We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

A windy road opens up to the beautiful Friars Glen. The owner, Mary, was there to greet us and make sure we were settled in our room. Then she took the time to bring us tea and a snack before she spent time giving us maps, directions, and tips on all the best things to see in the area! When I get the chance to come back to Killarney, I will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Family room can sleep 4 which was nice when traveling with friends (1 queen/ 2 twins)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
325
664
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I will try to keep this brief as really I will just be echoing the comments by other reviewers. We had a fab 2 night stay and would love to go back someday. The room was immaculate, large and comfortable. Mary was so helpful to everyone and had a knack of making you feel relaxed the minute you walked through the door. We had plenty of advice on where to go in the area and she kindly arranged a taxi into town for us to have a night out. We ate and were entertained at Molly Darcy's pub on our first evening which was a short walk along the end of the lane. A torch would have been useful for the trip home as there was no footpath, but luckily the road was quiet. This was a very touristy pub but we enjoyed the experience nevertheless and the food was good. The house and grounds of Friars's Glen were beautifully maintained and breakfast was perfect. Of course I must mention the lovely Bridget who also made us feel welcome and looked after us with some delicious homemade cake and tea. I hope you had a fab anniversary in November Bridget :-) . You won't be disappointed if you stop here and though I like to try new places, I would make this my first choice in Killarney as I couldn't fault it in any way. Thank you everyone at Friar's Glen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreemrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Friars Glen has to be one of the most beautiful B&B's in Ireland. The house is tucked just inside the Killarney National Park and has the look and feel of an Irish cottage and should be on the cover of a magazine. We stayed in a large triple room with three single beds. We arrived early morning and our room was ready when we arrived which was great. As we brought in our bags to our room Bridget came running to our room to let us know that there was a red deer outside the breakfast room windows. Everything about Friars Glen is warm, inviting, comfortable, and perfect. Breakfast was outstanding. I would go back and stay at Friars Glen in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the moment we arrived Mary made our stay exceptional. perfect location to explore Killarney, perfect amenities. Highly recommend if your looking for a place to stay that you consider Friars Glen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

From Mary's first warm greeting to our farewell four days later, Friars Glen was the perfect venue for our stay in Killarney. Location perfect - nestled on the edge of Killarney National Park. Amenities perfect - full Irish breakfast each morning at our window table overlooking the private gardens, some days catching a glimpse of the deer as they ventured from the woodland; huge room with king bed and ensuite. We followed Brigid's recommendations each morning on routes to take exploring Killarney and on dining options - they proved invaluable.
We hope to have the opportunity to return to Friars Glen one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trek2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night before driving the Ring of Kerry. It was a very comfortable room, and breakfast was great! The hosts were very helpful and gave great advice of places to eat and also helped with planning our drive! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayDGee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We based ourselves for two nights in Killarney at the Friars Glen Country House. The property is minutes from downtown Killarney, literally across the street and just down the road from Muckross House and just off the Ring of Kerry drive. It feels miles away, however, as this gorgeous property sits on many acres that are backed up to the Killarney National Park. The views from our two second-story rooms were magnificent. The quiet property is beautifully appointed, spacious and immaculately clean. Owners Mary and John Fuller are wonderful hosts. They cook a fantastic Irish breakfast that is served by sweet Brigid in a bright and cozy breakfast room where you can watch the deer on the property and plan your upcoming day’s adventures. There is a parlor with a fire going at night that welcomes you. Our only regret is that we did not spend more nights in this stunning property. We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud9west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Property: Friars Glen
Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing