We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
19th Green Killarney
Ranked #77 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for a night while attending a concert. Dreadful place.old,tatty+run down. Website pics are deceptive. "Family room" was tiny, barely room to move with a double+single bed. Room freezing cold in the morning. Massive stains on the carpet where it looked like someone had been sick. Room was old-fashioned, decrepit looking. Bathroom tiny.when in the shower the taps in sink would not work, and vice versa. In need of updating+ a good overhaul. Windows were cracked. Halls narrow, dark+ walls very thin. We could hear every sound from either side of us. Breakfast was minimal, food terrible+ no nice music playing in background; pop music from the radio at 8am is not a good idea. Breakfast time was limited to 8-9.30am on a sunday morning!!! The owner herself is not suited to running a hospitality business as she was abrupt,cold+ unhelpful. The lady who checked us in was friendly but really needed to present herself more professionally as she looked unkempt,dirty+reeked of cigarette smoke. We've stayed in all types of accomodation over the years. This has got to be one of the worst. Most annoying part was the extortionate price for what we received. The audacity to ask for 140euro for a below-standard accomodation solely because its in killarney+beds are at a premium during peak season- its immoral. I've stayed in b+b's ten times superior to this which I would rate as 5star yet cost half the price of what we paid. Its an embaressment to the tourist industry.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flippersmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review on our property,
Thankfully tripadvisor travellers are an intelligent bunch of people so they would probably have the same questions I might have with regards to your review.
1.Why so vicious.
2. Why such a personal attack on a member of staff
3. Probably the most important,( what was the motive)
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but unfortunately any further engagement would only give credibility to your comments,
For that reason,
Thank you,
Regards,
John Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The lady hostess was very attentive to our needs. The rooms were just fine. And, the lounge was very comfortable for our group to gather together. Thanks for the hospitality.

The parking was easy and the views were just fine .... a major highway was a bit close, but we didn't hear it at night.

Room Tip: Rural but convenient to all of Killarney's attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treetops_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us,
John and Freda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at this B&B recently with my extended family. Freda, the owner could not have been more welcoming -even to 4 unruly and excitable kids! The rooms and beds are comfortable and the breakfasts very tasty and served on very hot plates which made a nice change from the cold buffet breakfasts dished up in most Hotels nowadays. The free Wifi was a pleasant surprise as it was both reliable and speedy. The location is ideal for those checking out the famous Ring Of Kerry. Joe Q

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review, We are delighted the work put into breakfast is seen,
Thank you,
Freda and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently we toured Ireland for a week with Insight Tours (excellent company). We did not stay in this hotel, but I visited a room which was very spacious and clean. Nothing glamorous, but just what you might expect in a privately owned Irish guesthouse. This is a Mom and Pop operation . . . a young family who lives on the premises. I am writing this in the hotel area because that is the major business . . . but the restaurant is what I am really writing about.

That being said, we had a wonderful dinner there, which included a demonstration by the owner/chef who has won many professional awards for his foods. The restaurant was closed to the public that night in order to accommodate our tour group. Extra family members, including two young sons and a nephew, assisted in bussing the dishes. The meal was served buffet style, but they have a regular menu for people to order from. All in all, it was like having a meal in their home. A highlight of the entire tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeCe92253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us, we love doing them, the kids always have a ball, spread the word and don't forget to mention it to insight, thanks again, John Freda and the Boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I loved staying at this B&B. From the cozy lounge to the large bedrooms. It was all lovely. Free wifi throughout that worked great. The husband and wife that run the B&B were great and helped us with anything we needed. The rooms were quiet and cozy. Only downfall was the small outdated bathrooms, but we didn't mind at all. This is a great place to stay and my family highly recommends it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks a mil for the fab review, Hopefully we will see you again, John and Freda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

For the second year I have brought my mum over to see my sister and stayed here. We were welcomed back with open arms, by name, as if we had only been out for the day.as before the rooms are clean, beds comfortable and breakfasts a plenty.nothing is too much trouble.
If you are in any doubt where to stay, stay here.you could never be disappointed. I WILL be coming back, unfortunately for John and Freda lol xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks Dave, Hopefully we can make it 3 in a row

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thanks Freda and John for a good nights sleep. Our room was very quiet and peaceful and we were greeted warmly when we arrived. Thanks for the lovely chat we had the morning we departed. We had the room only so can't comment on breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the bar part of the building which meant a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for the great review, sorry you didn't get breakfast, next time,
Freda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.9 mi away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 38 in Killarney
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
80 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 19th Green Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19th Green Killarney

Address: Lackabane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 19th Green Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, cosy and welcoming, we are the ideal location for visiting Killarney or the surrounding area, just 3 km from Killarney and 500 metres from the world famous lakes. From the moment you step inside our aim is to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We know all that this part of the world has to offer so whether golfing, walking, fishing, seeking adventure or touring, why not let us look after you? Freda and John ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your 19th Green Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing