We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 April 2007

I stayed here for two nights during part of a tour. It was wonderful. The room was very comfortable and clean. There was no view but we werent in the room much so it was not a concern. You can walk to everything from this hotel as it is situated in the heart of town. The restaurant was great, I had seen the reviews about Betty and luckily got to meet her myself! She was a pleasure as was the rest of the staff here. There is a beautiful lobby area with a nice fireplace and the pub was a lot of fun. I would definitely come back here.

  • Liked — location, staff, nicely decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooke06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    247
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
279
541
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2007

We stayed at this hotel for three nights & the four of us loved different things about the hotel.

One loved the antique furniture & period decor, socond loved the location - right in the middle of town.
The third loved the sitting room with a 'real' fire.
I have to confess to loving the food ( we had breakfast & dinner here). The scones in the morning were fab!

Many thanks to the excellent for making our trip so enjoyable.

The Carlow 4!

  • Liked — Staff, hotel v clean & fab food!
  • Disliked — No Car park facilities - but there is pay parking next ddor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarloGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

I have stayed in the Arbutus more times than I can remember.. I ALWAYS stay there ( if there's room) even if i'm working in Tralee or the surrounding area.. it is the nicest hotel in Killarney ......... ( believe me i've tried a few).. it has a great atmosphere from the moment you walk in... the staff are very friendly, and nothing is too much for them ( I often book in very late at night)..the bar is a great place to be with music ,,good company and good humour... there are also quiet areas where you can just sit and enjoy the peace (sitting in front of a big open fire)... the food is excellent......(I love my food).. and the breakfast !!! .. my only complaint is that ..during the summer i've not been able to get a room as it is always popular.. it is a small hotel compared to some that I stay in.. but remember...'They Dont Make Diamonds As Big As Bricks'
Tony W. Portlaoise/Dublin

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank firealarmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

Being a couple of widely traveled Dublin people, and having never visited county Kerry,My wife and i decided we would choose a family owned hotel in Killarney. We choose the Arbutus which is in the center of town and we are so glad we did. My Wife is quite fussy regarding her food... She was more than pleased...Top marks Chef thank you. In fact ALL the staff were pleasent and most helpfull . We felt at home as soon as we entered and were sad to leave. I will use it again.......Mr and Mrs. R. Kavanagh.

  • Liked — Food.....Cleaanliness.....Staff
  • Disliked — mmmmm
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinDub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

We have just returned from a weekend away in killarney where we stayed in the Arbutus, we were more than happy with the service and home-like atmosphere. The staff were more than friendly and accommodating. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We could not want for anything. The food in the restaurant was delicious and we were once again greeted by the friendliest of staff there and thouroughly enjoyed the meal.
The location of the hotel is very convenient to the town with everything within easy walking distance. I would reccomend this hotel to a friend! All in all, a most enjoyable weekend was had and it would definately be our first port of call if we were ever again going to Killarney..

  • Liked — the comfort and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — the lighting in the room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tri0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I stayed at the Arbutus with my family in April. The staff were most accommodating to my two young children who are picky eaters. The food was delicious and the atmosphere of this historic hotel was so charming. The antiques and furnishings really made me feel like I was in a special place, not just a run of the mill chain hotel. There are two cozy fireplaces in the lobby area with chairs and couches to lounge and read on. A great pub attached to the hotel also had a fireplace and Irish music every night. The service throughout the hotel and pub were top notch. Betty was especially helpful and delightful! I would definitely go back to visit the Arbutus again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, service and food
  • Disliked — Beds could have been more comfortable
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler86NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I have just returned from staying in the Arbutus Hotel, Killarney for two nights with my wife and my three children aged 15, 12 and 2.
When I first stepped into this hotel I noticed the lovely warm decor which was a wonderful change from the impersonal, high-rise hotels which are so common today.

But, the best thing about the Arbutus is the welcome and hospitality that you recieve while staying there. Mrs.Buckley, the Buckley family and all of the staff made such an effort to get to know each individual guest and to make their stay as pleasant as possible. The Arbutus is quite a small hotel but this only adds to its personal touch. It's conveniently located in the centre of Killarney. The restaurant is superb, I looked forward to waking in the morning because of the wonderful breakfast I knew I was about to eat. The dinner there was just as excellent, with the waiters very helpful, especially with our young child and providing a high chair for him.
My wife and I had one room with a cot for our baby, and my two elder children stayed in the room beside ours. Both of these rooms were fabulous and had everything that you would want: they were airy, comfortable and both had spacious ensuites.

Our stay at the Arbutus was most enjoyable and it is a wonderful hotel that I would highly reccomend to any person visiting Killarney.

  • Liked — The hospitality and welcome
  • Disliked — Lack of private car park
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank waterfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#9 of 39 in Killarney
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing