overall, I am just at a loss to understand how this is 5 star, in my opinion the quality just isn't there! I fear for the impression this leaves on our overseas visitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetrip0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I regret that the hotel décor is not to your tastes. The main house of the hotel actually dates from 1795, with many of the original features still in place. The hotel was extended in 2006 to include many of the additional facilities we have today, such as the spa. Our Spa is themed on the gothic architecture of Muckross Abbey, located adjacent to the hotel.

We offer complimentary access to the vitality suite in our spa to all guests that book directly on the hotel website & through the hotel.

I also regret that you did not enjoy your food in Molly Darcy's Irish Pub. Molly Darcy's has built a strong reputation for serving good quality Irish Food & has just received an award for Best Gastro Pub in Munster.

We recognise that Muckross Park Hotel may not suit every guest, however we have built a loyal clientele who very much enjoy the hotel. We thank you for your opinions & feedback,

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went to Killarney with the entire family and had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff could not have been friendlier! They went out of their way to ensure that all activities we wanted to do were arranged and everything was done with a smile and with an incredible level of professionalism.

We would highly recommend this hotel !

Kieran at the bar is a fantastic asset!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We will be leaving the hotel after 2 wonderful nights staying in this fantastic hotel. We arrived Sunday the 20th and we were met by the concierge Teddy who went out of his way to help us settle in and was always there to help in any way he could, We were here to celebrate our 30th anniversary and as I had mentioned this when booking a superior room when we were shown to the room by Teddy we had been upgraded to the park suite and it was a fantastic treat, of coarse we will expect this on all our future stays and this is a promise we will return. To mention all the staff would be hard but from the lady who cleaned the room to the person who turned down the bed we thank you but two do require a naming first there is Arkos a extremely polite gentleman on the reception desk and also LInus who served us our meal and was also very polite and extremely helpful in helping us with our choice of food,to you all you made our stay so very memorable and enjoyable .

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the moment of arrival with warm towels on a slate through a tastefully decorated room, beautiful spa, delicous food and an incredible breakfast, this was truly a fantastic stay.

I have recommended to all and sundry and look forward to a trip back again soon. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Deserves each and every one of its five stars.

Room Tip: Contact hotel before and ask for a great room - if availability allows they will oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktiger676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very nice hotel, stayed in a superior room and it was really nice, old television tho! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa was excellent and spa access from the first floor is great. I had the vitality full body massage it was fab. Even if you choose not to have a treatment you can still use the spa facilities which is great. Breakfast in the hotel was the best I ever had, everything you could think of was there it was delicious. Will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing