We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Killarney”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Killarney”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon and the hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us even though we got there well before check in time (very early red-eye landing). We were exhausted, and they found us a room even though we were not supposed to check in for another 5 hours. This is the kind of service you can expect in every aspect of the Arbutus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

PS - Parking is free, the walk is about 5 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: If possible get a room that does not face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    248
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
282
548
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The arbutus is a lovely little boutique hotel in centre of town. It is homely and friendly. Lovely staff dried our coats when we arrived in the rain. Complimentary tea and coffee with homemade scones and gingerbread. Yum.Great location.Walking distance to everywhere, only downside is parking is a bit away. Would look for room at back of hotel if staying again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nicolasheils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent staff especially the lovely lady who served us the delicious freshly cooked breakfast each morning. Arbutus is a welcoming old world establishment family run, we will be back..... Thank you all for a lovely stay....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irelandteresaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2015
Teresa,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor and share with all the lovely time you had while you were in Killarney and how much you enjoyed The Arbutus experience.

Best wishes from all here and hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the 2016.

Slán,

Seán Buckley
Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

i've been going here for 20 years and it's just awesome. the location is great, the pillows are THE best ever, the front desk staff is friendly and helpful, delicious breakfast and the bar attached is old school irish pub. boo on no more parking in back but parking is close by. thanks again to everyone there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank slappylosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Such a great facility and lovely staff and the old world decor makes a pleasant change from modern decor !They catered very well for coeliacs.The receptionist was so help with sorting a new boarding pass for our flight home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Arbutus Hotel had a real old world feel about it. The lobby was old looking and beautiful. The people were so helpful. Brid was first to help us and then Betty was so welcoming in the breakfast room which was lovely. She had "smiling eyes". Our room was large and nicely decorated. The main drawback was that the parking lot was quite a distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Good location, right in town but be prepared to walk a distance to the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judi_Lee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in the Arbutus for a mid-week break, checked in by the very pleasant and efficient Ina. We got a superb room, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Very friendly man in the bar. The breakfast was superb, Betty in the Restaurant was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing