We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its best”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Warm, welcoming,cosy,and very clean is how I would describe this small family run hotel with great attention to detail.Myself and my husband and another couple stayed there for three nights last week and were very impressed with everything about this hotel, especially the breakfast menu which was served to us by Betty each morning.She was so friendly and helpful,as was all the staff there.Being right in the centre of Killarney it was a great base to explore from.I have never written a review before but I really feel this hotel needs to be mentioned

Room Tip: Was at the back and it was quiet
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolanscomeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear nolanscomeath,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Arbutus on TripAdvisor. Sorry for the delay in replying. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive comments regarding all aspects of the hotel are very welcome and I will pass them onto the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Regards,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We recently stayed for two nights at the Arbutus Hotel, and like others was greeted warmly upon our arrival. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything. The room was good size, although reading other reviews it appears some rooms have been updated, our room was not, but was very charming. The breakfast in the morning was delicous, and Betty was there to see to all our needs. On Saturday night we enjoyed the music in the pub, we had asked local residents during the day where we should go for some good Irish music, and was told that pub at our hotel (Buckley Bar) was the best place to go to hear local music. This was said without us indicating what hotel we were staying at! We can't wait to return to Ireland and when we do, we will spend a night or two at the Arbutus Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collegegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear Collegegirl1,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Arbutus Hotel and also for taking the time to write your review. Sorry for the delay in replying. Delighted you enjoyed the traditional Irish Music in our bar "Buckleys".

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

As part of the Gibson Golf group we stayed at the Arbutus for 4 nights. This was my first time tp Ireland and if this representative of Ireland, then they are a very lucky nation. Betty and the crew were fabulous. The food, the service and the location were fabulous. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmh060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Hi Cmh060,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Sorry for the delay in replying.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the Arbutus Hotel while visiting Killarney on your golfing trip.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

From the moment we walked in, to be greeted by the most friendly & efficient receptionist I have ever met to when, all too soon, we had to leave again, it was what hotels should be. A wonderful warm athmosphere extends throughout the hotel. There is a graciousness and comfort that is hard to beat. You won't find a gym or spa or pool but what you will get is old world charm, very comfortable bedrooms, open fires in reception & the bar, afternoon tea - you just can't help but relax & unwind. Great ceol agus craic in the bar (Sunday lunchtime was particularly entertaining. And all right in the heart of Killarney. We were a group of 25 but nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Don't choose one just above the smoking area at the back of the bar.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Carmel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TA all that time ago, 100,000 apologies for not replying sooner. I did but I discovered this morning 18th Nov 2013 that my reply had been rejected for some editorial reason and I missed the alert which Tripadvisor had sent us. Perhaps it was the craic that failed to get past customs? Anyway a very big and belated THANK YOU.

Your review is one of the most powerful and meaningful emotional feedback that we have received. From the moment you walked in to the all too soon, we had to leave again, it was what hotels should be! WOW, we all accept your comments and testimonial with great honour and pride. The Arbutus team far prefer getting compliments as recognition for a job well done and therefore a happy guest rather than a tip. The joy of service.

Thank you again,

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Arbutus Hotel is a wonderplace to stay. The location was great and the rooms very nice. Michelle was gracious, offering us coffee and tea at check in and answering all our our questions about the area. We were greeted each morning at breakfast by Betty. She is both warm and friendly and made us feel like special guests. We would most definately stay at the Arbutus again if we have the opportunity to visit Irerland again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Pjmk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Arbutus Hotel on TripAdvisor. Sorry for the delay in replying.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel beautiful and the staff helpful.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Regards,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Charming hotel right in the heart of Killarney. I came here for work and it felt so homely.
Roaring fire, complimentary tea on arrival with homemade ginger bread!
Lovely rooms, free wifi (essential for work) and friendly staff. Especially Betty on reception.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Wonderful location for discovering Killarney and the surrounding areas. Our family spent 2 nights at the Arbutus hotel and enjoyed our stay. The full Irish breakfast with delish and they were able to accommodate our group of 7 people. The person at the front desk gave us recommendations for restaurants and what we should visit while in the area. We would stay at the Arbutus again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Hi Klabens,

Thank you for your positive review. Sorry for the delay in replying. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enoyed your stay with us.

It was lovely to hear your positve feedback on the hotel and especially the breakfast that you enjoyed.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Regards,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
924 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £66 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing