We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Arbutus is home away from home”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you want to get the feel of Ireland, this is the place to stay. Right in the center of town, the hotel rooms are warm and inviting, decorated with traditional style wallpaper and Irish lace curtains. The staff is friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The adjacent Buckley's bar is a hang out for locals and tourists alike and frequented by musicians and singers providing traditional Irish entertainment. The restaurant serves up a great breakfast, and the wait staff exceeded our every request. Coffee and tea are provided with the meal in lovely silver pots. This was my 4th stay at the Arbutus and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our group of 17 had an excellent stay 4 day stay this week. We have been coming to the Arbutus for over 20 years and each trip has been great. Michelle and Ina at the reception desk were very helpful with recommendations and getting dinner reservations for our group. Betty in the dining room is fantastic, very friendly and attentive. Mario, Tim and Denis in the bar are great. They remember us each time and even look for some of the past travellers who were not on this trip. It is always fun to be greeted by Sean and Carol Buckley who run the hotel. We will definitely be back again and encourage anyone looking for a family run hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had 2 rooms booked for a few days in August, 2013. We were both so pleased with our stay. The staff is outstanding and so very accommodating no matter what your request (such as directions, parking info, change, service of any kind). While the staff was exceptional, the hotel itself was a pleasant surprise - a family business for many years - that we were so pleased not to have chosen a cookie cutter chain of hotels. The rooms were large, well furnished, and very clean with nice bathrooms. And their breakfast is very good & not to be missed. The location is also great, in the centre of Killarney. Thanks for a great stay - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharmaineRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Central location,beautiful antique charm,cozy pub,attentive staff.If you like a modern hotel with no character, this might not be for you but as for us,we truly enjoyed our stay .The 200 character minimum is hard for a person who is not very wordy !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helmut R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Arbutus hotel has all the features of a luxury stay (excluding swimmings pools etc).
It is unassuming from the front however as soon as you enter you are struck by the quality of the furnishings and fit out of the reception area, dining room, lounge room etc as befits a well maintained luxury hotel established almost 100 years ago.

Our superior double room was huge with two king size beds, 2 large lounge chairs a round pedestal table and a side desk and chair and the bathroom was clean and well fitted out. WiFi reception was also very good.

The service and staff were excellent and the breakfast of a good standard. This is a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently enjoyed another stay at the Arbutus Hotel during the first week of September. Once again we were warmly welcomed by Séan Buckley and all his staff. It was good to be welcomed back by our friends, Séan, Michelle, Ina and Betty. We both like the ambience of this hotel, which has so much character, while at the same time having modern central heating, spacious, comfortable rooms and beds and well appointed en-suite bathrooms. It is ideally situated in the centre of Killarney, within walking distance of the many attractions. We would recommend it to those looking for the personal touch of a family run hotel in the centre of the town.

Room Tip: Both the standard and the de luxe rooms are of a very high standard. Rooms at the front give you a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Arbutus last week while in Killarney for two days. The location is right in the middle of town, so the location can't be beat. We walked to everything and the staff is very nice and accommodating. The only drawbacks, if I had to write some, is that the rooms are a little old-fashioned and while the car parking is free, the lot is about 300 meters from the hotel. Not a big deal, since you really can walk anywhere in town...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing