We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming!”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming!”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our family of 4 visited Killarney and the Arbutus Hotel July 5-6. The accommodations are roomy and comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast in the dining room is wonderful, so much to eat and so many choices. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
beckyinaz

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Arbutus, we appreciate the feedback. It always pleases us to hear our guests had “a great stay”, when choosing us.

I will pass your comments to all the staff as it is a combination of good food, good service and comfortable rooms that contribute the quality of a guest’s stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arbutus in the near future.

Slán,

Seán Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    257
    42
    21
    7
See reviews for
296
575
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Arbutus hotel was just was was required. Central location and directions provided by the reception when booking were spot on. I arrived late (well early morning) but my key was waiting for me with the night porter. Parking is in a private car park about 300mtrs away but is limited to approx 12 cars ... big public car park close by with a €3 per day charge but free overnight up to 8:30am. Breakfast was good and Betty gave a great welcome on both mornings.

The room had small windows so the room was a little on the dark side, but as all I was doing was sleeping there it wasn't a major issue. The bed was HUGE (rm 217) could have slept either way !!! We had a couple of drinks in the bar which was good, we were told that there is trad music on some nights during the week but not the nights we were there.

Room Tip: If you want a big bed then go for room 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappakeelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
daveH_9

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your time posting your review. We are always pleased to hear how our guests rate us.

Parking is quite often a difficulty for town centre accommodations, but as you say we have plenty nearby either free or at a very reasonable cost.

Great to hear you liked the “HUGE” bed and enjoyed a restful sleep.

We hope to see you at the Arbutus again in the near future.

Slán,

Seán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A lovely old world hotel in the centre of town. Complimentary coffee and gingerbread in the drawing room after we checked in. The staff were great and very efficient. A definate base to see Kerry.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We went to the Arbutus on a weekend break... what a lovely place! Staff were fantastic... so friendly & helpful. Breakfast was perfect! Would have no hesitation recommending to anyone! Great location & very well priced! Thanks to Betty, Michelle & all the staff for making our weekend away extra special!! See you all again soon....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Manager at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
louiseennis,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your weekend break and we are so pleased that we were able to make your visit “extra special”.

And for your wonderful review – “lovely place, fantastic staff…..friendly & helpful” topped off with “perfect breakfast” we are most appreciative.

Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Slán,

Seán & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed 1 night in the Arbutus for the first night of an 8-day walking holiday on the Kerry Way. The Arbutus undoubtedly set the bar very high for our week. We loved everything about the hotel: the way the staff treated the guests and loved their work; the Irish Stew (to die for); the attention to detail; the fabulous breakfast---just everything. Thank you for your outstanding hospitality and keep that bar high!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Buists,

Thank you for your time in posting such a complimentary review. Feedback is always important to enable us to maintain our high standards and when we hear such lovely comments it makes what we do all worthwhile.

Glad you liked the “Irish Stew to die for” and “fabulous “breakfast, the staff will be delighted to hear your praises.

We hope we can share our hospitality with you when you next visit Kerry.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The best hotel i stayed in yet. Staff are very welcoming and ready to help were they could. I really enjoyed my stay here. The location of the hotel is very convenient. Food was great and I loved the hotel bar, between food, drink or traditional music you couldn't find a friendlier place. Would love to go back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
SuzLong,

Thank you for posting a lovely review and particularly enjoyed the bit about great food, bar and traditional music we pride ourselves very much on these, which contribute to making the Arbutus welcoming and friendly.

I am delighted to hear you will be back to stay with us, we look forward sharing our hospitality with you again.

Slán

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is my third visit to the hotel in 7 years, twice as a couple and once as a group of golfers. This must be the friendliest hotel I have ever visited. The staff can't do enough for you from advising and booking restaurants, to serving drinks, to the housekeepers and the dining room with the ever present Betty, bless her! The breakfasts are excellent and the rooms well appointed. The location for all the bars and restaurants is second to none. Many thanks to Laura on reception for all her help.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popesterNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
popesterNuneaton,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us yet again, and taking the time to post a lovely review. There is no better compliment than a returning guest. It is easy for some to get it right once, but harder to maintain consistency. We are very proud of what we do at the Arbutus and have been providing quality hospitality for three generations.

I will pass your comments to Betty, Laura and all the team and look forward to welcoming you back for your FOURTH visit.

Slán

Seán and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,176 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing