We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, excellent location”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Stayed 2 nights at the Arbutus Hotel. It was our anniversary so we sprung for an upgraded room. Unfortunately our view was of a back alley and our bed was like a hammock and we couldn't really tell what the extra money got us other than a queen bed. The hotel itself is pretty and deifintely well located about a 5 minute walk from the action but far enough away from the late night noise. We were not huge fans of the breakfasts but then it seems like we were just not fans of the Irish Breakfast phenomenon other than at Garnish House in Cork. Overall we wouldn't NOT recommend it, but couldn't say for sure if we would go back if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2008

Booked a stay on the recommendation of my daughter who had stayed here before. Delighted with the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. The room was very comfortable and clean and the hotel is very central to Killarney town. It was very convenient for touring Kerry, and the hotel was easily accessible by car for us.

The room we had was very spacious and nicely laid out. My wife felt that the decor was slightly dated for her taste, but really enjoyed her stay. The en-suite for our room was tastefully decorated with a fine big shower and a seperate bath. However we had upgraded from a standard room for a mere €20 for our 2night stay.


Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank saldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

From the minute we arrived we were pampered. Betty took good care of us. I felt like she was inviting us into her home. Upon our arrival, she corralled us into the pub for an Irish Coffee while our group's bags were being sorted and delivered. We were well taken care of during meals and the people at the front desk were responsive when needed. We loved the location, right in town, and the pub was a great gathering place. Everyone in the group loved the Arbutus. What a find!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Cyntherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My wife and I took a bus tour of Ireland this past week. One of the stops was at the Arbutus Hotel for 2 nights. I have to say it was the best hotel by far that we stayed at during our trip. The people were extremely friendly, the rooms were spacious and very clean, and the location was great.

Betty was extremely hospitable and really wanted to please everyone. The food was excellent (especially the French Toast)!!!

I would definetly recommend this hotel and would definetly go back the next time I am in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deanrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

I recently stayed at the Arbutus for approximately 1 week. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience there. I did have a room which i found too hot and they promptly put me in another one which was perfect.
Breakfasts were delicious...the best omelletes I've ever had. Betty and the other staff in the dining room were just lovely.
Michelle at reception was also extremely helpful and went out of her way to make my stay a very pleasant experience.
The lounge area was perfect to relax in with the most amazing old furniture.
Location was perfect...right in the middle of town. I enjoyed my time there very much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We loved the great location, food great, friendly breakfast service, and especially Betty's hospitality! Smoked salmon was a welcome choice for breakfast! We would stay there again.

John and Liz from Florida

Stayed: July 2008
Thank lcjameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Manager at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Liz & John,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to post a review.

Aplolgies for the delay in responding, it is a facility that we only discovered recently and are working our way back .

Delighted you enjoyed the Smoked Salmon for breakfast and of course your time with the amiable Betty.

Thanks again,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The Arbutus Hotel in Killarney is very centrally located, but other than the convience the true treasure of this hotel is the dining room manager Miss Betty whose gracious hospitiality makes the bus weary traveler feel like they are visiting a favorite aunt. She is incredibly energetic and wants only the have her visitors feel relaxed and very well fed. The decore of this hotel is a charming mixture of old money meets Miss Marple. Everything excells at the Arbutus Hotel.....especially Miss Betty.
Cordially,
Glenda and Paul Ward
Linda McKee

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GlendaLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
946 reviews
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £91 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing