We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were well taken care of. The young concierge gave us hot towels on arrival to refresh us, bags brought to room, receptionist explained anything we asked about, we were invited on a walking tour, had excellent food in the dining room and the restaurant manager was lovely to talk to along with the waiting staff. The pianist was well noted on nice music and the spa was lovely. We will return .

Room Tip: Had a beautiful four poster bed , ask for the deluxe room
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    224
    127
    49
    23
See reviews for
233
848
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel experience was incredible! The staff were all over-the-top lovely and professional, and all very helpful. We stayed here for 2 nights as they were fully booked for the remainder of the weekend - would have stayed longer for sure. The hotel was very clean and beautiful and all the amenities were above and beyond. Very close to the national park and walking distance to the abbey and Muckross house. I would certainly recommend staying here.
The breakfast buffet was amazing every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in Muckross for our wedding anniversary in June and we had a great time. Staff were very nice, I could not fault them at all, always made us welcome from the moment we arrived until we left, and when we needed advice on what to do in Kerry they gave us plenty of advice and options. Our room was nice and clean. We also took advantage of the spa which I enjoyed.We stayed there for 2 nights and had breakfast for both days which was a buffet but you also had an option of having something from the kitchen but we stuck to the buffet,which was delicious especially the sausages, one of the best ever!!. We had dinner on our first night there but the only downside to our stay I felt the dinner was a bit overpriced. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brigadear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland, Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

hi,we stayed last week,lovely hotel,they were friendly staff..good service,just a bit out of town,that was the only problem..the room was very nice and great food.nice and peaceful around there too.enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel experience was lovely. The rooms were spacious ( a welcome change), and the lobby service was great. Darren ( the bell boy) was charming and personable, with a quick wit and humor. The common areas were relaxing and cozy, and the breakfast was really impressive, although the dining staff was not the friendliest we encountered on our journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with regards your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your compliments to Darren who was thrilled to hear of his mention. Your feedback has also been given to all of our department heads and is very much appreciated.

If we can assist you with anything in the future please let us know.

Kind Regards

Danny McClure
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
394 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Check in was welcoming. Teddy the concierge was very friendly. Room was very clean, nice bathroom. Good view of gardens. Breakfast was great, good selection to chose from. Teddy organised for us to go on the jaunting cars around Muckross House. We were told it was 35 euros but were charged 40. It was roughly one hour. I loved this. It was really brill. The bar in the hotel is very quiet but John the barman kept us in craic. I also went to the spa. Sabrina and Sarah were very pleasant. I forgot my bathing suit and bought one in the spa for 20 euros. The spa is worth a visit. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
402 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Muckross. The front staff are VERY friendly and helpful with maps, luggage, reservations etc. We stayed in room #230 which was very nice and had a large balcony overlooking the stream out back for the spa. The bathrooms are large and have a great rain shower and soaking tub. The bed was very comfortable and did not have the hard mattress that other Ireland hotels seem to have. Breakfast was good and you can have it delivered to your room for a small extra charge. They are very prompt on the delivery time you request. The restaurant next door/attached (Molly Darcy's) is an excellent casual dining option and has great food and service. The spa is fantastic and the vitality suite is amazing!! Definitely a must do especially after a long day driving. If you book directly with them the vitality suite is included in your booking. Another nice touch is they gave use bottled water as we left to continue our journey. Overall a great hotel and we would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing