We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly Hotel”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having stayed previously and been impressed with the whole set up was intrigued as to if anything had changed since my last visit, and was very pleased to see everything the same, including the staff who are unbelievably friendly and helpful, the rooms and hotel decoration are a delight, with complimentary tea/coffee and ginger cake at all times. Must mention the breakfast staff, including the irrepressible Betty, Ina and Sean at reception, and most important Chris and his colleagues at the bar who together form a very friendly professional team to make it a joy to stay here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    251
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
286
561
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Arbutus on May 18-21. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was amazing. The room was very nice and the bed was comfy. The hotel has a lovely bar with music that was nice, and a peat fireplace that made the bar smell like heaven! The hotel is nicely located, and is close to the bus/ train station, shopping, and pubs. The only drawback to this hotel is that they only have food for breakfast. When we checked in I heard a couple ladies asking about that, and they were told that the Arbutus has not had food (except at breakfast) for more than a year. This was quite disappointing and is the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to Killarney for my friends 70th birthday to cycle the Ring of Kerry.We are back and had an absolutely fabulous time.Sean and his staff couldn't have been more helpful patient or accomodating.I would most certainly stay again.Breakfast is a great experience a fantastic variety of choices and Betty on hand to cope with all of our cycling requests- always with patience and a smile much appreciated first thing in the morning.Gingerbread from a traditional recipe was an extra treat.Thanks to Sean for all the things he helped us with from finding somewhere safe for our bikes and helping us with car parking and just being on hand on site and genuinely willing to help make our stay the fabulous one we had.We started and finished our Ring at the ARbutus and will be back.My friend John wanted to add his appreciation too: "Stay a while at the Arbutus where Sean and his staff will go many extra miles to both anticipate and fulfill all your needs and where you feel greater than you could ever know and fulfill Coleridge's words :for he on honeyed dew had fed and drank the milk of paradise".Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed a couple of nights. It's on a fairly busy narrow street within a 2 min. walk of Main Street shopping area. Dominoes right across the street! Murphy's Bar right next door has music at night, and appears to be a local hang-out.
The place is clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Great breakfast layout, with prompt service, included with the room. We paid €242.00 for 2 nights total.
Shower was nice, with good pressure. Good flat-screen TV with CNN available, and rerun US shows. THERE IS NO A/C !!!!!!
Would recommend, but don't expect 4-star amenities because it's not a 4-star by US standards.

Room Tip: Book a "large" room to get a king bed. Rooms in the back will not have street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Arbutus is located in the centre of Killarney. Uninspiring from the outside, the rooms and service are second to none. The breakfast cooked to order is a real treat, a real "Full Irish" breakfast, served to you by staff that are obviously very happy to do so! The attached Buckleys Bar, gives you a real "flavour" of the locals and easily feels like "your local"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Michael,

Thank you for your powerful review, we are delighted to see that you “Got” The Arbutus and enjoyed your time here.

Without a doubt we have one of the happiest team working here, who take great pride in their work and are all very eager that guests feel at home and also make the most of their time while they are in Killarney and Kerry. Pure true and real flavours.

Love your piece on the Conor Pass being the Irish version of the Amalfi Coast of Ireland too.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel last weekend and had a very enjoyable stay but the absolute highlight was the music session we chanced upon in the hotel's bar on Friday night,there were 3 musicians who played a mixture of tunes and songs and it was an absolute joy to listen to.Great staff in the hotel (and the bar)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxifor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to ost your lovely review and apologies for my tardiness in replying, thankfully we have been so busy up until this week.

Delighted to see that you had a very enjoyable stay and that you found the session in the bar to be an absolute joy to listen to. It is a pure true trad seisún that we have had the pleasure of hosting every week for the last 30 years or so.

We hope that we will see you again in Killarney and look forward to welcoming you back to The Arbutus.

Until then,

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Public areas are beautiful. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Location perfect. Buckleys Pub, great. BUT, our room 115 had the most uncomfortable bed ever, did not sleep. Also the room is dark and dreary with a terrible view. I would stay here again in another room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishAlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Alie,

Thank you for staying with us earlier this year and apologies for not replying until now.
We are disappointed to read that you found the bed to be the most uncomfortable bed ever and that you did not sleep because of it. We are in the process of replacing all those beds with new more comfortable ones.

We are delighted that you found the public areas beautiful, staff very welcoming and helpful. Location perfect and Buckleys Pub, great.
And the greatest compliment of all that you would stay here again.

Next time you are coming, please contact me directly at sean@arbutuskillarney.com and I will be delighted to give you a free upgrade.

Until we meet again,

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing