We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, great location”
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Mary and John were wonderful hosts, getting us settled and then making dinner reservations for us so we did not have to worry about finding a place to eat or dealing with the hassle of reservations. Location is very peaceful and also convenient for visiting many areas throughout Kerry. Breakfast was delicious and filling and before checking out, Mary helped us to map out our trip for the day. Overall, wonderful and extremely pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
327
678
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were late getting into the area but made sure to call ahead and let our host know. She was very understanding about it and gladly stayed up late to let us in. She was most helpful in giving us tour ideas and maps. Food was awesome. The house itself was stunning. Located within the national park so it offers an amazing view. Very close to downtown so everything was close. It's a little too far to walk but we had a rental so it didn't matter. The room was big, plenty of room and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are two senior couples and travelled around Ireland by car in June. We stayed at this accomodation for 3 nights on 19-22th as the base of Killarney. It lacated near the Muckross House and very quiet area. Accomodation, rooms, terrace with garden and dining were very fantastic and we enjoyde a peaceful and comfortable staying. Especially, owner Mary and her helper Brigid were very kind and provided us nice services such as afternoon tea at terrace and usuful and appropirate tips for our itinerary. If we have a chance to visti Killarey again, we couldn't find the accomodation like this anywhere. Thank you Mary and Brigid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENIORTRAVELLER1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Friars Glen. What a beautiful setting! Mary, John, and Brigitte were all so welcoming to us. They made sure we knew where we were going each day and gave us directions and tips. The breakfasts were great each morning with fueling us up for our journeys! Irish breakfast, banana fritters, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs,all delicious. The location was perfect for us and was nice to be a little off the hustle and bustle of the town. It also provided a great location for trips to Gap of Dunloe, Ring of Kerry and Dingle. It is only a five minute drive into town and parking was very easy if we wanted to go to dinner in Killarney. On our first night we walked down to Molly Darcy's pub and had a delicious meal. Could not say enough great things about this place! We loved it. If anyone we know wants to travel to this area, we would highly recommend staying with Friars Glen!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Friar's Glen was a great location to begin our adventures in Ireland starting with the Ring of Kerry. Mary was wonderful and accommodating, patiently answering our questions about our search for family and our trip around the Ring the next day. She made our first night very special by welcoming us after a long days travel with coffee, tea and a snack after we arrived and suggested a great late evening hike. After chatting awhile she realized it was getting late for dinner and took care of us by calling the nearby Molly Darcy's pub to ready them for our party of nine which was a great time. Breakfast was excellent both mornings and an enjoyable way to start the day looking out over the beautifully groomed grounds from the breakfast room. Our adult children used the triple room and the rest of the family stayed in doubles all very clean, personable, quiet and comfortable. This was the first time I had used TripAdvisor and Mary made it worry-free with her timely responses to questions and thoroughness. It was greatly appreciated. After staying in four B and B's, a house and an apartment during our whirlwind two week trip across Europe, our family, age 20-84 voted Friar's Glen hands down as everyones favorite!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawdeda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved our three day stay at Friars Glen. The grounds were beautiful. Mary, the owner and Brigette, her helper are wonderful. Mary helped us plan our visit including booking a tour of the Ring of Kerry. We had such a great day at Kilarney National Park! Wow, those rhodendroms were outstanding!
The breakfasts started the day on a high note! I loved the smoked salmon.
Sitting in the living room with the fire going was a perfect end of my day.
This experience was truly one I will remember always! Thank you for your great Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank succulent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 fantastic nights here. We felt right at home the moment we stepped inside Friars Glen and it was the highlight of our 2-week trip. Mary and John (the owners of this stunning home) and Bridgette (their fun-loving assistant) could not have been more hospitable. Mary was so warm and welcoming, going over some history of the house and the area, giving us maps, and making sure she was around if we needed anything at all. You won't meet a warmer hostess. Lovely Bridgette went over our plans with us each morning at breakfast, providing suggestions, maps, directions, and a wonderful sense of humor to go along with it all. We truly wanted to take her back to America with us, but I suspect Mary and John would never let her go. LOL! Oh, and those breakfasts! The best breakfast food we had during our trip. Try the banana crepes, so delicious! Our room was spacious and utterly fantastic, very clean, and great water pressure in the shower. The grounds are lovely beyond words with beautiful gardens and a view of Friars Glen from the back. The house is just inside Killarney National Park, with Muckross House and Gardens just down the road. Killarney National Park is exhilarating beyond words. Believe me when I tell you, you will have to pull yourself away from it all just to visit Killarney Town. Make sure you take a tour in the jaunting carts! A great pub, Molly Darcy's is within walking distance with wonderful food and Irish music. This was a terrific base from which to visit the Ring of Kerry, Dingle, and the Gap of Dunloe, among other places. We had such a wonderful time, we didn't want to leave the area to carry on with our trip, and indeed, next time we will stay even longer at this lovely home. I wish it was a secret, but alas, it is too wonderful for anyone to keep to themselves. Book early, it fills up quickly.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and faced the front, but I suspect there isn't a bad room in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Property: Friars Glen
Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing