We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

very well looked after, everything great.From the moment we arrived we sensed that we were most welcome.The staff were very friendly,helpful and informative.A lovely quiet ,excellent quality hotel -no doors banging at all hours of the morning or night.Betty was wonderful offering tea/coffee on the house.Heartly recommended.Yvonne and John

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    258
    42
    21
    7
See reviews for
296
576
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

In August I spent four days in the hotel with my "Golden Girls" friends. The hotel was only five minutes walk from the station and right in the centre of town. We were very impressed when on arrival we were served complimentary tea with homemade scones and ginger cake. Fantastic staff, very friendly and good humoured and extremely helpful. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The food served both in the dining room and the bar was superb. We felt that all the quality awards received by the hotel were truly deserved. The traditional music sessions in the bar on Wednesday and Saturday nights added to the enjoyment. Looking forward to going there again.

Room Tip: better view to front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Arbutus had a very warm old-time feel. It was filled with antiques and warm comfy pieces that were shabby in a nice way. The staff is very nice and welcoming, eager to help or advise us.

Our room was lovely! It was essentially a suite, with a desk, table and chairs and armoire in the second area. The bathroom was SO beautiful. There was a fantastic deep soaking tub for a wonderful bubble bath. The stall shower was really nice, a little odd that the control was facing the door so a bit difficult to get set. Great fluffy towels and so on.

The location was great, though you have to drive to the main attractions in town regardless. We went to the pub and it was quite busy and friendly and the traditional music there was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We are part of a group traveling from Portland, Oregon, All Classical FM listeners. We arrived very tired one evening in mid-September, to be warmly welcomed by staff. By far, this is the most welcoming staff of any hotel thus far. The check-in process was extremely easy and the rooms a delight. There is a real old world charm about the property, including the canopy bed! The traditional Irish breakfast was prepared early for our group and exceeded all expectations. One side note. I arrived in the lobby at an ungodly early hour (5am) after our first night, to be greeted by the early desk clerk with a tray of Irish tea! There are no hardfast rules or hours to true and gracious hospitality. These folks do it right. BTW, the wi-fi is throughout the premises and is quite robust.

Room Tip: By all reports, all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicjack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel is right in the center of town. With so many pubs and Irish music, it was great to be able to walk back to our hotel. The rooms have been updated, with air conditioning in all 3. The breakfast had many choices and not just an Irish breakfast. This was our 3rd time staying here and we will continue to stay in the future. The rooms also now have free internet connection, a big plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel was nice and well located in the city center. The room was nice and clean. The only minor complaint would net the lack of a view from my room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel itself was full of character & 1920s charm. It had a warm & cosy atmosphere (helped by the real fires lit in the sitting room & lobby). Even more inviting than the atmosphere was the staff, who were very welcoming from the start & provided excellent service throughout our stay. The staff on reception were helpful in providing tips for places to visit on our travels. Breakfast was the highlight of the day (especially for the home-made Scones - thanks to Betty for the recipe) & we were always attended to well. The room was also cosy, yet spacious. Overall, it made our stay in Killarney very enjoyable & we would recommend it to everyone!!! PS: For Betty's reference, we were in room 130.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing