We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to be adopted by the staff at the Arbutus!”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2008

From our initial greeting by Ina, who fixed us right up with tea, scones and bread in the pub (on a very rainy late afternoon), to the friendly barman, and wonderful Betty in the dining room, it was the staff that really made the Arbutus a stand-out. It's homey and historic, popular with visitors from Dublin (some of whom DO like to tie one on a bit till the wee hours of the morning)... After staying in six hotels throughout the country, this is the one where the staff really makes the place. The rooms are large and comfortable, decorated in Victorian style furnishings and well-maintained. To be honest, Victorian is not my favorite interior style, but we loved the whole experience. It's next door to Murphy's, arguably the best pub in town (although the Arbutus' own is quite nice), right in the heart of lively Killarney. Ina was wonderful when we left behind some belongings, shipping them ahead to the hotel where we were headed next. The staff was thoughtful, and their follow-through was flawless. I'd love to return... now if only I can get them to adopt me!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2008

We are a Dublin couple who have just spent a weekend in the Arbutus Hotel and cannot say enough about the wonderful service and accommodation we had. The Staff are so welcoming. Michelle and Ina on the reception were really nice and helpful and bar-staff were great.
Our room was lovely really quaint and comfortable yet providing all our needs. The bed was so comfortable and it took the lovely breakfast to get us out of bed. The breakfast was great as they had a menu with full Irish or fish or omelette's. This was served at your table with an extensive buffet with fresh fruit cereals etc available. The brown bread was lovely and the toast was fresh and warm.
We came away from the Arbutus feeling rested and refreshed. It's good to know that the Irish welcome is alive and well and living in Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My husband and two sons have just returned from a two night stay in the Arbutus Hotel. The hotel is located in the town centre and all activities are on your doorstep. From the time we arrived at the hotel we were made feel most welcome by Michelle the Receptionst. The hotel is very homely and relaxing. The staff right throughout the hotel were excellent. We had a lovely waitress who served our evening meal and our first mornings breakfast. She was not Irish (The girl with the black hair) but spoke excellent english and was most helpful. The food was very nice and there was a great selection from the breakfast menu and the dinner menu. The bar was very comfortable and there was Irish music on the Sun and Mon night. A lot of locals seem to drink in this hotel and that is a good sign. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and warmth.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Stayed 2 nights at the Arbutus Hotel. It was our anniversary so we sprung for an upgraded room. Unfortunately our view was of a back alley and our bed was like a hammock and we couldn't really tell what the extra money got us other than a queen bed. The hotel itself is pretty and deifintely well located about a 5 minute walk from the action but far enough away from the late night noise. We were not huge fans of the breakfasts but then it seems like we were just not fans of the Irish Breakfast phenomenon other than at Garnish House in Cork. Overall we wouldn't NOT recommend it, but couldn't say for sure if we would go back if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Booked a stay on the recommendation of my daughter who had stayed here before. Delighted with the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. The room was very comfortable and clean and the hotel is very central to Killarney town. It was very convenient for touring Kerry, and the hotel was easily accessible by car for us.

The room we had was very spacious and nicely laid out. My wife felt that the decor was slightly dated for her taste, but really enjoyed her stay. The en-suite for our room was tastefully decorated with a fine big shower and a seperate bath. However we had upgraded from a standard room for a mere €20 for our 2night stay.


Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank saldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

From the minute we arrived we were pampered. Betty took good care of us. I felt like she was inviting us into her home. Upon our arrival, she corralled us into the pub for an Irish Coffee while our group's bags were being sorted and delivered. We were well taken care of during meals and the people at the front desk were responsive when needed. We loved the location, right in town, and the pub was a great gathering place. Everyone in the group loved the Arbutus. What a find!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Cyntherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My wife and I took a bus tour of Ireland this past week. One of the stops was at the Arbutus Hotel for 2 nights. I have to say it was the best hotel by far that we stayed at during our trip. The people were extremely friendly, the rooms were spacious and very clean, and the location was great.

Betty was extremely hospitable and really wanted to please everyone. The food was excellent (especially the French Toast)!!!

I would definetly recommend this hotel and would definetly go back the next time I am in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deanrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#5 of 38 in Killarney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £66 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing