We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Kerry's crown.”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2008

This hotel encapsulates everything that Irish hospitality is about. The public rooms and guest rooms ooze old-world style but with 21st Century attention to detail. Breakfast is an experience worth getting up for: terrific choice of cooked options if you haven’t overloaded from the buffet table of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, home-made breads, scones and traditional pastries. Tables have beautiful, Irish linen tablecloths and napkins set off with silver tea pots and jugs. And, if you can, have a chat with Betty. Betty is not so much a person as an institution (a walking, talking, encyclopedic one). She has waited in the dining room, and everywhere else around the hotel, for more years than anyone can remember (including the owners!): we’re talking decades here! She’s just wonderful and, she’s not alone. Some of the hotel employees have been here since Adam was a boy. Really. 10, 20, 30, 40+ years: all part of the Buckley Dynasty.
The adjacent Buckley’s Bar is a favourite with locals and visitors alike. It’s cosy and typically Irish: sounds of happy banter and chit-chat and music and laughter and the clink and dull thud of Guinness pints going endlessly about their business. Wallpaper with musical motifs, well worn wooden benches, softly padded arm chairs, original photographs. Sit by the fire; chat with the locals; sing along with the motley bunch of musicians that come and go before lunch on Sundays. It’s what a good pub should be. Magic! I met the owners, Sean and Carol Buckley, and reminded them - in case they'd forgotten - that most hoteliers would give their right arm to get close to what this establishment has on offer: location, style, tradition, ethos - and staffed by the most warm and wonderful people. It’s right in town with culture, history, shopping, pubs, restaurants and entertainment on the doorstep. It’s also a favourite starting point for visitors doing the famous “Ring of Kerry" tour. And, the wonderfully scenic Irish “Lake District” and Killarney National Park are just minutes away by car – or “Jaunty Car” (touristy horse and trap - complete with driver/guide who never stops talking). However long you’re here for you’ll want to come back. Honest!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KensTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2008

My Mother, sister and I had a most enjoyable stay in the Arbutus
Hotel, Killarney which is perfectly located in the centre of town and ideal for touring the famous beautiful sites (e.g. Ross castle and Killarney lakes and Muckross House) which Killarney has to offer. We can only say that the food at the Arbutus was heavenly and second to none with the most delicious breakfast you could ever imagine - the gingerbread is simply to die for!!
From the minute you step inside the reception door you to when you leave you will enjoy the most friendly of staff and a special thanks to Betty and all the dining room staff who could not do enough to make our stay a delight. The bar provides some good "craic" with lovely traditional Irish music and song.
Looking forward to returning to this delightful hotel in the near future.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank 13Asgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

This family-owned and managed hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Killarney town and provides a warm and welcoming stay with true Irish hospitality. From Ina and Michelle at the front desk to Betty, the superb waitress in the dining room, everyone is "top shelf".
I have stayed at this lovely hotel over the past twenty-three years and I have watched it evolve under the care and watchful eye of the Buckley family: Norrie and her son, Sean, keep the hotel humming and are both very hands-on to ensure that each guest is treated warmly.
It is a hotel that seems to have only top quality people on its staff: Miro, the do-it-all guy, the two Denis's and Tim at the bar, along with pleasant and helpful housekeepers and other attendants whose names I do not know each made a memorable contribution to our stay.
It is a setting that captures the Irish experience with traditional music brought in to Buckley's Bar by locals on a regular basis. It is impossible not to have a great experience at the Arbutus...and I thank the entire "Team Arbutus" for this.
I sincerely look forward to our next visit to Ireland that will most definitely include a stay at the Arbutus!
Judy Bowns
Vienna, VA
USA

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Judybowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2010

Judy & George,

Thank you for your review and for your many visits over the years. One of the greatest compliments a hotel can get is for it’s guests to become friends with the entire team and for them to look forward to your returning visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Norrie, Carol, Seán & all the team @ The Arb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Hi, myself and my mother spent our the Easter weekend at the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney. We found this hotel to be excellent. The staff were very professional, friendly and accomodating - especially Betty and Vicky in the restaurant. They both couldn't do enough for us and were both very chatty and friendly, which made us really feel special and very welcome in the hotel .The hotel itself is filled full of nostalgia from times gone past, and is very tastefully furnished and decorated in an "old worldy" style and accessorized with lovely antiques throughout. There were two sitting rooms in the reception area with very welcoming traditional turf & coal fires, which were very cosy and the aromas from the turf fire was truly homely. The rooms were very clean and serviced everyday. There were plenty of tea/coffee making facilities available too and room service was very readibly available - which also included ordering your breakfast to your room in the morning - without prior booking the night before (nice for when you wake up feeling tired and not in mood for going down to the breakfast room). The hotel is in an ideal location with plenty of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity - and very close to the train & bus stations for those not driving (approx. 5 min walking distance), and close to local amenities. The hotel itself has a bar - Buckley's - which has a great atmosphere, which appears to be also popular with the locals (always a good sign), with traditional irish music being played regularly. All in all we really enjoyed our break in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be returning sometime in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DublinMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

This hotel was our favorite on a 9-day journey throughout Ireland. Conviently located in downtown Killarney, all shopping and pubs are literally right outside the door. Betty, the hotel owner, and her family and staff were incredibly attentive making us feel more like house guests and friends then hotel guests and strangers. And Mario and the connected bar were the source of some great late nights. This hotel has Irish old-world charm with state-of-the art bathrooms and facilities. A five-star in our book!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boscoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Stayed here for two nights. staff were wonderful and the rooms were beautiful. had dinner on one night, very nice and the breakfast was lovely too.
We loved the older rooms, really gave the hotel a cosy warm feel.
Perfect location too.
car park next door but its a pay one.
Hot tip, to save getting out of bed to pay for the parking just do it the night before for a few hours.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KomoriGrandmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at The Arbutus on a side trip to Killarney from Dublin. The hotel was in a great location, the room was clean and large, and the low winter rate included a delicious full Irish breakfast. The best part of my stay was the dining room and reception staff who were so friendly and helpful. They even held my bags when I checked out so I could take a hike in the National Park before catching my train. It was a great 3-star hotel and would stay at The Arbutus again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £92 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing