We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
402 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Muckross. The front staff are VERY friendly and helpful with maps, luggage, reservations etc. We stayed in room #230 which was very nice and had a large balcony overlooking the stream out back for the spa. The bathrooms are large and have a great rain shower and soaking tub. The bed was very comfortable and did not have the hard mattress that other Ireland hotels seem to have. Breakfast was good and you can have it delivered to your room for a small extra charge. They are very prompt on the delivery time you request. The restaurant next door/attached (Molly Darcy's) is an excellent casual dining option and has great food and service. The spa is fantastic and the vitality suite is amazing!! Definitely a must do especially after a long day driving. If you book directly with them the vitality suite is included in your booking. Another nice touch is they gave use bottled water as we left to continue our journey. Overall a great hotel and we would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    223
    127
    49
    23
See reviews for
232
848
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballybunion, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited here with my sister in August 2013 and had really been looking forward to it. She enjoyed her stay more than I did as she made use of the spa. I found the stay disappointing. The hotel rang the day before to try to get us to move to another hotel, though we had booked WAY in advance. The bed was uncomfortable. The tv was ancient with a very small screen. There was only one bottle of drinking water in the room - which was dated with scuffed furniture and stains on the upholstry. We had a view out over what was either kitchens or laundry and finally my breakfast, an omlette, was small, shrivelled and cold - and so was the toast.
The only good point was the lovely friendly helpful porter. We were given bottles of water when we left - which was nice - but we could have done with them the night before in the room.
This year I'm going to Inchydoney

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EloiseJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Past Guest,

I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us in August 2013. I would like to have addressed the issues with you at that time. Since last year, we have made significant investment in the hotel including adding new luxury duvets & mattress toppers in all our rooms. We have also installed the latest flat screen TV's into all our rooms.

We provide litre & half bottles of complimentary mineral water in each room. We are more than willing to replenish these on request.

I regret that you were not satisfied with the view from your room. I am not sure what room you were in, but none of our rooms are near our kitchen & we do not have a laundry on site here at Muckross Park Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend . From the moment we arrived until the minute we left the staff were amazing. They couldn't have helped us more. The spa is great, the food was delicious. It was my first time staying there but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a three night break here for my birthday. I can honestly say I was given VIP treatment by all the staff. They went out of their way to ensure both my husband and I were made welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean a credit to the housekeeping staff. All staff are totally focused on customer care and ensure the client is happy at all costs. The breakfast is superb and dinner in the Yew Tree restaurant was excellent. As for the spa it is truly a haven of tranquility and like the rest of the hotel very well run. This was a truly memorable stay and would highly recommend it. Our break was good value for money and in difficult economic times management are striving hard to provide an excellent service. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Our room was a lovely upgrade to a four poster suite overlooking the blue pool river. It was a super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Gold Standard are 2 words I would use to describe the Staff and Hotel as a whole. Our bedroom was breathtaking. We truly had an exceptional stay from start to finish. The A-Lá-Carte menu in the Restaurant opened up our taste buds to a whole new world,just wish we could do it everyday! It was so hard to leave but already looking forward to our next stay.
Great value for money all round.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishJoviGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel deserves five star ratings the staff are are out of this world they cannot do enough for you the hotel itself is spotless the food in Molly darcys is great good selection on the menu.my only gripe is the decor in the yew tree restaurant and the menu is very limited. We will return soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in apartments for 4 nights. Apartments very dated. Decor old and carpet grubby and needs replacing. We chose an apt as we have a 12 month old and needed space. No hot water in the first night as the boiler was broken - baby had to have a cold bath! Keys repeatedly did not work and we had to go back to reception many times during out stay . Location is good as it is so close to muckross park. Having stayed in many other hotels In Killarney, I would not rate this hotel as highly as some of the 4 Star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cork500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing