We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff !!!”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff !!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2007

The room was just what we needed and nothing more which was fine by us. The food was amazing but nothing could top the service we got. Betty was a true pleasure to be around. She was engaging and entertaining. She made the effort to go above and beyond taking care of you.

The front desk staff were also truly delightful.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neen1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    251
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
287
562
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at The Arbutus and had a wonderful time in Killarney. What a great town, and the hotel was terrific. The lobby, dining room and Buckley's pub are all cozy and inviting and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was superb with lots to choose from and a perfect start to the day. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative is the room itself (#129), while very clean, was quite shabby and not what I would have expected from such a beautiful hotel. The decor and the furniture itself desperately required updating although the bathroom had been redone and was very nice. Despite that, I would definitely love to stay at The Arbutus again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Killarney.
I would highly recommend spending an evening in Buckley's pub, where they have live music most nights and lots of locals gather. People were extremely friendly and we had a great time there.

  • Liked — Beautiful lobby and lounge, Buckley's Pub.
  • Disliked — Room itself requires updating.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2007

We stayed in this wonderful hotel last weekend. The staff were friendly (especially Betty!!), the food was excellent, room spotless and the decor was refreshing to see.
We'd recommend this to people of all ages. The location is ideal too as Killarney's attractions are literally at the doorstep of the hotel.

Keep up the good work,

Conor & Aisling Tierney,
Cloyne,
Co. Cork

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Hunter2Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Arbutus Hotel, Killarney. Having read the many excellent reviews on Tripadvisor we had high expectations - and they were more than met. Our room (No. 229) was excellent and had a separate sitting area (with fireplace) and a great bathroom with bath and shower. We made use of the public sitting room in the hotel. The "real" turf fire was a welcome comfort on a cold wintery day. We had the great pleasure of being looked after in the dining room by the infamous Betty and her great assistant, both of whom went out of their way to ensure that breakfast and dinner was an experience to remember. Excellent service & food. We fully intend to arrange another weekend at the Arbutus in the New Year. Congratulations to you all, P&P.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank pmldunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I had a great experience staying at this hotel. the rooms were perfect, the ambience exceptional and the service was next to none. staff couldn't do enough for the guests!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank goosegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland RI
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Great Place. Very comfortable. Excellent hospitality-- like being a guest in your own home. Thank you Michelle, Ina , Betty, and Tim. Can't wait for next visit.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cumberlandvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2007

I am a travel consultant from Canada and due to the nature of my business I have to stay in a lot of hotels each year. I have just spent 2 nights at the Arbutus hotel and I have absolutely no complaints. The hotel is reasonably priced, within walking distance of the shops and pubs and the staff is very attentive. The beds are comfortable in comparison to most hotels in Ireland that tend to have mattresses a little on the hard side and the rooms are clean and well maintained. The full Irish breakfast is delicious and the hotel exudes traditional Irish charm. I highly recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Liked — The location and hotel room
  • Disliked — No internet unless you had a laptop computer.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spoiled5starTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing