We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifelong Memories Of A Perfect Stay”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lifelong Memories Of A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2008

From the moment I entered Arbutus, I knew I would be back again. The ambience was so warm and relaxing. Every member of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, the decor was tasteful with an extremely comfortable bed.
The breakfasts were made to order and there was an amazing assortment of food that we could help ourselves to. I still dream about the "ginger bread". I ordered the local fish called plaice for dinner one evening and it was prepared perfectly. It was the best fish I have ever eaten and I am from Florida! The pub was a delight, the music brought the patrons to their feet. Last but not least, the location is within walking distance of everything Killarney town has to offer. That is only if you feel like leaving the hotel. Everything you need is at Arbutus. I have already made reservations for my next trip this spring!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank HarpEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    251
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
287
562
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2008

This is a true experience of Irish hospitality. Our server, Betty, did everything possible to please us which was easy as the food was wonderful. Loved the Guiness cheese. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Enjoyed the welcome Irish coffee, the pub music and the real peat fireplaces. The location was the best, easy to walk to shops, ATM, etc. Hope to be lucky enough to return to Killarney and Arbutus Hotel.

  • Liked — close to shopping, atms, etc, great service, wonderful meals
  • Disliked — couldn't stay long enough
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticgal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This hotel was the one negative throughout our wonderful 9-day trip to Ireland last summer. After reading all the positive reviews here, I was very surprised by the condition of our room. It was old, dirty, and smelled like mildew. Two of the lamp light bulbs were burned out, which didn't help, but once we complained and they were changed, the room was still so dark I could barely see to read. My boyfriend and I didn't feel comfortable stepping on the carpet without shoes. The view from our room overlooked the back of the bar next door, which was filled with smokers and tapped kegs. The common areas of the hotel, like the restaurant and lobby, were lovely, which made me even more confused as to why the room was so yucky. On the postive side of things, the location was great, and the staff was helpful in directing us to a place to park our car. This could be a much more pleasent place to stay after some serious guest room renovations.

  • Liked — Convienient location
  • Disliked — Dirty, smelly guest room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank mployed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I too am confused to see that your memory of your room is of such a place. I have difficulty understanding it as being aware that it was your honeymoon we gave you one of the best bedrooms in the hotel which had been renovated the Winter before your stay. Had we been made aware of this at the time we could have given you an alternative room.

Apologies

If you do come to Ireland again we would love to have the opportunity to make amends

Seán Buckley

P.S. We have 25 bedrooms and renovate or redecorate 4 or 5 rooms every Winter while we are closed. All our rooms have been revamped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

As a tour operator to Ireland we've had experience with a great many properties and there are very few indeed who still offer a true experience of Irish hospitality. Sean, Mrs. Buckley, Michelle, Ina, Betty and of course Tim in the pub make this a must stop in Killarney. The rooms are comfy and cozy, and the food remains some of the best anywhere. Don't forget to try the gingerbread for breakfast along w/ the lovely plaice. In a town known for hospitality this is truely the best there is. . .don't miss it!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank katie330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Walking into the lobby of this hotel was like looking at that 1960's movie, :"Journey to the Center of the Earth", when they were in Scotland organizing the expedition. It is one of the most charming hotels I have ever seen. While Killarney has many, many beautiful hotels....this one stood out from the rest for the real peat fireplaces and friendliness of the staff, delicious food and our server, Betty, with her warmth and happy smile made this especially nice for meals. The rooms were small but the bathrooms were spacious enough and the decorating throughout the hotel is lovingly attended with antiques and details that harken back to the late 1800's. It takes you back in time, hence why I said it looks like a movie set. I loved it and would not hesitate to revisit this quaint hotel over and over again!

  • Liked — wamth and comfort
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marketwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2007

The room was just what we needed and nothing more which was fine by us. The food was amazing but nothing could top the service we got. Betty was a true pleasure to be around. She was engaging and entertaining. She made the effort to go above and beyond taking care of you.

The front desk staff were also truly delightful.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neen1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at The Arbutus and had a wonderful time in Killarney. What a great town, and the hotel was terrific. The lobby, dining room and Buckley's pub are all cozy and inviting and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was superb with lots to choose from and a perfect start to the day. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative is the room itself (#129), while very clean, was quite shabby and not what I would have expected from such a beautiful hotel. The decor and the furniture itself desperately required updating although the bathroom had been redone and was very nice. Despite that, I would definitely love to stay at The Arbutus again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Killarney.
I would highly recommend spending an evening in Buckley's pub, where they have live music most nights and lots of locals gather. People were extremely friendly and we had a great time there.

  • Liked — Beautiful lobby and lounge, Buckley's Pub.
  • Disliked — Room itself requires updating.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing