We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Killarney Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Killarney Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed another lovely stay at the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney a few weeks ago. We always look forward to staying at this family run hotel because of the warm welcome and hospitality that never changes, it's always wonderful. From the girls at reception to Betty in the breakfast room, they always have a smile for you and willing to help with whatever you need. We loved our room, very comfortable bed and modern bathroom with all the amenities and quiet for a great sleep. Breakfast is a treat at the Arbutus. There are many choices, we love the french toast, but everything is delicious. And the scones and gingerbread, they are the best! And it is all served by Betty, who also decorates the breakfast room. We loved the Halloween decorations. If you're in the mood for a drink, Buckley's Pub is right next door and you can have a chat with one of the friendly barmen. We even enjoyed a complimentary sausage/chips one day there. We really enjoyed that. Thank you! I highly recommend staying here. Sean, you and your staff run a warm, friendly hotel and we always look forward to our next visit. Thanks all!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    243
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
276
537
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely small family run hotel. Always try to stay here when in killarney! Staff all so friendly esp. The sisters on reception. Reasonable rates.only complaint is rooms are getting a little tired looking but a sign of the times we're in I suppose! Lookin forward to my next visit already

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BUZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed in the Arbutus Hotel many many times over the past 10 years, both with friends and with family on different occassions.
This visit was with my mother and it was as usual a wonderful experience in the Arbutus, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist(Brid) who could not do enough for us. After we settled in we went to meet family and that night had a wonderful rest in our lovely clean bright, airy room. We were greeted by "Betty" the next morning for breakfast and she also could not do enough for us. It is a wonderfully relaxing hotel and we were able to relax in the Foyer with family until our train departed.
I will certainly be returning to the Arbutus Hotel Killarney as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 215 was lovely and quiet and very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2015
Annemarie,

How time flies? Who would believe that it is 2 years since you posted your lovely review here on Tripadvisor.
Apologies for the delay in replying but thankfully we have been very busy and are only now catching up to ourselves.

Thank you very much again.

Slán,

Seán
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in the Arbutus for Oct bank holiday weekend and had great time. The hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre of everything.. Many thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Such a great hotel… perfect location, nice room, comfortable beds, friendly and HELPFUL staff - a great experience all around. The staff gave great suggestions for food, shopping and drinks. Has a wonderful fireplace/lobby area. Very approachable. And, it's conveniently located to walk the city. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieFromEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I joked that we had the "princess room"! It was huge--room enough to sleep 7 people! (2 doubles, a twin and a sleep sofa in the sitting area) And the two of us could have taken a bath and a shower at the time since they were separate in our big bathroom. All for just the price of a double! Our travelling companions were definitely jealous.

All the service personnel were very pleasant, the hotel was in the center of the city, and breakfast was delicious. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while touring nearby sites. Right downtown with parking conveniently located in the rear, it was easy to get to and easy to find your way out of town. Our room was large and clean but with a view of the duct work out the back. Breakfast was fine and the front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. A good choice in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing