We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great breakfast!”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Stayed in this charming family run hotel here when our other accomodation fell through in Glencar. Really friendly and welcoming staff, particularly Betty who served us breakfast. Recommend the french toast with bacon and maple syrup!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank RebeccaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2007

my husband & i have just returned from a lovely weekend at the arbutus hotel. staff are all very friendly & attentive. our room was lovely big comfy queen sized bed, lovely clean bathroom with a good shower. breakfast is a feast, fresh fruit salad - & i mean fresh, selection of juices croissants, brown bread , ginger bread, cereals, yogurts, hot food menu including full irish, fish, omelette,
scrambled with smoked salmon, french toast. what a selection.
service was excellent. dinner was also very good on the saturday night. we ate in treyvauds restaurant friday night well worth a visit great food fab service. will definitely go back to the arbutus for that good old fashioned hospitality thats fast disappearing

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank ballyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in October and we were very impressed with the standard of service, the comfort of the bedroom and the friendliness of the staff. It is a family owned and managed hotel and this is very evident from the personal attention given to all the guests.
Its central location makes it an ideal base for climbing the Killarney Mountains, sight-seeing or strolling in the nearby National Park.
As well, its town central location meant we could enjoy the town's night-life without any worries about drinking and driving
We thoroughly enjoyed our wedding anniversary there and would wholeheartly recommend the Arbutus Hotel as a place to stay and enjoy

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank oct2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

We had just arrived in Killarney after an harrowing drive from the airport. Upon arrival we were greeted by two lovely women, given tea and biscuits and inquired what they could do to help.
Our room was WONDERFUL. Huge bed. Lovely bathroom with a huge tub and large shower, plus plenty of room for both my own and my husband's toiletries! We had a small area in which we could sit at a small table, drink tea or coffee, and watch and listen to the sounds below.
The Arbutus Hotel is located right on College Street, which has many shops in which to browse. There are plenty of pubs as well, and the beer is indeed very good.
We saw red deer, native only to Ireland. I walked a good mile admiring wild holly vines.
We drove to Dingle Bay and found it to be one of the most quaintest little towns we visited.
I highly suggest staying in Killarney, and making the Arbutus Hotel your central base as it is so close to so much within walking distance, horse-riding distance, cab, or bus.
Oh yes, the food at this hotel is the best I've had. The breakfasts are HUGE. Everything from American's typical cereal, yogurts and juice, but home made breads, full "Irish Breakfasts" (bet you cannot eat the whole plate). Their French toast is wonderful. The fruit salad is fresh and has an essence in it that I've never tasted before. The dinner meal was wonderful too. Fine linen tables, excellent food, and incredible service. I have a favorite employee at the Arbutus Hotel; don't miss out having her serve you in some capacity = Betty O'Connor. It is a family run hotel and it's great. Murphy's bar is right next door, too!

Stayed: April 2004
5  Thank smsm1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

When an acquaintance booked rooms at the Arbutus for four couples, we weren't certain about what we would find. We were all surprised by the charm of the hotel and the quality of the accommodations. We all had updated, large, pleasant rooms and found the staff to be helpful and competent. We dined at the hotel one evening due to inclement weather and also found the restaurant to be excellent, with good food, nice atmosphere and good service. The breakfast is good, as well. Try the scones and enjoy live, traditional Irish music in the pub!

The Arbutus is a charming hotel and we will definitely stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank waynek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

I recently went on a pub tour of Ireland through CIE tours. We spent 2 nights in the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney. What a lovely hotel! The staff was incredibly gracious and accomidating...especially Betty, a member of the restaurant waitstaff. Friendly and always smiling! She would bend over backwards for you. They even provided one of the other tour members an entire gluton-free menu, something that none of the other hotels during our stay provided. A wonderful experience!

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank rwages1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

My husband and i spent a lovely weekend in the Arbutus Hotel and Ina the receptionist was so friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and specious and the bathroom was very well equipped.
Betty in the dining room was fabulous she was so helpful at all our meals and made sure we were well looked after. The breakfast was fab and all the bread was home made. The hotel is very centrally located for shopping and night life. Will definitely return. John & Helen from Cork.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cal2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £86 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing