We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Birthday”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed in the Arbutus Hotel many many times over the past 10 years, both with friends and with family on different occassions.
This visit was with my mother and it was as usual a wonderful experience in the Arbutus, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist(Brid) who could not do enough for us. After we settled in we went to meet family and that night had a wonderful rest in our lovely clean bright, airy room. We were greeted by "Betty" the next morning for breakfast and she also could not do enough for us. It is a wonderfully relaxing hotel and we were able to relax in the Foyer with family until our train departed.
I will certainly be returning to the Arbutus Hotel Killarney as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 215 was lovely and quiet and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2015
Annemarie,

How time flies? Who would believe that it is 2 years since you posted your lovely review here on Tripadvisor.
Apologies for the delay in replying but thankfully we have been very busy and are only now catching up to ourselves.

Thank you very much again.

Slán,

Seán
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    258
    42
    21
    7
See reviews for
297
577
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in the Arbutus for Oct bank holiday weekend and had great time. The hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre of everything.. Many thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Such a great hotel… perfect location, nice room, comfortable beds, friendly and HELPFUL staff - a great experience all around. The staff gave great suggestions for food, shopping and drinks. Has a wonderful fireplace/lobby area. Very approachable. And, it's conveniently located to walk the city. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieFromEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I joked that we had the "princess room"! It was huge--room enough to sleep 7 people! (2 doubles, a twin and a sleep sofa in the sitting area) And the two of us could have taken a bath and a shower at the time since they were separate in our big bathroom. All for just the price of a double! Our travelling companions were definitely jealous.

All the service personnel were very pleasant, the hotel was in the center of the city, and breakfast was delicious. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while touring nearby sites. Right downtown with parking conveniently located in the rear, it was easy to get to and easy to find your way out of town. Our room was large and clean but with a view of the duct work out the back. Breakfast was fine and the front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. A good choice in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Conveniently located and very charming hotel. We were traveling in a big group and realized that all rooms were different. While some got fantastic rooms, others got rooms that with very strange layouts. We stayed only one night, so it worked out okay for us. Very close to all restaurants, pubs, nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask to see the layout of the room before picking one. Every room (they were all priced the same) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Six of us from the U.S. stayed with the Arbutus in Aug 2013. We were very impressed with the staff, their friendly assistance, the rooms, the bar attached, and the breakfasts. Aside from a middle of the night fire alarm (traced to a careless and absent minded couple with a candle in room!), all of our six night stay was delightful, and we heartily recommend this location to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing