We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personal service - - charming hotel”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was very accomodating . . staff was helpful and friendly. Betty in the breakfast room is a wonderful wonderul woman! She will ensure every need of a hotel guest is accomodated! Rooms are nice . . . would suggest a room in the back (front rooms are very noisey - however hotel changed our room after we asked) - they also have airconditioning. Great location and a wonderful charming hotel.

Room Tip: get a room in the back - off main street (very noisey all night long with folks leaving bars). They...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz56032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

A fantastic hotel. We were booked into this hotel by Rabbies Tours and they made a great choice. We had quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious room with Air Con. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. A great breakfast in the morning and the gingerbread with our tea in the evening was very 'yummy'. The location is central and in easy walking distance of plenty of places to eat/main shopping street. Would we stay there again? A definitive "yes"!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I just stayed at the Arbutus for the first time with my group of 33 people and was pleasantly surprised at the exceptional personal service offered to each guest. All of the people in my group loved the beautiful old world decor--the charm lacking in so many hotels these days. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us. One of my group had injured her foot in Dublin and needed to have her ankle rewrapped. Instead of pointing the way down the street, the girl at the desk personally escorted them down the street. They told me if there was any special food requests, to let them know and they would prepare it. I usually stay at another hotel with my groups, but I will be making the Arbutus my first choice when I'm in Killarney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamrock547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I love this place. Not the same old sterile box, but a real charming cozy grand house. The staff are fantastic, the breakfast is wonderful (you can order hot dishes) and the rooms are cozy and well decorated. After years of travel I have come to greatly appreciate these well kept and well run family inns. Stay here and enjoy a slice of true Irish hospitality. Cheers, Matthew

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MattSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Traveled to Ireland with our two sons, ages 19 and 20. We had a great stay at the Arbutus. Wonderful breakfast, welcoming and accommodating staff. Just a note for travelers, no iron or ironing board in the room, but you just have to ask for one to be delivered to the room. Our room also did not have any hangers in the closet, but we did not ask for any. I am sure they would have been promptly delivered had we asked. Location is so convenient and there is an outdoor bar a couple of doors down with live music which was enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capregfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wonderful hotel staff that helped with all of our concerns...very clean hotel and a delicious breakfast served daily and homemade scones by Betty!! Highly recommend this hotel and has a bar attached for entertainment.

Room Tip: Noise was not a problem
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Celtictoursworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were traveling in Ireland with family. We were booked in the Arbutus as part of the trip. We all loved it! Great staff! The rooms are furnished and appointed well. The breakfast was fantastic with homemade scones! This hotel left a great impression for a discriminating bunch, my family.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank mcwillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 39 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 39 in Killarney
2,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 39 in Killarney
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
923 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#5 of 39 in Killarney
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £68 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing