We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arbutus is still the Best”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2007

The best hotel in Ireland ... it's like staying with family. Very helpful and accomodating. Front desk staff is absolutely the best, the bar is homey and traditional - tough to find that in Ireland these days. Dining room is terrific, Betty will take great care of you. Sean & Carol and family - thanks again. Mrs. Buckley - great seeing you.

Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ejodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed at the Arbutus hotel with out CEI tour. The service was absolutely wonderful and the rooms very comfortable. The service even went so far as to when I was not well one night, one of the staff brought food to my room to make sure I did not go hungry. The staff was very friendly and the hotel very atmospheric with a great location!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank CattyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

My 2 daughters and I stayed at the Arbutus Hotel for 2 night during our recent trip to Ireland. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by smiling faces and hot tea and scones. That was just a prevue of the delightful experience to come! The rooms were large with very well equipped bathrooms. We had both a large tub and a shower! The decorating was elegant and charming. We enjoyed the peat fires that burned in the fireplace in one of the common rooms. We also enjoyed having a real key for our room! Now on to the food which was excellent. The full hot breakfast included many delicious choices and always lots of scones and Irish butter. Our dinners included the best soup, well cooked veggies, fish/meat with interesting sauces, and wonderful desserts. The hotel is located in an area close to many shops and pubs, and we were able to get everyplace on foot. We spent a very enjoyable evening at the bar in the hotel which was lively but totally appropriate for my older teen daughters. All of the employees we encountered were polite and cheerful. I would recommend this hotel very highly and hope to stay there again myself!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DFoxOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

we stayed for 3 days, really enjoyed it, beautiful hotel, nice pub adjoining hotel. staff were friendlier than most. would stay there again

Stayed: August 2003
2  Thank jashar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

This hotel lives up to all expectations. We spent a relaxing 3 nights in Killarney in the pleasant Arbutus, which was made even more personable by the lovely staff. From the moment we arrived we were treated as VIP's. Due to it's central location the hotel is ideal for exploring the sites and soaking up the Kerry atmosphere. An 'Olde Worlde' Hotel with all mod cons, keep up the good work. Hope to return one day!! Paddy & Tricia H.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We have just returned from a family holiday to Ireland. After a really long journey from Galway, it was a pure joy to be welcomed into the hotel by Michelle on reception. We had booked two rooms for our family of five and we were not disappointed. The rooms were huge, very clean with a great bathroom. Breakfast was included and did not let us down. Betty never failed to give us her upmost attention and when my son didn't like his choice she was more than happy to get him something else.The location was very close to the town centre. The decor was beautiful, very art deco. Definately stay there again.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank conwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

we have just returned from our second trip to the arbutus hotel in killarney.As before everything about our stay was perfect.The receptionest was helpful and frendly. Our room was spotless,and nicely decorated.Tim the barman makes the best baleys coffee's I have ever tasted.the atmosphere in the bar is frendly and inviting.The dining room is exceptional, the food is outstanding for both breakfast and dinner.Betty is out on her own, witha warm welcome and a word for everyone.A big thank you to all the staff of the arbutus who made out stay so enjoyable.Hope to see you all again soon.

Kate and Tom,
Waterford.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tkcWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing