We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town location ... worth a stay.”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Arbutus is a hotel from another era ... elegant, warm and solid. The warm 'sit-down-and-let-me-get-you-a- cup-of-tea-with-brown-bread-and butter' welcome demonstrates the elegance of another age set in this small and older in-town hotel. Certain positioniong of the foot as you walk the staircase brings out a creak oof the solid wood in the construction. The real find Buckley's bar off the lobby ... especailly when the Irish music is playing. The loaction can't be beat either ... right in the center of town where there is still personality. Away from the tour bus hotels and traffic crowded areas. And leave your key at the front desk when you leave at night ... a throw back to another era for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is situated in the downtown are a lot of cute shops/restaurants within walking distance. Free Parking (but about 3 blocks away from the hotel). No wifi in the room we stayed -so had to come to the lobby to access. Friendly receptionists. The basic breakfast (included in our rate) was pretty good. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was old but clean. It was a bit noisy as our room faced the bar parking lot. Overall good value. Could bring up Bailey's coffee from downstairs bar to our room.:)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

a beautiful family run hotel in the hearth of killarney
free wi fi, complimentry tea or coffee on arrival,home made scones which were fabilous..rooms were very spacious and well equiped. will be back again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpool123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The combination of customer service from Shawn and Betty, the super comfortable rooms, the adjacent Buckley Pub and the central location in Killarney made this the perfect spot for our visit. We had originally planned to stay three days but stayed five because we were having so much fun. Shawn offered truly valuable touring advice and everything you need is within easy walking distance. Convenience store is right across the street, great salon is one block away (cut & color!), the guys rented some bikes about a block away to tour the Irish National Park, we had a nice, easy walk to Ross Castle, and the Killarney Riding Stable will pick you up right at the front door. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverByeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Great accomodations and service. This hotel is conveniently situated, and the service and furnishings are first rate. The Irish breakfast is the best we had in Ireland. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: middle room quiet but good wifi
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is an excellent hotel, with very friendly atmosphere
The staff are so attentive especially Betty, who made us
feel at home. Food, was very good and was served at
the table. The owner Sean was available to answer any
queries. We had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foleyjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at the Arbutus for 2 nights and were impressed with the original Victorian styling that has been meticulously maintained & updated. We were welcomed with tea & scones and the attention to detail by the staff was maintained throughout our stay.
A really nice experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collectandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 39 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 39 in Killarney
2,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 39 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
923 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#5 of 39 in Killarney
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £68 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing