We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever!!”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best stay ever!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Like coming home! Best hotel ever! Ina and Michelle have a "whatever it takes to have you comfortable" attitude. Anything we needed, be it information or where to go or places to eat. The hotel is quaint and beautifully appointed. The furniture and rooms made you feel very welcome. Ms. Betty in the dining room made sure our breakfast was exactly what we ordered. Can't beat the breakfast. Will never stay anywhere else when visiting Killarney, even if I have to change when I come. The location of the hotel in so central to the city and the clean rooms were super. Dig that big bathtub!! Can't say enough about this lovely hotel that is so "Ireland". Thanks to Michelle and Ina our stay was exceptional. You are a fool if you don't stay here! Central to everything downtown and sights. Just got home yesterday and am ready to go back.

Room Tip: Just book the hotel and they take care of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    251
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
287
562
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating. Could not have asked for a nicer staff reception. This is the kind of hotel that made Europe the place to visit. None of the glass and brass glitch just a warm, comfortable and cozy feeling.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just back from a three night stay at the Arbutus and I would recommend staying there should you be visiting Killarney.

The hotel is located right in the centre of Killarney. There is a pay car park right next store to the hotel. The hotel has some free parking of its own a few minutes walk away outside a disused house. Parking is free overnight in the car park next store so if you are out during the day paying won't be an issue.

The rooms were clean with a nice bathroom. The décor is a bit dated but everything was spotless.

Breakfast includes a buffet and a hot dish made to order. I didn't think it was out of this world but it was nice.

Staff were super friendly throughout. That makes all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland, Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Myself Sahra and my boyfriend Maurice both stayed here and I must say it was my greatest experience of a hotel so far.. from everything from the cool natured staff, Michelle at reception was a doll and was on hand to help us with whatever we needed she gave us an array of information as to how we could spend our evening it was most appreciated! The impeccable rooms,Betty at breakfast was such a delight no matter what form you may have been in you would leave with a smile! A warm hearted friendly lady a real gem. I feel if there's ever a hotel you need to visit its the arbutus I could go on and on but one would have to experience for oneself. Thanks to everyone for a pleasant stay peace and love Maurice and Sahra
A++++++

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sahrah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just a very cool place filled with amazing antiques. I actually thought the tiny hostess might be a leprechan. Within in walking distance of all that is Kilarney. Looking forward to returning. Dont miss Shehans pub.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pghdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It felt a little bit like home away from home, Irish style, at The Arbutus. Well situated near restaurants and shopping, the hotel offers comfy rooms and a friendly staff. The breakfast was generous and delicious -especially the home baked scones and cakes. Leave enough time in the morning to eat, as dishes are cooked to order. Beware the music til 11 pm from the pub next door.

Room Tip: May want to choose a spot away from pub noise if you want to turn in before 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapkin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a night in Arbtus and found it one of the most friendly and welcoming places we have ever stayed in. All the staff were very kind and went out of there way to recommend us some places to see, a lot friendly and more productive than the travel office across the road. The breakfast was beautiful, well presented and cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,167 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing